Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing breakfast

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast needs to be improved
Good location but pity about breakfast Staff helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We are more than glad to receive a good comment about our location and staff and we will take in serious consideration your constructive criticism in order to improve our offer. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Alessandra Imperio Guest Relation Officer and Loyalty Ambassador
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Comfortable hotel close to all major attractions

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Good location
We spent 3 nights in the Grand Hotel Place and overall the experience was pleasant. The only drawback of the hotel is that the bathroom ventilation doesn't work well and the bathroom is a bit smelly. Also, the room cleaning service doesn't provide much amenities such as shampoo or conditioner.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Grand Hotel Palace for your recent stay. Moreover we would like to thank you for spending time to post your review that is really important for us in order to check and improve our quality standard. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, even though you had an inconvenience. We have informed our Maintenance in order to check and solve the problem. We apologize and we sincerely hope you will consider returning to our property. We take this occasion to inform all our guests that our Front Desk is available 24h to assist you and satisfy your requests. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Best Regards, Alessandra Imperio Guest Relation Officer and Loyalty Ambassador
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jersey, Channel Islands

Lovely hotel in a fancy part of town...

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Large bed. Spacious room, Spa
Cons: Airconditiong system needs adapting as it is noisy.
Location: Via Veneto, great location in a posh part of town. Spanish steps are close and you can walk to everywhere.
This is a great hotel in a fancy part of town but within walking distance to everywhere you want to visit. The room in which we eventually stayed (301) is a beautiful and spacious room at the back of the hotel as the main Via Veneto street is busy and can be noisy all through the night. Each day after walking around Rome, we'd come back to the hotel to relax in the spa before heading out to dinner. The staff couldn't be any more professional and made our staf a pleasure. The only thing that we could say needed improving is that the central air conditioning system is noisy, however we turned ours off and we had a peaceful stay. The beds were king size and firm, room was clean and we would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Grand Hotel Palace for your recent stay in Rome. Then we thank you for sharing your experience with the other travelers, as this is the best way to check and improve our quality standard. I am sure our team will be encouraged by your kind notes and we will take in serious consideration your constructive criticism too. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best Regards, Alessandra Imperio Guest Relation Officer and Loyalty Ambassador
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Nice, relaxing place which is located in an iconic area of Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for leaving your feedback. We are more than glad to know you appreciated our location and the room with terrasse. We sincerely hope to see you soon and wish a more enjoyable stay in our Eternal City. Thank you also for your beautiful picture: we are pleased to know you appreciated the wonderful view from our deluxe executive rooms. Best Regards, Alessandra Imperio Guest Relation Officer and Loyalty Ambassador
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Immaculate. Friendly helpful staff.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Bar Manager Max made what turned out to be wonderful suggestions for divine Italian tea room and deserts and for Italian restaurant frequented by local folks. We returned to each choice at least one more time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for posting your review. We would like to thank you also for your nice feedback: we do appreciate your kind words and we will share them with our colleagues. We are more than glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and surely your opinion will be a strong input to go ahead and give our best care to all our valuable guests. Hoping to host you again, we all send our best regards. Alessandra Imperio Guest Relation Officier and Loyalty Ambassador
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel and great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Room was very comfortable, large bed, and big bathroom - possibly the best hotel shower I've ever used. The spa and sauna were an added bonus particularly after all the walking. Staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food - plenty of places nearby for breakfast and dinner. For a short break the hotel is perfectly located for all the major sights - all are within walking distance. In fact, not walking means you will miss out on all the other surprises that seem to appear around virtually every corner. Would definitely stay here again. A lovely hotel in a beautiful city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Alessandra - Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for choosing our Grand Hotel Palace. We are really pleased to know you appreciated our property and we hope you will come back soon to give our best care and attention. Thank you again for your delighted compliments. Best Regards, Alessandra Imperio Guest Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel at a great location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I liked the hotel quite a lot. The Spa was a bit disappointing, as there are only 2 (two) chairs where you can relax or even put you things on. The breakfast was ok, not great..for a 5 star hotel. Overall positive experience mostly because of the location. Not great value for the money though..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Alessandra - Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Rome. We are pleased to know you appreciated our central location. But we are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations completely. We have informed our General Manager in order to discuss about your concerns with the departments involved. We hope you will consider the possibility to come back here and we will be more than glad to wish a more enjoyable stay. Best Regards, Alessandra Imperio Guest Assistant
3 out of 5
by Lance

Disappointed

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Took awhile to check in. Shower leaked all over bathroom. It was not fixed after sending service. The service tech just caulked toilet and tile around the shower. That then caused an extremely strong odor. Our last day we ordered breakfast room service. It was never delivered. We set for 6:30am and was clearly written. After I let the front desk know about the disappointment, staff had only excuses and said they thought it said 10:30???. The service at the hotel did not match a 5star hotel. If I was expecting a 3star and paying a 3star price, I might not have been as surprised or disappointed. I do not think I will suggest this hotel to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Grand Hotel Palace and posting your review. We are pleased to know you appreciated our central location, that is one of our strenghts, and we are more than glad to receive a good feedback about our rooms and the lobby. As a boutique hotel we focus on design where deco art is mixed with stunning frescoes and luxurious details, therefore we are so proud when our customers feel comfortable in our property. Our Guest Satisfaction is our daily mission; for this reason we consider extremely important your review, as this is one of the best tool to check and improve our quality standard. We are so sorry to hear your concerns and we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. We have read your comments about the service of our staff and we couldn't apologize enough for what seems to be a lack of personal care and attention. Our Managment has been informed in order to investigate and take the corrective action. On the other side, we need to specify some aspects you mentioned in order to demonstrate that we have done our best to guarantee a pleasant stay and solve any kind of inconvenience before your departure. Concerning the shower, for example, once informed through your comment posted on Expedia, we have immediately sent our Maintenance to solve it and we have tried many times to contact you in the room, without success. Moreover we have sent a reply via Expedia and we kindly asked you to come at the reception in order to discuss and address your concerns. Even if our Maintenance fixed the problem, we would have appreciated to talked to you and we would have been glad to show you a different room to guarantee a more comfortable stay. The entire team and the Management are always available to manage promptly any kind of inconvenience. Concerning the room service, we are sorry for the misunderstanding; but the time written could be easily misunderstood also because in the form it is specified that room service breakfast is served from 7 am. until 12. Anyway we took off an amount of money from your bill corresponding to the room service, as you expressed your disappointement at the check-out too and we hopefully thought that our gesture would have been appreciated. We have taken into a serious consideration your review and we invite you to contact us directly in case you would like to discuss about your stay. We remain at your complete disposal and we sincerely hope you would visit again our property to demonstrate our care and wish you a more enjoyable stay. Best Regards, Alessandra Imperio Guest Assistant
5 out of 5
by Maria

Excellent hotel - see you next time..............

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for two nights in February (rugby match weekend) and absolutely loved the hotel. Staff are super friendly, quiet room AND wonderful staff. I think I will only ever stay in this hotel when visiting Rome from now on. This was my fourth visit to Rome and I think I have finally found the best hotel there :) The only bad point was that the shower water was barely warm on both mornings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Rome. We are more than glad to read such a positive comment and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Sincerely, Alessandra Imperio Guest Assistant
4 out of 5
by SIU WAN

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for posting your feedback and sharing your experience with the other travellers. We hope you would give us the opportunity to welcome you again. Sincerely, Alessandra Imperio Guest Assistant