Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to train station and metro

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The Hotel California is conveniently located to Termini and also has triple rooms available. The stafff were very friendly and helpful. The only minor downside - there is no secure luggage storage area, your bags are in the lounge while you wait to check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close proximity to Rome centre.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: In the centre of Rome, walking distance to attraction and public transport.
Cons: Provide kettles and tea making facilities in the room.
Location: Walking distance to Rome underground and bus terminal. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Walking distance to attractions.
Stayed for six nights, no complains. Staff were very friendly, rooms are okay, breakfast is standard. Overall experience is good, no kettle in the room, would definitely recommend. Stayed in the family room with kids, had four beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from American

Nice ubication, good price, nice surroundings

Posted May 29, 2016
This is a Hotel with new Rooms, clean, Safety, wakable áreas are great, breakfast included, nice surroundings with comercial and múltiple eating places, near to The train station Roma Termini and The metro stations, highly recomendated, The Price of The rooms its asequible, nice experience in Roma, we will return some day, The fontana di trevi its to 15 minutes walking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Very practical

Posted May 15, 2016
We needed a hotel close to Termini station and hotel California was perfect for our budget and location... the bed was great and the room was clean! The configuration of the bathroom was weird but manageble...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham england

Good hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Good hotel very helpful staff Easy walk to Roman forum colloseum and circus maximus Rome termini station just a short walk where you can pick up train direct to airport and the hop on hop off bus or metro Breakfast selection of pastries cold meats eggs and cereal Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to explore Rome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Wonderful hotel with a great location

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Very large rooms, comfortable beds and close to the train station. We loved the location !!! My mother was ill and the staff was very accommodating.
Cons: Breakfast was good however there were no fruits.
Location: Very close to Roma Termini, coliseum. Great area!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very gracious and the room exceeded our expectations!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Johannesburg, South Africa.

3 Star hotel excellent value for money.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: No criticism whatsoever.
Location: Metro - pickpocketed twice by young children who block entrance to train. Three obstruct, one hits and then exit. All failed - money belt a necessity!
Stayed 5 nights in high season. Staff very helpful. Excellent breakfasts. No other meals served. However restaurant outside served good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night transit !

Posted Jul 16, 2015
It was very convenient and close to many restaurants, touristic sites, and main transportations. I would stay there again, Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Expedia Customers Beware!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Only the location which is excellent
Cons: If they are putting Expedia package customers in the annexe this should be made clear at the time of booking and Expedia themselves should investigate
Location: The location is excellent, very central and within easy walking distance of everywhere you might wish to visit in Rome.
Alarm bells were ringing even before we left the UK as I had emailed this hotel twice to request a room on a high floor away from street noise but they did not even reply, this despite our stay being for 14 nights.. On arrival at reception the first thing I mentioned was my emails and the clerk made no attempt to offer any explanation for not replying to my email, I then asked him for a room on a high floor and was told "the hotel is full", no attempt was made to accommodate my request and I was about to find out why. He couldn't find our booking until his colleague said "Expedia" to him at which point he found it in a separate pile, this was already worrying. Other guests checking in were simply given their electronic key and room number but the clerk said he would take us to the room and that's when it became clear. We were escorted to a dingy "annexe" which was obviously not even part of the real hotel, bits of paper with the alleged room numbers were above all the doors, nothing like the modern rooms on the website. Inside he made no attempt to show us round, probably because he knew of the faults, the in-room safe was locked with no instructions, the bathroom washbasin waterflow was non-existent, the shower head was lying in the bath with nowhere to hook it up therefore we had to hold it every time we showered, cupboard space was minimal so we ended up living out of our cases and as I had feared the street noise from 6am was unbearable. Very disappointing, never again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida USA

Great location.

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: cleaner
Location: real close to Train station and restaurants.
Typical 3 Star Hotel in Italy. Could be cleaner (just not pristine) and more comfortable. Great location breakfast and elevator.