Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: See a great view of Rome
Everything about this hotel is very good. Good location, helpful staff. The only downfall would be the floor like mattress of the bed. Besides that, nothing to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Gorgeous view of the city. Loved our stay.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
We arrived early and didn't expect to be accommodated but the staff went over and above to help us out. Even buying us a couple glasses of wine while we waited Room was not updated but in amazing condition. Very clean and comfortable. Lots of marble Can't say enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Stay in Rome

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the views, the rooms and the service.
The hotel is in an excellent location. It is a quick taxi ride to both historic sites and the Vatican. Rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. I really enjoyed the breakfast that is included. The breakfast room has an amazing view over the city and the dome of St. Peter's. I was very pleased to be contacted by the hotel about transfer from either Airport or Cruise port directly to the hotel. We used their recommended service and were completely impressed by the driver and service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Lovely location and beautiful pool

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Loved the walk to town - hotel is near botanical gardens / not a good hotel if you wa to be in the center. Perfect hotel if you like to walk and enjoy city parks. The room was clean but the decor was dark and not very pleasing. The staff was helpful and kind. But somehow not quite a luxurious hotel - a very nice hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Excellent buffet and service!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast buffet/view of city! We enjoyed the garden view and appreciated the great service we received! Very clean! All marble floors!
Cons: Nothing! Only drawback was the location a bit far from city centre attractions. Not in walking distance.
Location: Vatican City is only a 15 min. walk. Walk to the park and take great pictures of the city! Great View.
We absolutely loved our stay at the Giancolo. Front Desk staff were excellent in providing services about the hotel and provided maps and directions for our inquiries and spoke English. We absolutely loved the buffet, great food and great view of the city on the 4th floor. We will definitely stay here again. Only drawback, not in walking distance to city centre attractions but for 3 Euros return trip on the bus stops about a 5 min. walk from the hotel. We also loved the gardens/grounds. Great scenery! LOVED IT! HOPING TO RETURN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Excellent hotel and a good location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Very nice small hotel - more like a large villa on the hill overlooking rome, close to all the sites. They have a lovely breakfast room in a panoramic room on the roof which gives a really good view of the city. Staff very friendly and helpful and the pool was lovely - would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks, UK

Great hotel with a very nice pool in Central Rome

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Nice pool, decent breakfast, very friendly staff, and central location. Hotel has less than 50 rooms so guests are treated to a more personal service.
Cons: Hotel is nice but was perhaps a little on the tired side so could use a bit of a spruce up. Bathrooms were OK but the shower was in need of an update.
Location: Trastevere is a short walk down the hill with loads of nice restaurants and shops nearby. We often walked to central Rome which was only 20 mins away.
Hotel: Very nice. We arrived very late and left very early and staff checking in/out were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is located high upon the hill above Rome on the Vatican side of the river with amazing views from the breakfast room on the 4th floor. Public transport is within easy reach but walking about was easy. Rooms: A good size, with high ceilings and were nice and clean but the hotel could do with some renovation as the decor was very old fashioned but quite traditional. Beds were comfy and tiles on the floor kept things cool. Air-conditioning was noisy so took a bit of getting used to; air-conditioning in the second room (we were a party of 3) did not work and despite reporting this it never got fixed. Traffic outside was noisy and seemed to be the same no matter what time of the day or night. Sleeping with windows open was not an option for a restful sleep. Having said that it was nice to be able to open the windows as most hotels don't allow. Food: Breakfast was good but it would've been nice to have had better coffee, cut fresh fruit and danishes; hot food was limited to scrambled eggs and bacon; cakes for breakfast was interesting (although they were nice)!; there were cold meats/cheeses, yogurts, hard boiled eggs and cereals aplenty and lots of different types of fruit juices so overall breakfast was very acceptable. The club sandwiches we had by the pool were to die for and it was great to have a cold drink or ice-cream by the pool during the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good for a short stay

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We stayed for 4 nights. The location is about a 15 min walk down in to the town or you can catch a bus which drops you off slightly out of town. The breakfast was good but restaurant for lunch was overpriced and not great. Reception staff can be a little moody.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: It was a very nice looking hotel with a wonderful breakfast.
Cons: There weren't enough wall adapters for US plugs and they did not have an iron. The pool closes at 7pm so never got to use it.
Location: The location is not that great.
In terms of hotels this place was more than adequate. I would not recommend this hotel however, simply because of its location. The hotel is not far from the sites if driving, if not they are really far. There is a bus stop near by, but it took us an hour and 30 mins to get there. The buses are rarely on time and there are a lot of stops. If you are not worried about money then take cabs as its an easy 10 min drive but the price was usually around 15 euros each way. The location of the hotel is situated on the top of a hill so the restaurants district near by is an easy 30 min walk down but a struggling 40 min walk back up. If you've been sightseeing all day this is not a fun experience. The pool closes at 7pm so if you are sightseeing all day its rare that youll even get to use it. This was a bummer for me because I got this hotel for the pool, as laying around the pool sounded great after walking all day. Also there weren't enough wall adapters for every room so a couple days we had to walk down to the lobby to charge out phones. With that being said it was a clean place to stay and the hotel staff was helpful but sometimes vague about details regarding the "how to's" of Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from doncaster

Great hotel but hill walk was tough at times.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Liked hotel and pool. Both clean and good size rooms. Breakfast ok but a bit limited and exactly same food everyday. Although lovely hotel probably wouldn't book again because it was tiring climbing hill to get there and I'm a pretty fit person.