Ratings based on 2,319 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Nice hotel in a great location for sightseeing and food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The staff were friendly and helpful and very polite.The room was clean and tidy .The downside was there was no hot water in shower and taps .Overall hotel was good would go back again but need to fix hot running water
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The poorest 4 star hotel I've ever been to. The lack of minimum comfort offered by a ...so called standard double room, was shocking. The list would be for too long to mention here. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the big problem lays with the management who simply don't care about customers. My advice : stay away !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Nice Hotel close to Vatican City and Metro Station

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: New mattress, better internet Wi-Fi.
Location: Walk to Vatican City. Plenty of restaurants to lunch or dinner. Take the metro and visit historic places like Roman Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc.
The Grand Hotel Olympic offered us a very pleasant stay. The best thing about it is its location, within walking distance of the Vatican City, the Ottaviano metro station, bus stops, several restaurants and Gelaterias. The surrounding area is very touristy and nice, with a lot of shops, monuments and churches. The breakfast was good, definitely not as bad as other reviews stated; it offered different kinds of bread, cheeses and ham, yogurt, fruits, corn flakes, coffee, tea, croissants and cakes. The room was big, it housed four people quite comfortably although 2 out of the 3 beds in the room had mattresses that were a little old. They didn't feel as pleasant, but also weren't as bad as to that you couldn't sleep in any them; besides, since we were pretty tired from walking all day, it didn't bother us that much. Also, the Wi-Fi could be improved; it was quite slow. The room also had an air conditioner, heater, a small fridge and a TV, and was cleaned every day. As for the bathroom, it was big except for the shower, which barely fit us (we're tall people with a slim build, so bigger people might not be comfortable in there). On service, the people at the reception were very nice. They called our shuttle to take us to the airport on the last day for us and always answered my e-mails whenever we had any question. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Grand Hotel Olympic Aurum Hotels, Hotel Management
Buonasera, la ringraziamo per la sua recensione, stiamo provvedendo a rendere il servizio di wi-fi più veloce, anche i materassi saranno presto sostituiti. La ringraziamo per le sue segnalazioni, ci aiutano a migliorare sempre di più. A presto
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Cons: wifi speed poor - cannot load a page during most evenings
great location with easy walk to Vatican and Metro. Clean and tidy but basic room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Grand Hotel Olympic Aurum Hotels, Hotel Management
Buongiorno, la ringraziamo per la sua recensione, stiamo cercando di migliorare la rete wi-fi, come da sua segnalazione. A presto
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near Vatican City.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Easy walking distance to the center of Rome. Personal safes in rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Grand Hotel Olympic Aurum Hotels, Hotel Management
Buongiorno, la ringraziamo per la sua recensione. A presto
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Close to the Vatican and Metro

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Convenience to Vatican and Metro. Friendly English speaking staff and very helpful.
Cons: Upgrade beds and add a little speed to the elevator and maybe a chair in the room.
Location: Six blocks from the Vatican, very easy walk. Close to the Metro (Ottaviano station). Lots of neighborhood restaurants and pizzerias and shopping.
Hotel is old but well maintained. Front desk staff very helpful especially Donatella and Dolores. Breakfast was adequate and well presented with plenty of variety. Elevator is slow but faithful. A/C did not work when we checked in but front desk sent maintenance up immediately and he fixed the issue. Remote did not work and he replaced it. A couple of the outlets would not work with the converter we had but we worked around that. The bed was not the greatest but we were so tired from the day's activities, it did not matter that much. Only suggestion we have is small chair would be convenient. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Grand Hotel Olympic Aurum Hotels, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Steve, la ringraziamo per la sua recensione. Le segnalazioni ci aiutano a migliorare, la informo che stiamo pian piano sostituendo tutti i materassi dalle camere. A presto
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Terrible place

Posted Mar 23, 2017
This hotel is far from what is advertise. The hotel is old and dated. The restaurant is the worst.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Grand Hotel Olympic Aurum Hotels, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Js, ci dispiace per la sua esperienza negativa, molti trovano il nostro hotel ottimo. L'hotel è datato, ma in continuo rinnovamento. Con le segnalazioni costruttive possiamo migliorare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel close to Vatican City

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room is clean and spacious, large bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Grand Hotel Olympic Aurum Hotels, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Jeffrey, grazie infinite per la sua recensione, la soddisfazione del cliente è la nostra priorità. A presto
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel well located for Vatican City

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Basic hotel but all that's needed when spending most time sight seeing
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Grand Hotel Olympic Aurum Hotels, Hotel Management
Buongiorno, la ringraziamo per la sua recensione. A presto