Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast
Location: Mostly everything is around at walking distance
Great location. We didn't have to take any means of transportation to visit the places we originally had in mind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very Nice hotel, nice lobby , room very spacious , bed confortable and close from principales attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Very Pleasant Stay

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Good location, fair price, cleanliness, pleasant breakfast and an excellent, accommodating staff.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of without raising the price.
Location: Since the hotel is located near the bridge over the Tiber, all of Rome is available to the visitor.
As we had stayed at the Cicerone many times, we knew exactly what we were getting. We had an acceptable room with a nice breakfast and very pleasant, helpful staff. It was located in an area that we liked and everything went well. We will stay there again on our next trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good at following through on room details

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Made a special point of stopping at the front desk 2 weeks before our checkin for a group stay to be sure they knew we were arriving 1 day before the group and staying 1 day after the group, so we had the same room for the entire stay. I was told of course it would be no problem. Upon arriving for our 1st night, we were told we would have to change rooms for the remainder of our stay. I explained how I personally stopped to ensure this wouldn't happen. I was told it could be arranged, but our room would not be near the rest of our group. I said that was not acceptable. 45 minutes later, I was given a room near our group for the entire stay. The desk agent was not happy or pleassant about having to rearrange rooms. The room we ended up with was horrible! It was right next to the elevator with people coming and going at all hours. It was right along the street, which was loud ALL NIGHT LONG.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray beach, Fl.

Walking distance to everything

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Tht hotel was super. I could not ask for anything more. I have stayed in other hotels in the older part of the city but, I had found them to be too small. Hotel cicerone was great. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean. The assortment of food for the breakfast that was included was moere than you can ask for. I can't wait to go back. Back to cicerone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Black Mold / Not a 4-star Property

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Review from a well-travelled individual... Not a 4-star property. The hotel initially provided a lower level room with worn carpet, nicked walls, rusty faucet, dated bathroom, and BLACK MOLD noticeably coming out of the HVAC vent. Immediately returned to the front desk and provided photos of the room condition. The front desk was apologetic and did assign another room. The new room was slightly better, but again still very dated and not representative of a 4-star property as advertised. There are better properties for less cost within the immediate area! There is no excuse for placing someone in a room with mold. This hotel was chosen solely based on meeting friends who had also booked this hotel. Cannot recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't take smart room

Posted Sep 14, 2016
We ordered 1 double and got twin and they refused to give us what we ordered. The air conditioning was broken for 2 days. mediocre small room. breakfast is not diverse and boring.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great!

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms should be refurbished.
Location: The Vatican was just about a 15 minute easy walk.
Through a recommendation, we reserved a room through CheapTickets. The price was right and my husband and I were eager to visit Rome. When we arrived the receptionist made it clear that we reserved a cheap room. That was uncalled for! He gave us a room on the first floor, near the street so that the noise was very loud. My biggest complaint would be the bathroom. The bathroom was horrible. Faucets leaked. Shower was in the tub but no shower curtain, only a half panel across the tub. Every time we showered the entire floor was wet. Very slippery. We didn't complain because we were only staying three nights. On the plus side, we did have good wi-fI and the breakfast was good. This is NOT a four star hotel but if you can get a good deal it's acceptable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location but functional experience

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Ebookers
Hotel is in a great central location for exploring Rome. Service is functional but not friendly. Rooms and overall hotel looks tired and out dated- needs a refurb. Would stay there again due to location if suited my budget and cost rated well against other 3 star level hotels. This is not a 4 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

Great hotel in the center

Posted Aug 24, 2016
This is a great hotel near the Vitican and the Spanish steps. The hotel staff was excellent, breakfast was great and the bar in the early evening was just as good. The bartender makes an excellent Sangria.