Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most bad hotel I saw in my live

Posted May 25, 2017
Room very dirty ,actually I booked through Expedia it's not as the photo at all ,once enter the room directly run away from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Fantastic location!

Posted May 22, 2017
Great place in a fantastic location. They shut down the street from 11am-11pm. Lots of action, restaurants and shopping. Minutes from Spanish steps. Hotel was nice, although a bit dated. Breakfast was too expensive so we ate out at nearby restaurants. Staff was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Not a 5 star hotel based on my experience ... poor hotel room condition
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice gem

Posted May 20, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Plaza. Very nice location. We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel: Spanish steps, Trevor fountain, Plaza Navona, Pantheon, Castle St-Angelo... Hotel is older but very nice kept. Staff is friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charleston SC

Was once beautiful but now needs overhaul

Posted May 2, 2017
The rooms are in bad shape. Looks like they tried to cover up the seediness but so much is not up to standards. The bathtub didn't have an overhead shower. The toilet bowl wasn't cemented to the floor. An area carpet covered damaged floors that sunk in when you walked. No air conditioning and elec switches that did nothing The beds were actually cots. And this was their superior upgraded room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the hotel that could have been better

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: this hotel should be completely updated
Location: need to take a taxi to most of the attractions unless you like to walk
From the front the hotel looked grand the lobby beautiful after that everything went down hill the bathroom had a terrible odor the shower stall leaked the water glasses were never changed there was no box spring the mattress was put on a cot no drawers to put you clothes away everything was suitcase living
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location steps from everything

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Cons: bathroom shower is a bit dated and not well designed .....sofas in bedroom should be replaced.....they were very old and a little stained
I arrived early (before check in officially started) but the staff made a few extraordinary steps and got me into my room where, after a long flight, I was able to shower and take a nap!! Thank you staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

3 out of 5

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Location was fantastic - within 10 -20 minutes walking to historic must see sights. Certain staff members were unhelpful and rude. If you keep yourself to yourself, this hotel will do just fine. Breakfast had lack of choice. Definitely not what you would expect from a "5*" hotel though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HARWICH ESSEX

disappointing for a 5 star hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: the staff and breakfast,
Cons: The beds and pillows need changing as they are uncomfortable,
Location: the location was g central for all the sites , a short walk to the Spanish steps and trevi fountain,and not too far to the other main sites
This is a city centre hotel , so did not expect it to be quiet, but as it was a 5 star hotel I did expect certain standards, I would expect the bed to have some support but the mattress in our room 223 had no support whatsoever , there were only a couple of spots you could lay on to be comfortable, there were 4 pillows on the bed one of which was so old when you draped it over your arm it just hung there if this had been in my home I would have put in the dustbin long ago, the sheets etc were clean. the bathroom was tired and the light switch did not even have a cover faceplate on it, not really five star standard. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was varied and considering the prices in nearby cafes good value, None of the open air bars were open which was disappointing as it would have been nice to see the city from a rooftop perspective and also after a long day seeing the sites of rome to sit outside and have a drink and cigarette, being a smoker it was an inconvenience having to stand outside in the street to have a cigarette. i would not stop here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, very good location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Definitely not the best hotel in Rome but very good location. Friendly staff, needs updating