Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel near Trastevere area close to centre

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Helpful friendly staff. Comfy rooms. Rooms very clean, cleaning staff excellent. Beautiful pool area and bar restaurant for drinks snacks and meal. Very pretty gardens to sit and have a drink. 10 min walk to Trastevere area where there are loads of lovely little shops and reasonably priced restaurants. Bus stop nearby or hotel will call a taxi (literally takes 5 mins to arrive). Taxi's very reasonably priced, rarely paid more than €15. Thank you Grand Hotel Gianicolo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zionsville, Indiana

Beautiful hotel in great residential neighborhood!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Grounds, decor, pool, staff.
Cons: The shower could be bigger.
Location: Nice and quiet compared to central Rome.
The grounds are gorgeous, the pool is very nice with a little bistro nearby. The breakfast room is awesome with a view of St. Peter's Basilica and the surrounding neighborhood.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Lovely hotel in a good location

Posted May 26, 2017
Overall we enjoyed our stay here. The location, breakfasts and especially the staff were excellent as was having a pool to use after hot days walking around Rome. Our experience was marred by the fact that on three out of our seven nights stay they had noisy parties which went on until after midnight and disrupted our sleep. Additionally, on one day we had to leave the pool at five pm as there was going to be yet another private party there. It is a shame that such a lovely hotel seems to put private hire parties before the comfort of their resident guests. Also the sound proofing in the rooms is very poor which meant that normal conversations/ activities in adjoining rooms could be heard quite clearly. Having said all this, we would probably stay here again because the positives outweighed the negatives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sandhurst UK

Very nice hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast, pretty location
Cons: Only had one problem, that was one member of staff who was very rude and unfriendly when we needed help. The rest of the staff were lovely.
Location: Beautiful views over Rome within walking distance.
Good little hotel with an amazing spread for your free breakfast. Pretty location but not too close to the city centre. Wifi connection poor at the best. Comfortable beds but small rooms which is the standard for Rome. Beautiful swimming pool, great place to relax after walking around the city. Great views off Rome in easy walking distance from the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Marjorie

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the beautiful pool along with the awesome food in the restaurant and it had a bar, everything you want under one roof. The grounds were lovely and could sit outside and enjoy a beverage. Bus stop close by so no need to take a cab. The breakfast was superb. The staff was so amazing, helpful and took great care of us. Great Hotel and would recommend anyone to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

The grand hotel gianicolomodern

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Modern but with a classic charm. Helpful friendly staff. It is situated within walking distance to the main attractions. Or for around 13 euros you can use taxis, or buses, which seem a bit more erractic. We loved it , breakfast in a roof terrace dining room from wish you can see the Vatican starts the day perfectly.
5 out of 5
by Mike c from ohio

grand hotel gianicolo

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel was very nice people they're friendly and helpful they spoke English only downside was the rooms were a little smaller than I thought breakfast was great overall experience was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent romantic break for a couple

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We stayed at the Grand Hotel del Gianicolo in August 16 for our anniversary. First it is a beautiful hotel in a great quiet location but still easy walking distance to the city centre and also lovely dining area of Trastevere. The hotel were very generous in that waiting for us, completely by surprise to us both was a lovely bottle of fizz, local meats, olives and cheese! It started our holiday off fantastically and just what we needed after EasyJet delays wiping out 1 of our days. The room was comfortable, clean and reasonably up to date - remember Rome is an ancient city and this is not a modern glass fronted hotel! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the pool was popular but easy going with a good mix of couples and a few families - excellent cocktails and an ice cream if you fancy too. Breakfast was first class and the breakfast room on the roof offers fantastic views of the surrounds and out to the Vatican. Just along the road there is a viewpoint at Terrazza del Gianicolo which is outstanding and a definite snap to have in your holiday album. The cost was very reasonable, both of the accommodation and food/beverages though we dined out during the evenings. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Rome - a truly top hotel for couples on a romantic getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: See a great view of Rome
Everything about this hotel is very good. Good location, helpful staff. The only downfall would be the floor like mattress of the bed. Besides that, nothing to complain about.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels