Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The hotel is in a great locatiob its near a lot of atraccion and very easy to locate everithing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, not a five star hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: location
The location could not be beat and you could tell that this once was a top notch hotel in the 90's...1890's that is. There hasn't been an update in ages, except a poor job updating firewall standards that look terrible. The golden velvet love seat, golden velvet drapes and golden velvet desk chair all need updating too along with the bathrooms and pretty much every aspect of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, but not worth the price

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Central location...walking distance to everything
Cons: Price
I stayed at 3 other hotels after my stay at Grand Hotel Plaza and found that I could get more bang for my buck elsewhere. The hotel is nice, but not worth paying double what other hotels are charging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, amazing location!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: A short walk from most sights, villa bourghese was a highlight
Beautiful hotel, amazing location, wish the roof terrace had been open
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Good location and professional service The personal responsible for cleaning the room is very professional The breakfast is excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Grand Old Lady, Staff Excellent

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Grand old style, staff, big rooms, large modern bath.
Cons: The hallways badly need refurbishing.
Location: Perfect location. Walk to a zillion good restaurants, luxury shopping, the Vatican, many of Rome's most iconic sights and museums.
Recently spent a week at the Plaza and loved it. Pros: Absolutely awesome staff-professional, helpful, take wonderful care of your needs. Common rooms old and grand. Location tops for wherever you want to go. Very quiet at night. Good beds. Huge rooms with lots of storage space. Baths modern and spacious. Breakfast ok but most plentiful. Tops for roof top bar and view. Cons: she's an old thing that could use refreshing in the hallways, redecorating should be done there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Needs remodeling!!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Excellent location.
The room was too small. The hotel has a bad smell. Needs a lot remodeling. Location is great. Bathrooms super small. Hotel really needs new paint and carpet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Beautiful , classy hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 18, 2016
All staff was very kind and attentive , room was very clean and spacious I definitely recommend this hotel Great shopping location and close to tourist attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Historical Beauty

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Opulent decor, spacious comfortable rooms. Helpful, friendly staff.
Cons: Staff at rooftop bar could have been more attentive.
Location: Very central to shops, restaurants and sightseeing.
A most enjoyable stay in the Grandest of Hotels. We loved the rooftop bar, a great place to relax with friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent position

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The hotel is absolutely central to all the main tourist points and are within a few minutes walk to most.
Cons: The bathrooms are very tired and a bit shabby, so money spent on improvements would be good. Also, cotton wool pads would be handy.
Location: Central location, cannot be beaten.
We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and will do so again. We had a couple of days in Rome at the end of our cruise.