Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable Hotel at wonderful location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast with good variety including fresh fruits, different types of coffee or tea, fresh pastries and rolls. Outdoor patio wonderful to sit.
Cons: wifi in hotel rooms was weak on certain days, always strong near lobby
Location: Hotel located in walking distance (20 to 30 minutes) to major sights in Rome, 10 minutes walk to metro station
Hotel is old Patrician villa in tranquil Aventine Hill neighborhood with spacious rooms, Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kleines aber ruhig gelegenes Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Der Service! Einen kostenlosen, überdachten Parkplatz angeboten zu bekommen ist echt TOP!
Cons: Die Dusche könnte eine Renovierung vertragen
Location: Auf dem Hügel Aventino, direkt eine Straße nach oben gibt es einen kleinen Park mit toller Aussicht auf Rom. Öffentliche sind etwa 400m entfernt.
Das Hotel liegt auf einem der sieben Hügel von Rom, daher der Name. Es ist etwas versteckt, besitzt 2-3 recht kleine Parkplätze im Hof. Vor dem Hotel auf der Straße gibt es ca. 6 Parkplätze bei denen man von 8-23 Uhr mit Parkscheibe max. 3 Stunden stehen kann. Das Hotel hat mehrere Schwesterhotels. Wir haben einen Parkplatz für fast die gesamte Zeit, kostenlos erhalten, überdacht bei einem der anderen Hotels, ca. 100m Fußweg von diesem. Das war zwar erst auf Anfrage aber sehr zuvorkommend und echt ein guter Platz. Die Zimmer sind, wie überall im Kern Roms, sehr antik ausgestattet. Schick anzusehen, aber halt alt. Trotzdem, eine gute Klimaanlage, die für Abkühlung in der Hitze sorgt ist vorhanden. Der TV ist etwas sehr klein geraten, aber man ist ja auch nicht im Hotel, um TV zu schauen. Das Bad war in Ordnung. Ich dachte erst, dass die Dusche dort mit Massagedüsen ausgestattet ist, allerdings waren diese wohl nicht angeschlossen. Ansonsten alles in Ordnung.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel was more than we expected.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
We had previously visited Rome a couple of weeks prior to our last night stay in Rome at the end of our vacation. This hotel is located in a beautiful ,picturesque and charming area. Everywhere we looked was a picture. The hotel was quiet, and the rooms were beautiful and ornate. The breakfast was lovely. The staff were all helpful and charming as well. If we had had the opportunity we would have stayed a week... Highly recommend this hotel..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Viriginia

Charming B&B

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Included breakfast, aesthetics.
Cons: Jets in tub didn't work, but I didn't put much effort into trying to get them fixed.
Very charming hotel about a ten minute ride to city center, about 20-30 minutes from airport. There are a few places to eat within a five- ten minute walk. (But beware - the walk back is up a steep hill!) Included breakfast was good. (Cereal, yogurt, pastries, boiled eggs, etc...) Room was small but adequate, nicely decorated. We had two twin beds, and though it was small, it seemed a little more roomy than pictures of some other European hotels... Metro stops and bus stops about a five minute walk. Staff was helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be close to everything but not right in the middle of the tourist area. There are metro/bus stops close enough to the hotel if you choose not to arrive by taxi from the airport - but again, be advised it will be a steep five minute walk up to the hotel carrying your bags...We took a taxi and I don't remember the exact cost, but split between two people it amounted to about the same we each would have spent on the transit system, and it was much more convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport South Wales UK

Nice hotel in a good position to explore Rome

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: After a day walking around and visiting the sights of Rome the hotel is in a quite area to relax in. The buffet breakfast had a good choice.
Cons: There was no bar or evening restaurant in the hotel but I expect most people would eat out anyway, but there is a mini bar in the room.
Location: The hotel is in an excellent area to use as a base to explore Rome. Near the bottom of the hill is the Forum and Colosseum.
My wife and I stayed here in early May. The room was clean and the staff very helpful. The hotel is in a nice area of Rome built at the top of the Aventine hill. The hotel is built in an area that seemed to be where well off families built their houses in the 19th century and have now been converted in to hotels or apartments. The furniture of the hotel reflects this but the hotel room was of an average size with a good shower and bathroom area. At the bottom of the hill you can get on city tour buses, there is also a metro station and the over ground tram service so getting around Rome was easy.
4 out of 5
by Gianluca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Satu from Juva

Hotelli Aventino

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotelli Aventino oli mukava, pienehkö, kodikas ja siisti hotelli kukkulalla, lähellä nähtävyyksiä ja kävelymatkan päässä metro- ja linja-autopysäkeistä. Vaati hyvää kuntoa kiivetä hotellille päivän lopuksi, kun ensin oli kävellyt koko päivän nähtävyyksiä katselemassa.. Hyvä aamiainen ja ystävällinen henkilökunta kruunasivat matkan onnistumisen!
5 out of 5
by Pamela from Berkeley, CA

Oasis in the big city

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aventino, set in a quiet residential neighborhood near the Circo Massimo and Forum. We have been to Rome several times, usually staying near the Pantheon or Spanish Steps so this was a nice change. It's a ten minute walk down to a bus or over to a metro station, and about 15-20 minutes to Trastevere. The building is beautifully restored. Our room was large and comfortable (#333?) on the ground floor with a small private patio in front. The staff were quite helpful even arranging a driver to pick us up at the airport. We arrived quite late, 10 pm, starving so we headed down the hill to eat and wandered into a wonderful little restaurant, La Vecchia Lupiae. Probably the best meal we had in Italy! The hotel is a good value; I have only two quibbles 1) while the breakfast was hardy and delicious, the coffee served was terrible, tasting almost like it was made from instant (seems like a no-no in Italy!) and 2) the only pillows available were hard and flat. Still, it's a really nice place and quite an oasis in a big city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bonn

Das Hotel ist eine repräsentative Altstadtvilla!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Wir waren rundum zufrieden!!! Auch nochmal vielen Dank an die Mitarbeiter der Rezeption, die uns jederzeit mit Rat und Tat zur Seite standen!!!
Wir haben uns im Hotel Aventino von der ersten bis zur letzten Stunde sehr wohlgefühlt. Es hat an nichts gefehlt. Die zentrale, ruhige Lage auf dem Hügel Aventin ist (wenn man gut zu Fuß ist) ideal für Ausflüge zu den zahlreichen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Uns haben auch die nahegelegen Parks gut gefallen, von dort aus hat man einen herrlichen Blick über Rom. Wir würden jederzeit wieder im Hotel Aventino übernachten!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blue Hill, ME

Quiet neighborhood with easy access to sights.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Hotel Aventino is located in a quiet section of Rome that is both close to, and insulated from the bustling city. On one side there is a main street with many restaurants, and nightlife, and on the other you walk down through an old church yard into a more historic area. There are also two train stops nearby. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast offered was always good. Special shout out to Flavio, who had just started work, and was very accommodating letting me try to speak Italian. The rooms are beautifully decorated, but maybe more for style than for comfort. The same material as the drapes is used for the bed which was not incredibly comfortable. Nice lighting. Antique armoire. Very positive experience overall. Visit the Non-Catholic cemetery where Shelley, and Keats are buried. Walk along the Tiber. Take the train to Bracciano for a day trip. Hope to return!