Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Gorgeous view of the city. Loved our stay.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
We arrived early and didn't expect to be accommodated but the staff went over and above to help us out. Even buying us a couple glasses of wine while we waited Room was not updated but in amazing condition. Very clean and comfortable. Lots of marble Can't say enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Oasis on top of a Hill

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The breakfast each morning was plentiful; although the hotel staff started clearing dishes in the presence of lingering hotel guests, which was rude.
Cons: The location was a little far from the main attractions and on top of a hill; We figured out a shortcut to Trastevere, but it was quite the hike.
Location: There were a few restaurants nearby that had decent food and drinks; it is also a short downhill walk to Tratevere (night life).
The hotel grounds were absolutely gorgeous, definitely unlike the other hotel stays visited. I can imagine how lovely the pool would be during the warmer months. The hotel is definitely a remote oasis on top of a huge hill, kind of far from the main attractions. Despite the lovely hotel grounds, the rooms were quite dusty and noisy. The walls were very thin and apparently there was a wedding on the top floor one of the nights, so we could hear the loud clapping and stomping from the attendees. The cleaning staff also started early in the morning (before 10am), so we would be awaken by the movement of furniture and the vacuum. The shower also leaked, creating a puddle in the bathroom each day; the shower head was also loosely screwed so we would have water spouting in each direction. The temperature of the water was also tricky; would go from one temperature extreme to the next with just a slight turn of the handle. The hotel staff did not speak much English so it was difficult to share our complaints with minimal miscommunication. We also had difficulties connecting to the wifi and through the latter half of our stay we had to stand near the door to get any connection. I know others will say the point is not to be on your phone during vacation; that was the case for the majority of the trip, but when we got back to the hotel we wanted to check in with friends and family back home, but could not do so due to the faulty wifi connection. Overall the hotel was reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Stay in Rome

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the views, the rooms and the service.
The hotel is in an excellent location. It is a quick taxi ride to both historic sites and the Vatican. Rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. I really enjoyed the breakfast that is included. The breakfast room has an amazing view over the city and the dome of St. Peter's. I was very pleased to be contacted by the hotel about transfer from either Airport or Cruise port directly to the hotel. We used their recommended service and were completely impressed by the driver and service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great hotel in a great location. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Lovely hotel but very noisy

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Ebookers
The hotel itself is lovely but it is very noisy which lets it down. The walls are paper thin and the floors are tiled so there is no absorption of sound. From 6.30am onwards, the hotel gets very loud as people are getting up for breakfast and the maids are cleaning the rooms. You could literally hear a pin drop in the room upstairs. Other than the noise, it is a lovely hotel - very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Lovely location and beautiful pool

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Loved the walk to town - hotel is near botanical gardens / not a good hotel if you wa to be in the center. Perfect hotel if you like to walk and enjoy city parks. The room was clean but the decor was dark and not very pleasing. The staff was helpful and kind. But somehow not quite a luxurious hotel - a very nice hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ideal location quiet but accessible toattractions

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
lovely pool to come back to after a long day sight seeing helpful friendly staff. good for buses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Excellent buffet and service!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast buffet/view of city! We enjoyed the garden view and appreciated the great service we received! Very clean! All marble floors!
Cons: Nothing! Only drawback was the location a bit far from city centre attractions. Not in walking distance.
Location: Vatican City is only a 15 min. walk. Walk to the park and take great pictures of the city! Great View.
We absolutely loved our stay at the Giancolo. Front Desk staff were excellent in providing services about the hotel and provided maps and directions for our inquiries and spoke English. We absolutely loved the buffet, great food and great view of the city on the 4th floor. We will definitely stay here again. Only drawback, not in walking distance to city centre attractions but for 3 Euros return trip on the bus stops about a 5 min. walk from the hotel. We also loved the gardens/grounds. Great scenery! LOVED IT! HOPING TO RETURN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Excellent hotel and a good location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Very nice small hotel - more like a large villa on the hill overlooking rome, close to all the sites. They have a lovely breakfast room in a panoramic room on the roof which gives a really good view of the city. Staff very friendly and helpful and the pool was lovely - would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks, UK

Great hotel with a very nice pool in Central Rome

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Nice pool, decent breakfast, very friendly staff, and central location. Hotel has less than 50 rooms so guests are treated to a more personal service.
Cons: Hotel is nice but was perhaps a little on the tired side so could use a bit of a spruce up. Bathrooms were OK but the shower was in need of an update.
Location: Trastevere is a short walk down the hill with loads of nice restaurants and shops nearby. We often walked to central Rome which was only 20 mins away.
Hotel: Very nice. We arrived very late and left very early and staff checking in/out were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is located high upon the hill above Rome on the Vatican side of the river with amazing views from the breakfast room on the 4th floor. Public transport is within easy reach but walking about was easy. Rooms: A good size, with high ceilings and were nice and clean but the hotel could do with some renovation as the decor was very old fashioned but quite traditional. Beds were comfy and tiles on the floor kept things cool. Air-conditioning was noisy so took a bit of getting used to; air-conditioning in the second room (we were a party of 3) did not work and despite reporting this it never got fixed. Traffic outside was noisy and seemed to be the same no matter what time of the day or night. Sleeping with windows open was not an option for a restful sleep. Having said that it was nice to be able to open the windows as most hotels don't allow. Food: Breakfast was good but it would've been nice to have had better coffee, cut fresh fruit and danishes; hot food was limited to scrambled eggs and bacon; cakes for breakfast was interesting (although they were nice)!; there were cold meats/cheeses, yogurts, hard boiled eggs and cereals aplenty and lots of different types of fruit juices so overall breakfast was very acceptable. The club sandwiches we had by the pool were to die for and it was great to have a cold drink or ice-cream by the pool during the day.