Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schöne Aussicht aber laut

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Das Dinner von talentierten Köchen!!!
Cons: Das Frühstücksangebot und die Wegeführung zum See.
Location: Hotel oberhalb des Albanersees, den man aber zu Fuß nicht erreichen kann. Der Weg entlang der vielbefahrenen Straße in den Ort ist lebensgefährlich.
Ein Palazzo hat so seine Nachteile: An 20 von 24 Stunden werden Möbel nervtötend über die Steinfußböden gescharrt. Und als Tierfreund weiss man natürlich auch die Ameisenstraße im Zimmer zu schätzen, aber 120 davon in der verschlossenen Brotdose sind dann doch zu viel. Man sollte sie zur Abschreckung zum Frühstücksbuffet einladen: Zwei Wochen dieselben Kuchen, dieselbe Salamie-Sorte, denselben Billig-Formschinken und ebensolche Scheiben des Industriekäses, den Gesundheitsbewusste bestenfalls im Müll entsorgen. Bei mehrtägigen Aufenthalten ist es ratsam, sich mit eigenen Früchstücksergänzungen auszustatten. Dabei verfügt das Hotel über eine vorzügliche Küche.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Armin from Filderstadt

Just ok.

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
As this was just for overnight stopover, it was ok. As in the name "Castel Vecchio", quite outworn. Not even a free bottle of water on the room. The food in the restaurant was very good.
4 out of 5
by Aija

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Paolo Emilio from Parma

Da rammodernare

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Parti comuni belle ma camere arredate con mobili vecchi e con un senso di decadenza. Se fosse rammodernato arredamento sarebbe perfetto. Purtroppo abbiamo avuto una spiacevole situazione dal momento che invece della camera doppia uso singola prenotata e pagata a una mia compagna di viaggio è stata data una singola
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northeast USA

Exactly what we wanted as our final view of Italy.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the staff, the town, the breakfast, safe parking.
Cons: Perhaps a notice on the web site that advance reservations for dinner are required (at least on Saturday)
Location: Castel Gandolfo is home to the summer residence of the pope. The views of Rome, Fiumicino, and Lake Albano are wonderful
We needed to find a room for our final night of 2 weeks in Italy. We had a rental car so it had to be within an hour drive of FCO airport, have safe parking, yet offer something new. Looking at a relief map of Rome, we noticed an old volcano with a lake in it. Hello Lago Albano. On the south of the lake is Castel Gandolfo, and the Castel Vecchio Hotel. Expedia helped us book a "Room with a View" at an otherwise full hotel. The room overlooked the lake and the towns around it. It was exactly what we wanted. While the hotel does have a dining room, there were no reservations available for Saturday night. The desk staff offered us other options and then made reservations for us at Bucci, (where we enjoyed a wonderful dinner) which was a beautiful 10 minute walk away. We ended the evening on the rooftop pool deck watching the lights of Rome in the distance and the lake shimmering below us. The sunrise over the caldera was magnificent, sun spilling into our room. By checkout time, the lake was busy with a huge crew regatta with maybe 100 or more boats and crews.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
will not come again
3 out of 5
by Arturo from Toledo

A vista de pajaro del palacio papal

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel, que necesita ya un repaso general, está a un paseo de cinco minutos de la residencia de verano de Papa. Tiene aparcamiento gratuito. El desayuno no era muy variado pero aún así no estaba mal. Tiene unas vistas preciosas de lago Albano.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bel posto

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Usato per una sola notte camere confortevoli e comode struttura molto bella ed elegante ci tornerei volentieri
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posizione eccellente, interni da rivedere.

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Posizione bellissima, sul lago di albano, parcheggio riservato, interno, gratuito. Palazzo bello esteriormente. Personale gentile. Colazione con molte torte buone. Camere da dimenticare. Mobilia vecchia e rovinata, poco manutenuta. Bagno improbabile, con bidet a 6 cm. dal wc e quindi inaccessibile. Doccia minuscola, con una tendina e senza neanche uno sportello. Tv con i soli canali Rai, niente mediaset ne sky. Tutto sommato un 3 stelle risicato, sicuramente non 4.