Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location,needs some refurbishment work

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Great location
Hotel is a walking distance from most tourist attractions and many shops. Very close to the central station too. Staff are extremely helpful and polite. Rooms need some refurbishment work , could do with some fresh paint. However , they do give you a feel of a more authentic experience. Loving the old- fashioned lift. Breakfast is quite poor but threre is a great bakery just down the road for some delicious food and great coffee. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The hotel was a great location and the staff was super helpful for tourist information.
Cons: The bed wasn't the comfiest and the shower was extremely small.
Location: Lots of restaurants and gelaterias (for the best gelato you'll ever have) nearby and about a 10-15 minute walk to the train/bus station.
As an American, I honestly was expecting something more similar to a Holiday Inn or something with big comfy beds and fluffy pillows. Although this hotel didn't have those things, it was still a nice place to stay. The room was small, but when in Rome you won't spend much time there anyways. The shower fit me, but my 6'3 fiancé struggled with it. The bed was a nice queen size. There was AC, it just took a little bit to get comfortable, but otherwise kept the room very cool. Breakfast was pretty good, any kind of pastry you can imagine and its all you can eat, and worth the extra money in my opinion. It is an AWESOME location, on a back street so you don't hear a lot of the cars honking or people passing and it's in a nicer area. Walking distance to a ton of shops and restaurants, and Termini station. My fiancé and I actually opted to walk to a lot of our sight-seeing places such as the Trevi fountain and a lot of the piazzas. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, and we were able to buy our sight-seeing tickets from them at a good price. Overall a pleasant place to stay at.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

good location, but not much more

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Location and friendly desk staff. Desk open 24 hrs a day.
Cons: Better quality of breakfast items, not using stale pastries over and over. Keep elevator in service all the time. Better linens and blankets.
Location: Near Termini Station. Walkable to some nice buildings and churches, and very accessible to public transportation. Restaurants in area decent.
The hotel is clean and the staff is really nice. But it is not really what I would call a 3 star hotel in the US... more of a 2 star. The pricing is comparable to US chains like Holiday Inn/Hampton Inn, but the overall quality and appearance is closer to a Red Roof Inn. The location is good; walkable to Termini Station and accessible to public transportation. Unfortunately that is about all that I can praise. Our room was ok but not for the price we paid. The shower was tiny and had terrible water pressure (on the first floor!), with wavering temperature of the water. The sink was a pedestal type with a small shelf--not much room to put things to get ready. The exhaust fan was completely useless, so you would have to leave the door open to prevent steaming up the mirror. The in-room AC was good, fairly efficient. Tiny TV on the wall (12 inch) and a simple table with a plug in water pot--only instant coffee or tea. There is a small fridge, but it is full of pay items. The towels are very thin, but large enough to cover up properly. There are no hand towels or washcloths provided. There was a thin coverlet on the bed, and no actual blanket. The breakfast was pretty terrible. Stale pastries, little variety, overcooked boiled eggs. Our hotel in Prague was half the price and had much better breakfast and amenities. The desk only takes cash for extra city tax on top of paid room fee and for tours. Avoid the tours they recommend. Tiny elevator only in service sometimes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beds , UK

Excellent location , great staff

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly and very helpful staff
Location: Great location. Ten minute walk from the Colosseum and Rome's other major attractions aren't much further
If you're looking for opulence and luxury then the Caravaggio may not be for you but if you're looking for a great hotel in a great location with super friendly staff then this is the place. Quaint with a real Italian feel - you can't beat it for value for money. Would highly recommend and happily return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tbilisi, Georgia

Nice hotel, best price, best location

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Hot water conditions
Location: best location to the city center, to the shopping area
Sometimes in the evenings was not hot water in bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S.I. from Yucatan

Well located within old Rome.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff's attention.
Cons: The bed, the bathroom.
Location: It was close to Via Nazionale, and Via Cavour, so many of the old Rome attractions were within walkable distance. Also the Corso Vittorio Emmanuele by
The hotel staff is excellent, kind, and very attentive to the hosts' needs. However, the room was very small. Though we travelled at the beginning of the spring, the first night it was hot and there was no remote control for the AC. The street was noisy. After that, with AC and windows closed our comfort improved. However, the bathroom was extremely small. Im am large but not very large, and could hardly fit in the shower. I was wondering how would larger people manage to shower there. The bed was old and uncomfortable. Luckily we were so tired every night, that we kind of slept despite the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ineza from Tbilisi

Nice hotel, with the best location

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Breakfast should be improved.
Location: The best location for walking to ancient Rome and for shopping also
Have been at Rome for international symposium and have staid at hotel for 6 nights
3 out of 5
by Sodapop from San Jose, CA

Great location but the rooms are not comfortable.

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was nice and the location was great.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated. The bed is crazy hard and TV should have at least one channel that is in English as well as WiFi in room.
Location: The location was great. It was right in the center of town and allowed for us to walk all over Rome.
The hotel was in a great location, however, the rooms were old the TV had NO English channels, the Wi-Fi was only in the lobby (and very slow at that). The bed was extremely hard like sleeping on a slab of cement. Breakfast was the only real good thing and it was clean. Will not be booking again at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Caravaggio had it all!

Posted Jul 18, 2013
What a wonderful hotel with friendly staff. The location is superb and the price was beyond everything you would want in a large European city. They could improve on their consistency for wake-up calls, so maybe have an alarm on your phone as a backup. The breakfast every morning was delicious, especially the lattes and capuccinos! Looking forward to our return visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from Dublin, Ireland

Fine

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Quiet street, but still close to bars and restaurants. Short walk from the Colosseum. About a 15 minute or so walk from the train station. Breakfast area was cramped. Overall it was fine.