Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Decent well located hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Location - lake views, 15min walk from rail station, 10 min walk from historic Castel Gandalfo centre with its eateries. Breakfast.
Cons: Plumbing - My room's shower only ran hot (rather than lukewarm) and loo only flushed properly after I asked for them to be fixed.
Location: Lake views, country walks and bike trails, historic sights to visit, 40 mins on train into Rome.
Enjoyable and decent value but not quite what I would expect in all aspects from a 4 star hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Area and Hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
This Hotel is fantastically located and very professionally run. our Room was a bit small but it did NOT matter.We had views of the Lake and they where heavenly. The staff was very friendly including the Waiter, the food was excellent too. We would love to come back here and stay a week to enjoy this Magnificent Area/Town/Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Views

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Staff exceptionally welcoming, full of information and recommdations for visit. A nice dinner and adequate breakfast. Fabulous views and beautiful building. All very elegant. Internet access not available. Did not complain as not really needed. Room a good size, really comfy bed, bigger shower than usual although bathroom a little cramped.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel but nice view

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a 3 star and not 4 star. The room furniture and toilette are very old. The shower is very small I couldn't barely move. The view is very nice. The breakfast is OK. It is 10 min walk from the city square.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
hotel ideally positioned for exploring the Castelli Romani. only there for one night but suited my needs / requirements more than adequately. Staff were hospitable and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Armin from Filderstadt

Just ok.

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
As this was just for overnight stopover, it was ok. As in the name "Castel Vecchio", quite outworn. Not even a free bottle of water on the room. The food in the restaurant was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northeast USA

Exactly what we wanted as our final view of Italy.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the staff, the town, the breakfast, safe parking.
Cons: Perhaps a notice on the web site that advance reservations for dinner are required (at least on Saturday)
Location: Castel Gandolfo is home to the summer residence of the pope. The views of Rome, Fiumicino, and Lake Albano are wonderful
We needed to find a room for our final night of 2 weeks in Italy. We had a rental car so it had to be within an hour drive of FCO airport, have safe parking, yet offer something new. Looking at a relief map of Rome, we noticed an old volcano with a lake in it. Hello Lago Albano. On the south of the lake is Castel Gandolfo, and the Castel Vecchio Hotel. Expedia helped us book a "Room with a View" at an otherwise full hotel. The room overlooked the lake and the towns around it. It was exactly what we wanted. While the hotel does have a dining room, there were no reservations available for Saturday night. The desk staff offered us other options and then made reservations for us at Bucci, (where we enjoyed a wonderful dinner) which was a beautiful 10 minute walk away. We ended the evening on the rooftop pool deck watching the lights of Rome in the distance and the lake shimmering below us. The sunrise over the caldera was magnificent, sun spilling into our room. By checkout time, the lake was busy with a huge crew regatta with maybe 100 or more boats and crews.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
will not come again