Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Easy walking distance from Vatican. Close to shops

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Over all found hotel very good. Close to Metro station, Vatican, shops and restaurant. Air conditioning broke down and we were moved to another room. Sorted no trouble. Most of staff were friendly and helpful. With the exception of 2 female receptionists!! Seemed to take a dislike to myself and my friend. Locked out of hotel last night in rain until 1 of these receptionists could be bothered to open door. Also found quite rude on checking out. Maybe if I'd been with my husband I may have been treated differently!!! Shame as found everything else very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, walking distance to tourists attractions

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Hotel staff are helpful providing informations on how to get to the tourist attractions. It is close to tourists attractions, churches and walking distance to shopping malls and metro/trains. Food is ok but a variety should be better and housekeeping were not the greatest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good location

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Location near transit, easy walk to shopping, great rates, hotel staff awesome...informative and pleasant, nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Nice place. If you do not mind not having reception over night it is a comfortable hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davenport, Iowa

Wonderfully old world charm!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.
Location: See above
Hotel Casa Valdese is in a great location for shopping and restaurants, including gelato shoppes. Off one of the main streets, it is very quiet and quaint with a superb staff willing to help with anything you need. Breakfasts are incredible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very basic hotel close to metro

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Very basic hotel, bathroom had mould on the wall and a crack in the sink. Had to have the window open all the time, day and night as so hot. Inquired about the rooms air conditioning and was told that it is controlled centrally so could not adjust at room level, even though there is a panel in each room. There's no point having air conditioning if you can't control it yourself. The rest of the hotel was cool but our room was sweltering. Breakfast very basic continental. I wouldn't bother and have breakfast out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Clean and nice hotel.

Posted May 22, 2016
We had a good experience at this hotel. The staff was nice and the room was clean. The hotel is one block from the metro station. Walking distance to the Vatican museums. The breakfast was better than the one with had in other hotels, good variety of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great hotel, reasonable, close to Metro

Posted May 18, 2016
Loved our stay! Staff was friendly and helpful, room served us well and accommodated three people, and service each day was excellent! Only negative was very little counter space in the bath so it's hard to spread out. Also A/C and heat are legislated by Rome laws so we were unable to use either, but weather was nice so an open window was great as there was very little road noise outside. Definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Perfect location

Posted May 12, 2016
Quiet street - walking distance to most of the major attractions (10 mins to Tevere River and Castel D'Angelo, for example). The staff were incredible! They were SO helpful, always kind, and readily available. The stay includes a nice breakfast - nothing fancy, but some good selection, including a variety of coffees and teas. The room was small, but the shower was big and roomy and the bed was very comfortable. I will stay there again when I'm next in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Pleasant hotel close to attractions and amenities

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: As above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: As above. It is centrally located to get to the main attractions in Rome
A comfortable hotel with friendly staff and clean rooms. The hotel is close to metro station and bus services and close to the Vatican and Rome centre. Easy walkIng distance to both areas. The roof garden gave good views around Rome. There was plenty of food for breakfast and the staff were always helpful. I can't fault the hotel on any point and have already recommended it to friends.