Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good for a short stay

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We stayed for 4 nights. The location is about a 15 min walk down in to the town or you can catch a bus which drops you off slightly out of town. The breakfast was good but restaurant for lunch was overpriced and not great. Reception staff can be a little moody.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: It was a very nice looking hotel with a wonderful breakfast.
Cons: There weren't enough wall adapters for US plugs and they did not have an iron. The pool closes at 7pm so never got to use it.
Location: The location is not that great.
In terms of hotels this place was more than adequate. I would not recommend this hotel however, simply because of its location. The hotel is not far from the sites if driving, if not they are really far. There is a bus stop near by, but it took us an hour and 30 mins to get there. The buses are rarely on time and there are a lot of stops. If you are not worried about money then take cabs as its an easy 10 min drive but the price was usually around 15 euros each way. The location of the hotel is situated on the top of a hill so the restaurants district near by is an easy 30 min walk down but a struggling 40 min walk back up. If you've been sightseeing all day this is not a fun experience. The pool closes at 7pm so if you are sightseeing all day its rare that youll even get to use it. This was a bummer for me because I got this hotel for the pool, as laying around the pool sounded great after walking all day. Also there weren't enough wall adapters for every room so a couple days we had to walk down to the lobby to charge out phones. With that being said it was a clean place to stay and the hotel staff was helpful but sometimes vague about details regarding the "how to's" of Rome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from doncaster

Great hotel but hill walk was tough at times.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Liked hotel and pool. Both clean and good size rooms. Breakfast ok but a bit limited and exactly same food everyday. Although lovely hotel probably wouldn't book again because it was tiring climbing hill to get there and I'm a pretty fit person.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lleida

Hotel agradable con piscina

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: La piscina Desayuno correcto, habitaciones limpias y con luz
Location: Aunque no está en el centro, está bien comunicado. Además mejores vistas de Roma. Tienes a 15' el Trastevere, donde por la noche se está fenomenal.
El hotel está situado en una colina y aunque no es un hotel céntrico, está muy bien situado y bien comunicado. Desconectas del bullicio del centro.Te compensa si vas en verano la piscina, se agradece con el calor. Sin duda si vuelvo a Roma en verano, repitiré este hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Amazing hotel, great staff. Amazing pool!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
The staff was very nice! The pool was amazing! The hotel was very clean. The hotel very close to an amazing view of Rome!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Borlänge

Underbart läge med fin utsikt och nära till bussar

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Fantastisk resa. Hotellet jättefint och frukosten härlig. Poolen stor och bra.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Great hotel atop a hill

Posted Jun 21, 2016
My adult daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was a lovely addition to our Rome experience. Breakfast each morning was a highlight on the sunny top floor with a view of the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't ask for more

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Location: There are loads of bars and restaurants nearby, and a 10 minute bus ride takes you into Rome centre where you are spoilt for choice.
Staff very welcoming, and assisted fully whenever we had a query about anything. Room was good, nicely laid out. Very thorough clean on a daily basis. The swimming pool was a major bonus after a hard day seeing the sights of Rome during the day. Breakfast on the top floor with its panoramic views of Rome was spectacular. We had a meal in the restaurant, and enjoyed the meal immensely. The hotel is situated on one of the hills of Rome, but the walk down into town and back was filled with attractions that are out of the way and not ordinarily experienced by those in the centre of the city. The bus service is easy enough to work out, with stops outside the hotel, and the buses running regularly into the early hours. All in all the hotel was an amazing experience, which coupled with the full Rome experience was something we will not forget in a hurry. It is our intention to return to Rome and we will if possible book the Gianicolo again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: breakfast and pool. the grounds were beautiful
Cons: more English tv channels.
Location: not much nearby, had to walk to taxi stand about a mile away every day.
Very nice hotel. Our room was very small but clean. TV could on get CNN in English. Great breakfast and pool. Needed a taxi to get around. I would stay again with a bigger room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G-H

Honeymoon

Posted May 17, 2016
The Young lady we booked it through was fantastic. We can not fault her at all. Breakfast was fantastic. The breakfast staff were very helpful and would do anything for you. There were a lot of hotel functions and parties during our stay. When this happened the hotel guests were pushed aside and felt like we're in the way. Evening staff were a let down and unhelpful and no bar staff were ever available and you had to always go to the front reception to get someone to serve you. No tea/coffee making facilities available in the rooms. You had to go down to the bar to make them. When we arrived late we asked for a coffee and was told there was nine available.