Ratings based on 763 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, very good location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Definitely not the best hotel in Rome but very good location. Friendly staff, needs updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geneva

Location location location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location
My family and I enjoyed our overnight stay at this hotel, shopping all around our area, restaurants nearby, plus churches too. Everything Rome is about, shopping, food, and praying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We checked into the hotel past midnight and did not really care to actually see the hotel. The next morning when we actually explored the hotel, we were blown away by the beauty of the hotel. I jokingly told my wife that this hotel should be classified a monument in Rome for how royal and grand the hotel actually is. To add to the beauty, the hotel is in walking distance from almost all tourist attractions in Rome. The check-in and check-out were both smooth and quick.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The hotel is in a great locatiob its near a lot of atraccion and very easy to locate everithing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, not a five star hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: location
The location could not be beat and you could tell that this once was a top notch hotel in the 90's...1890's that is. There hasn't been an update in ages, except a poor job updating firewall standards that look terrible. The golden velvet love seat, golden velvet drapes and golden velvet desk chair all need updating too along with the bathrooms and pretty much every aspect of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, but not worth the price

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Central location...walking distance to everything
Cons: Price
I stayed at 3 other hotels after my stay at Grand Hotel Plaza and found that I could get more bang for my buck elsewhere. The hotel is nice, but not worth paying double what other hotels are charging.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, amazing location!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: A short walk from most sights, villa bourghese was a highlight
Beautiful hotel, amazing location, wish the roof terrace had been open
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very centrally located,

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The old-world charm and luxury of the public areas
Cons: Not much, but would have liked to have slippers and bathrobe provided
Location: Perfect location for the tourist and easy access for the business traveller
Although check-in time is 3.00 p.m., when I arrived at 8.35, I was given a room immediately. The staff were very efficient and helpful and the room very comfortable. This is a beautiful old hotel that was once an aristocratic palace, the public areas are magnificent and it is worth staying there just to see them. Location is perfect as it is within walking distance of all the major tourist areas such as Piazzas di Spagna & Navona, the Vatican and Castel Sant'Angelo, the Campidoglio, the Pantheon etc and it is in the heart of the luxury shopping district. My only complaint, and it is fairly minor, is that slippers and bathrobe were not provided. Unfortunately, the terrace bar and restaurants were not open due to the cooler weather.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Don't recommend this hotel at all. The rooms didn't have a/c, bed was uncomfortable, poor wifi, the hotel was very old. Staff was not the friendliest and breakfast was very expensive for what it was (25 euros for continental).