Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel; Nice part of town

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Location; staff; atmosphere
Cons: in room tea service; more extensive breakfast
Location: 8 minute walk to the Circo Massimo subway, passing the Domus Aureus on the way. Lots of restaurants around the neighborhood within 10-15 minute walk.
I have stayed here many times and like it each time. Quiet neighborhood, nicely restored villa, great staff, I always enjoy my week in Rome. The trade off is that you have to walk a bit to restaurants, and there aren't the amenities in a large hotel (eg., bar or laundry facilities in house) but I love the quiet, old world charm. The Concierge, Justin is superb! Occasionally I wonder if I'd like to try another hotel, but I'm very happy here, so why chance it?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA, USA

Enjoyed our stay here very much

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Hotel Aventino was a lovely place to stay over the Christmas holiday. The staff was helpful and gave us a list of nearby restaurants open during the holidays. Our favorite nearby restaurant was an Insalata Ricca--about a ten-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel breakfast and coffee was great, and we could walk to the Roman Forum or public transportation. We enjoyed our five-day stay very much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Hotel with great ambience in nice neighborhood

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Ambience, neighborhood, staff.
Cons: The morning desk person kept asking if we want to arrange a cab to the airport, like 4 times. We booked online instead because much cheaper.
We loved the old-school decor of the rooms, old-schooled yet very clean and maintained well. We got a warm welcome when we arrived late night, the staff immediately gave us the room key and told us to go relax and get warm, while he will take care of the paper work. The neighborhood was quiet with some small parks, and the hotel is about an 8 minute walk to either the metro or a bus stop. Do notice that the hotel is on a small hill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester England

New Year's Eve celebration

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Booked 5 nights in Hotel Avantino for the new year,. The hotel is close to the city centre although the walk is uphill so you need to be in good health. The hotel is very nice and we had a lower floor outside room, which was good as we didn't need to go through reception every time we left & returned. The breakfast was continental and sufficient and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is set in a very quiet part of Rome and if unsure guest might prefer to get a taxi back if late at night . ( not that we had any worries). Overall the hotel was great and if you prefer not to be in the hustle and bustle of the city centre it's perfect. We had a great time and hope to return soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with great staff

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were absolutely amazing and the hotel was gorgeous. Great location close to everything and the next time we are in Rome we will look forward to another stay with you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-so hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok for the price , close to metro, nearby food , hotel was old but clean. Can't complain, breakfast was very very limited.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good hospitality, kind and accessible staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, good area.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed the peace of the Aventine Hill, so close to the attractions of the city. A long walk to the Vatican, but otherwise the area was an ideal base. Good breakfast choice. The 2nd time we've stayed here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

If you need to stay on the Aventine

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Quiet, friendly, homely, ideal for me. It's in a particularly safe area for walking.
Cons: Can't really think of anything. Obviously, it's not for children.
Location: There are no buses or shops on the Aventine. It's for those who want a quite place in the heart of Rome, yet above the noise and traffic.
I needed to stay on the Aventine, close to the venue of a congress I was attending, hence it was ideal. The staff were exceptionally polite and efficient, welcoming and friendly. I had a room in the garden, which I particularly liked, it was more like living at home. The bed was huge and comfortable, the desk adequate for serious work, the lights, air conditioning and wifi all worked well. I could have done with more storage space for clothes and an armchair. The bathroom was large, clean, practical and replenished daily. Above all, it was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was well presented and there was a lot to chose from, though nothing hot, other than coffee or tea, but the coffee was good, everything was fresh. I stayed for 12 days and felt truly at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Lovely character hotel on Aventine Hill.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Quiet area. Felt safe for walking even back to hotel at night.
Cons: The area where most of the recommended restaurants are on the map given out by reception is actually quite run down.
Location: Easy walking distance to Metro, Seine River, Coliseum and other surrounding historical sites.
Hotel is about a ten minute walk from Metro, but some uphill so better if you're not pulling heavy cases. Reception very friendly and helpful. Room very nice, clean and quiet. Breakfast had a good variety of food and great cappuccino!