Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Den from London

Lovely old Villa Hotel in suburbs of Roma.

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: For the price everything, much better than expected. I have stayed in Rome centre hotels for 4 times the price and they were no way near as pleasant.
Cons: Water in room, and maybe some snacks available in the day, as no shops nearby.
Location: Very quiet suburb, there is a big castle and amazing view of Rome in nearby Fascati.
Very pleasant and peaceful stop over/rest for 2 nights on my driving trip south to Sicily from UK. About 20km to Rome centre, easy drive in if you have GPS or just keep driving own hill, you will find Rome. The Villa/palace hotel is located in an up market suburb and has a lush garden and nice pool, you can park your car in the drive as long as you don't block it. I had a small single room with large double bed, toilet sink and bidet. Plenty of towels and a basic cubicle shower. Nice shuttere arch window gave it a very castle feel. The reception and lounge area is marble with antiques, staff where friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast had plenty of fresh croissants and good freshly made cappuccino, also nice touch aqua pana water. My only gripe was no water in the room apart from a tired looking plastic bottle in the fridge that I suspect my have been all ready open and smelt a bit musty, the TV remote was intermittent..Frascatiti town is a couple of KM, so nice to eat out with spectacular view of Rome stretched out below.. A car is recommended as up in the hills, not much near the hotel or you will need to use taxis. All in all a very pleasant stay at a bargain price. Real piece of Italy away from the chaos of Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ST from London, UK

Beautiful spacious hotel outside Rome

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: The enormous pool and style
Cons: None
Location: Perfect
It was a great stay for 7 nights where we went to Rome every other day ( 30 mins train 2€ one way to Rome termini) and enjoyed villa fiorio's pool and frascati's fantastic local restaurants and atmosphere the other days. It was a perfect balance between culture and relaxation- the children (5 and 9) loved it and so did we.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Forget about the pool!

Posted Jul 13, 2011
First, taxi charged 120 Euros from Roma Termini train station to the hotel. Then we get to the hotel and the first thing they tell us is the "pool is not working" due to "technical difficulties." Since it was the reason we chose the hotel from the Expedia web site, we were NOT happy. Nice suite, but the airconditioner didn't work well, so we were hot all night long. On the plus side, the dinner was excellent, and we were the only ones there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London.UK.

We will be back

Posted Sep 15, 2009
The hotel was filled with our wedding guest of all ages, the pool was enjoyed especially by the children the adult enjoyed the extended services of the bar and food service was above and beyond our expectations nothing was too much trouble but well done to Rocco and Emanuele and all the staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very Disappointed

Posted Aug 20, 2009
We were very disappointed with the location of the hotel. The staff were very rude and unhelpful. Room cleaning services were also terrible. Glasses weren't cleaned or replaced. I don't think the cleaner even knew there was a balcony attached to the room, it hadn't been cleaned before we got there it was in a terrible state and wasn't touched once whilst we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fla

simply the best

Posted Jul 17, 2009
very clean good food slept like a baby
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brussels, Belgium (American)

Traditional Italian Resort Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2008
I found the hotel quite nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable and well appointed. The view out the window the first morning was magnificent. I found the breakfast buffet better than average -- I had cereal, juice (they had pineapple and orange), a cornetto, and coffee each morning. On Sunday, they served a blackberry cobbler that was quite tasty. I didn't use the pool, so I cannot judge its quality, however the garden surrounding it was well-maintained and inviting. Instead, I went into Frascati which is a beautiful town within 10 minutes driving distance and refreshingly tourist-free. One of the local favorites that you will find everywhere is porchetta which is sliced pork from a whole pig. Plus, there is a type of dried/spiced meat called coppiette that is delicious. Add some of the local cheese, there is a special local romano that you can only buy in Frascati, some spiced olives, and wonderful bread with thick, chewy crust and you're in for a treat. The hotel and its surroundings was precisely what I had expected and will stay there the next time I go to Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

A great place to stay

Posted Jul 3, 2008
We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and although the bathroom could have been updated the room was really nice and very comfortable. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. The pool area is very nice and the grounds well kept. The only downside to this hotel is that it is 20mins walk into Frascati along a busy road, however you can take a taxi which should cost no more than 12 Euros.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Not a nice drive to the hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2007
Too far from the city, you have to drive through not a very nice area to get to it. once you are there, no one will help you with your bags and you have to carry them up to your room without an elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

A spacious and relaxed hotel but not 4 star.

Posted Sep 21, 2007
We liked our stay but if you are after smart 4 star this is not for you. The rooms are elegant with period furniture and the bathrooms need updating. Most en suites have showers and not baths. They do not serve food outside dinner hours so forget room service. The pool setting is a good spot for breakfast but we did not venture into the pool. It does not look particularly inviting as it has missing and chipped tiles. The whole place could do with a spruce up. Having said this it did not particularly bother us as we were inn Rome most of the day and ate out in Frascati and Grattaferra in the evenings which were delightful. Rent a car.