Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Decent well located hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Location - lake views, 15min walk from rail station, 10 min walk from historic Castel Gandalfo centre with its eateries. Breakfast.
Cons: Plumbing - My room's shower only ran hot (rather than lukewarm) and loo only flushed properly after I asked for them to be fixed.
Location: Lake views, country walks and bike trails, historic sights to visit, 40 mins on train into Rome.
Enjoyable and decent value but not quite what I would expect in all aspects from a 4 star hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northeast USA

Exactly what we wanted as our final view of Italy.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the staff, the town, the breakfast, safe parking.
Cons: Perhaps a notice on the web site that advance reservations for dinner are required (at least on Saturday)
Location: Castel Gandolfo is home to the summer residence of the pope. The views of Rome, Fiumicino, and Lake Albano are wonderful
We needed to find a room for our final night of 2 weeks in Italy. We had a rental car so it had to be within an hour drive of FCO airport, have safe parking, yet offer something new. Looking at a relief map of Rome, we noticed an old volcano with a lake in it. Hello Lago Albano. On the south of the lake is Castel Gandolfo, and the Castel Vecchio Hotel. Expedia helped us book a "Room with a View" at an otherwise full hotel. The room overlooked the lake and the towns around it. It was exactly what we wanted. While the hotel does have a dining room, there were no reservations available for Saturday night. The desk staff offered us other options and then made reservations for us at Bucci, (where we enjoyed a wonderful dinner) which was a beautiful 10 minute walk away. We ended the evening on the rooftop pool deck watching the lights of Rome in the distance and the lake shimmering below us. The sunrise over the caldera was magnificent, sun spilling into our room. By checkout time, the lake was busy with a huge crew regatta with maybe 100 or more boats and crews.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orillia ON

Great Lake Views

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The hotel has great views of the lake.
This hotel overlooks Lake Alban near Castel Gandolfo. It is close enough to walk into the town. The staff were good and spoke English. The front desk staff spoke multiple languages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful view - overlook the lake

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Cons: This was the only hotel on our trip where the WiFi was poor -- it worked OK in the lobby and near the central stairs but did not work in the rooms.
We drove in - there was plenty of parking at the hotel. People running the hotel were nice and helpful. We wanted a 4 person room but they were sold out (or don't have one). We had to get doubles - they made sure they were adjacent. Air Con was great. There was a small refrigerator which we could use (very helpful for holding big water bottles). Biggest problem was that the beds were not comfortable -- not sure if this is because we ended up with 4 single beds (and in all other hotels, these kinds of beds would have been for the kids, where we would have had a double-bed). Breakfast (included) was great - they showcased homemade treats -- tarts and cakes, but also had the usual wide variety of breads/cereals/yogurt/meat/cheese - juices along with coffee, cappuchino and espresso. Served in the beautiful dining room overlooking the lake. Restaurant was great as well - we arrived on Sunday afternoon -- most diners seemed to be Italian families enjoying a big multi-generational Sunday gathering. We had dinner later that night as well -- much quieter. The waiter was REALLY nice -- brought us a few extra treats to try out (both lunch and dinner -- none of which appeared on the bill). No sooner sat down to lunch then a glass of Prosecco was poured for all (again - no charge - just sit back and roll with it!) See below - WiFi needs to be fixed. We were flying out the next day (close to both airports) -- but we had trouble downloading movies for the flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M. Calgary, Ab

Lake view, beatifull aera to stay

Posted May 20, 2015
I like the lake side. It's easy to access to high way and airport. Very nice location to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

The view of Lake Albano

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The staff made us feel welcome and always helpful. The scenery was lovely and the hotel had enough character to compliment the setting. Ask for a lake view, it's a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from New Zealand

Lovely location, very romantic

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The setting, the décor, the location, and onsite parking (lots of space)
Cons: room service & restaurant formula
Location: Summer in Rome can be extremely hot... We chose this hotel prior to flying out because located up on the hills and handy to the airports.
We had 3 rooms booked, but one of them did not correspond to what we requested (twin) and the only twin available was at the back of the hotel, overlooking the road. Also, my room was not made on day 2 because the staff only came to do it in the late afternoon (one would expect morning) and walked into the room without knocking... while we were having a siesta !! Finally, I regret that the dinner at the restaurant is menu only (4 course) as we would have preferred something a bit lighter at night. But apart from that, the hotel is beautiful, excellent location, and I would be more than happy to go back anytime.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Over-rated and rude

Posted Jun 14, 2010
The hotel is nothing like the description, it was full of weddings when I arrived, its miles from the lake, the staff were all incredibly rude, they had no information on the local area or sights whatsoever, the so-called relaxation areas are not at all, the pool was filthy... Over-rated!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Forfar

Wonderful views from the rooms across the lake.

Posted Jun 14, 2009
Fairly grand hotel perched on the edge of an extinct volcanic crater with extensive views in all directions. Rooftop pool pretty small and lake probably better bet for a swim
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wien

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Super schöne Aussicht. Sehr nettes, kooperatives Personal. Mussten unseren Hotel leider aufgrund der Lage schon nach der ersten Übernachtung ändern und es ging problemlos. Kein leichter Weg von der Bushaltestelle bis zum Hotel !