Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel convenient for St Peter's and the Vatican.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Its convenience to St. Peter's and the Vatican
Cons: The hotel room needs updating
Location: Near to St. Peter's and the Vatican. Very close to the Castel Saint Angelo. Bus stop outside hotel.
We had picked this hotel for its convenience to St. Peter's and the Vatican and for that part it was only a few minutes walk to both these attractions. However, the hotel itself was a disappointment to us. The reception staff were, in the main, very pleasant and helpful, considering our limited Italian, and spoke good English. The hotel room we had was in need of a good update. The shelf in the bathroom was not level, the brackets were put on upside down and had only one screw attaching each bracket to the wall. The toilet flush cover was on top of the shelf when we arrived. After mentioning this to reception, a new cover was put on, but it was not properly clipped into place and so fell off. We found the bed very hard and we did not get a good nights sleep for the whole week of our stay. The hotel's location seemed to be on the route to a hospital and the almost constant noise of sirens took a bit of getting used to. As there is no restaurant or breakfast facilities at this hotel , we took our own travel kettle and cups, so we could have some food and drink in the morning to take medication. There are a number of small convenience stores close by and quite a few restaurants. But it is near St Peter's and the prices and standards of these reflect that they really just cater for the tourists. We did not find a restaurant that we wanted to go back to. However, we will put our trip down to experience and our next trip to Rome we will not stay in this area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: very good location close to the Vatican.
the room was dirty, there was a bad smell all the time, we had no water in the shower on the 13th in the morning.. room 48.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hillsboro, Or

Hotel close to the Vatican

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Include air conditioning in the room price.
Location: A short walk to the Vatican.
My room this time was much better than my last stay. My traveling companions & I booked this hotel for our return trip through Rome before the first time we stayed here. The location is good, however they charge extra to use the air conditioning and there is no breakfast included. Eating out in Rome is rather expensive. So if you add the extra costs, our rooms were more expensive than we had planned. The staff was friendly and my room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

One bad apple

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Less than a quarter mile from St. Peter's Square and within a comfortable walk to most tourist destinations.
Cons: As I said, the only thing that could be improved, in my opinion, is the one front desk clerk.
Overall, I was extremely pleased with Hotel Adriatic. It was a bit confusing to me because of the layout, but it is in an outstanding location. The ONLY problem that I had with the hotel was the ONE desk attendant who happened to be working the last two mornings of our stay. He was probably the worst costumer service professional that I have ever encountered - rude, condescending, unhelpful, and, generally, a very poor representative of the hotel. Everyone else who worked at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hillsboro, Or

Close to Vatican

Posted Sep 3, 2016
I had a single room. It had a single bed, a very small bathroom, a desk and chair which I could not sit in. The advertisement stated you could pay extra for air conditioning. I thought that would be OK because the price of the room was very reasonable. I was told the air conditioning was broken in my room, so I had no air and it was hot! Breakfast was not included and food in Rome is very expensive. Next I would find a hotel that offers breakfast and has dependable air conditioning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M.P. Charlotte, NC

Close to Vatican. Only good thing about it.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
I paid for my hotel and when i got there there was no air conditioning. They said my room didnt come with air conditioning and even if it did it would have been 10€ a night. It was in the middle of july so i was pretty upset. But who would want a room without air conditioning? One of the maids just walked in my room without knocking so that was cool. The wifi was awful and im only complaining about that because i came from the states with no service so hotel wifi was a must, it just kept disconnecting and they told me it works best on the roof terrace. I never figured out how to get uo there, the door was locked. Overall bad experience but i guess you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Its location and helpful staff.
Cons: 10 euro per night for air conditioning is a lot of money to ask.
Location: Great location close to the Holy See and central Rome. There are a lot of nice shops and restaurants in the area.
The rooms are clean and spacious for Rome. The staff is helpful and attentive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted May 31, 2016
Definitely a standard 2 star hotel. There was a power outage the morning we left and we had to get ready in the dark it was very difficult. Internet was slow and we struggled connecting to. There was a nice Garden Terrace with tables and chairs for you to relax and enjoy the sounds of Rome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, England.

Hotel Adriatic

Posted May 28, 2016
Lovely hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. Ideal location with 5 minute walk to Saint Peters Basilica and the Vatican. Most locations of interest are also within a walkable distance. There is also a nice roof terrace at this hotel which is nice to sit, relax and chat with friends at the end of your day. Would definately recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Drab

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, make rooms less shabby, paint?
Location: Near Vatican, easy access, Castel Santangelo close.
Chech in was ok, but room was shabby and old, not very clean, no hand soap in bathroom. Bed uncomfortable. Booked this b/ c we stayed here 10 years ago and it was great. Only positive is that it was close to transport to airport and Vatican.