Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel was more than we expected.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
We had previously visited Rome a couple of weeks prior to our last night stay in Rome at the end of our vacation. This hotel is located in a beautiful ,picturesque and charming area. Everywhere we looked was a picture. The hotel was quiet, and the rooms were beautiful and ornate. The breakfast was lovely. The staff were all helpful and charming as well. If we had had the opportunity we would have stayed a week... Highly recommend this hotel..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Viriginia

Charming B&B

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Included breakfast, aesthetics.
Cons: Jets in tub didn't work, but I didn't put much effort into trying to get them fixed.
Very charming hotel about a ten minute ride to city center, about 20-30 minutes from airport. There are a few places to eat within a five- ten minute walk. (But beware - the walk back is up a steep hill!) Included breakfast was good. (Cereal, yogurt, pastries, boiled eggs, etc...) Room was small but adequate, nicely decorated. We had two twin beds, and though it was small, it seemed a little more roomy than pictures of some other European hotels... Metro stops and bus stops about a five minute walk. Staff was helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be close to everything but not right in the middle of the tourist area. There are metro/bus stops close enough to the hotel if you choose not to arrive by taxi from the airport - but again, be advised it will be a steep five minute walk up to the hotel carrying your bags...We took a taxi and I don't remember the exact cost, but split between two people it amounted to about the same we each would have spent on the transit system, and it was much more convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport South Wales UK

Nice hotel in a good position to explore Rome

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: After a day walking around and visiting the sights of Rome the hotel is in a quite area to relax in. The buffet breakfast had a good choice.
Cons: There was no bar or evening restaurant in the hotel but I expect most people would eat out anyway, but there is a mini bar in the room.
Location: The hotel is in an excellent area to use as a base to explore Rome. Near the bottom of the hill is the Forum and Colosseum.
My wife and I stayed here in early May. The room was clean and the staff very helpful. The hotel is in a nice area of Rome built at the top of the Aventine hill. The hotel is built in an area that seemed to be where well off families built their houses in the 19th century and have now been converted in to hotels or apartments. The furniture of the hotel reflects this but the hotel room was of an average size with a good shower and bathroom area. At the bottom of the hill you can get on city tour buses, there is also a metro station and the over ground tram service so getting around Rome was easy.
4 out of 5
by Satu from Juva

Hotelli Aventino

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotelli Aventino oli mukava, pienehkö, kodikas ja siisti hotelli kukkulalla, lähellä nähtävyyksiä ja kävelymatkan päässä metro- ja linja-autopysäkeistä. Vaati hyvää kuntoa kiivetä hotellille päivän lopuksi, kun ensin oli kävellyt koko päivän nähtävyyksiä katselemassa.. Hyvä aamiainen ja ystävällinen henkilökunta kruunasivat matkan onnistumisen!
5 out of 5
by Pamela from Berkeley, CA

Oasis in the big city

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aventino, set in a quiet residential neighborhood near the Circo Massimo and Forum. We have been to Rome several times, usually staying near the Pantheon or Spanish Steps so this was a nice change. It's a ten minute walk down to a bus or over to a metro station, and about 15-20 minutes to Trastevere. The building is beautifully restored. Our room was large and comfortable (#333?) on the ground floor with a small private patio in front. The staff were quite helpful even arranging a driver to pick us up at the airport. We arrived quite late, 10 pm, starving so we headed down the hill to eat and wandered into a wonderful little restaurant, La Vecchia Lupiae. Probably the best meal we had in Italy! The hotel is a good value; I have only two quibbles 1) while the breakfast was hardy and delicious, the coffee served was terrible, tasting almost like it was made from instant (seems like a no-no in Italy!) and 2) the only pillows available were hard and flat. Still, it's a really nice place and quite an oasis in a big city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bonn

Das Hotel ist eine repräsentative Altstadtvilla!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Wir waren rundum zufrieden!!! Auch nochmal vielen Dank an die Mitarbeiter der Rezeption, die uns jederzeit mit Rat und Tat zur Seite standen!!!
Wir haben uns im Hotel Aventino von der ersten bis zur letzten Stunde sehr wohlgefühlt. Es hat an nichts gefehlt. Die zentrale, ruhige Lage auf dem Hügel Aventin ist (wenn man gut zu Fuß ist) ideal für Ausflüge zu den zahlreichen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Uns haben auch die nahegelegen Parks gut gefallen, von dort aus hat man einen herrlichen Blick über Rom. Wir würden jederzeit wieder im Hotel Aventino übernachten!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blue Hill, ME

Quiet neighborhood with easy access to sights.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Hotel Aventino is located in a quiet section of Rome that is both close to, and insulated from the bustling city. On one side there is a main street with many restaurants, and nightlife, and on the other you walk down through an old church yard into a more historic area. There are also two train stops nearby. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast offered was always good. Special shout out to Flavio, who had just started work, and was very accommodating letting me try to speak Italian. The rooms are beautifully decorated, but maybe more for style than for comfort. The same material as the drapes is used for the bed which was not incredibly comfortable. Nice lighting. Antique armoire. Very positive experience overall. Visit the Non-Catholic cemetery where Shelley, and Keats are buried. Walk along the Tiber. Take the train to Bracciano for a day trip. Hope to return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel in der Stadt

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Das Hotel liegt ca 10 min vom Circus massimo entfernt. Es liegt in einem ruhigen Villenviertel auf dem Aventihügel. Die Zimmer sind klein, aber geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt.
5 out of 5
by Antje from Ilsede

Schöne Tage in Rom

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Einfach traumhaft - dieses Hotel ist eine wunderbare Oase in einer lebendigen Stadt. Traumhaft eingerichtet und Bett super bequem. Alle Mitarbeiter waren sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit - es schien jedem einzelnen ein Bedürfnis zu einem unvergesslichen Urlaub beizutragen. 2 Minikritikpunkte sind die Badezimmertür (etwas fummelig, wenn komplett aufgeschoben) und der Fernseher (Position im Zimmer und verfügbare Sender)
5 out of 5
by Lockyer from Berkshire UK

Homely and Friendly Haven

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very welcoming reception staff who helped with every enquiry and table / taxi booking for 3 days. Wide range of breakfast with kind, attentive waiters. Rooms are lovely Italian classical style and hotel is great value.