Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Erich

Guter ruhiger Standort

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Super Preisleistungsverhältnis. Gute Anbindung zum Bus, wir haben nie länger als 5 Minuten auf einen Bus gewartet. Insgesamt haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt.
4 out of 5
by Oladimeji

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by thomas from Haverfordwest

30th Getaway

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Romantic get away for two to celecbrate our 30th anniversary, staff helpful and attentive throughout our week in this typical Italian hotel. Great views over the city from the breakfast room every morning & frequent convenient buses into Trastevere & the City made sightseeing so easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Swimming Pool & Front of desk staff

Posted Apr 23, 2016
I booked this hotel because it had a pool, only to find the pool was closed ( until 1st May ). Had I known this at the time of booking then I would have looked else where. We had no help with our luggage and noticed that a porter was on site when the hotel had started to get busier. Was it because we arrived on a quiet day and no one could be bothered to assist us......?. The front desk staff did not impress me. Our room was nicely cleaned, no complaints there.
4 out of 5
by Elaine from Sheffield

Okay !

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Reception not very welcoming or helpful when we arrived Saturday evening. As Hotel a bit out of way and therefore limited choice for food we asked if hotel restaurant was open, we were pointed in general direction of it (seemed quite a lot of trouble!)but no other staff and no one eating so had to wait until someone came along. Meal okay but felt guilty for having a meal at 9.30 even though it's open while 10.00pm.(spider crawled out of the cress on my plate whilst eating) we never saw anybody in the restaurant during our 4 night stay. Room small but comfortable and very clean. Tv only had Italian channels.no tea/coffee making facilities so had buy coffees from the bar. Breakfast was Lovely and roof top setting was great. We didn't pay a fortune for our room and guess we got what we paid for. We would go back though as the hotel is traditional and very nice. We would just hope they have some new staff or some of the staff have training in customer service. Swimming pool looked very nice from breakfast room , we were never shown to it or told how to get there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Rome hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: The hotel is well appointed and spotless. Our room was modern, clean and very confortable. The staff is service oriented, professional and helpful.
Cons: Noting much; our stay was all that we could have expected.
Location: The location is in Trastevere and about 15 minutes walk to the Vatican. The area is safe and the Via de Gianicolo offers great vistas of Rome.
My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Gianicolo for a week in mid-April. The hotel is great; up to date yet with the feel of a classic hotel. The breakfast area is on the 4th floor. The breakfast was 5 star and the vistas more impressive; dominated by the Dome of St. Peter's. The staff were professional, pleasant and extremely helpful. The overall attitude of the staff was "what can we do to make your stay enjoyable". The hotel is a short walk to the Vatican and just a 100 metres from the Statue of Garibaldi; which offers one of the most impressive views of Rome. We would definitely book this hotel again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a base to enjoy all that Rome has to offer. A big thank you to the staff who treated us so well. Jim Jones
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Ab

Nice clean hotel, good service

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Internet wifi was a real problem with constant cutting out and the cleaning staff don't understand "do not disturb"...other than that it was great. Breakfast was fabulous (though we were not regularly offered capachinno). Restaurant was fabulous (try the lasagna). Close to other restaurants which were amazing and parks as well as a killer view of Rome. Taxis are affordable and fast. close to transit lines. Over all great pick. Semi long but beautiful walk down to the Vatican. 25 min.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy outside

Posted Apr 10, 2016
The street outside of the hotel is very noisy, day and night, so forget about opening the window. Stuff seemed very friendly at first, but whatever we asked for we were ignored: we ordered wake up call and the phone never rung the next morning; we have asked to top up up a shower gel twice and we didn't get any. Otherwise it was fine.
5 out of 5
by Hanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels