Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good at following through on room details

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Made a special point of stopping at the front desk 2 weeks before our checkin for a group stay to be sure they knew we were arriving 1 day before the group and staying 1 day after the group, so we had the same room for the entire stay. I was told of course it would be no problem. Upon arriving for our 1st night, we were told we would have to change rooms for the remainder of our stay. I explained how I personally stopped to ensure this wouldn't happen. I was told it could be arranged, but our room would not be near the rest of our group. I said that was not acceptable. 45 minutes later, I was given a room near our group for the entire stay. The desk agent was not happy or pleassant about having to rearrange rooms. The room we ended up with was horrible! It was right next to the elevator with people coming and going at all hours. It was right along the street, which was loud ALL NIGHT LONG.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray beach, Fl.

Walking distance to everything

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Tht hotel was super. I could not ask for anything more. I have stayed in other hotels in the older part of the city but, I had found them to be too small. Hotel cicerone was great. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean. The assortment of food for the breakfast that was included was moere than you can ask for. I can't wait to go back. Back to cicerone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Black Mold / Not a 4-star Property

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Review from a well-travelled individual... Not a 4-star property. The hotel initially provided a lower level room with worn carpet, nicked walls, rusty faucet, dated bathroom, and BLACK MOLD noticeably coming out of the HVAC vent. Immediately returned to the front desk and provided photos of the room condition. The front desk was apologetic and did assign another room. The new room was slightly better, but again still very dated and not representative of a 4-star property as advertised. There are better properties for less cost within the immediate area! There is no excuse for placing someone in a room with mold. This hotel was chosen solely based on meeting friends who had also booked this hotel. Cannot recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't take smart room

Posted Sep 14, 2016
We ordered 1 double and got twin and they refused to give us what we ordered. The air conditioning was broken for 2 days. mediocre small room. breakfast is not diverse and boring.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great!

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms should be refurbished.
Location: The Vatican was just about a 15 minute easy walk.
Through a recommendation, we reserved a room through CheapTickets. The price was right and my husband and I were eager to visit Rome. When we arrived the receptionist made it clear that we reserved a cheap room. That was uncalled for! He gave us a room on the first floor, near the street so that the noise was very loud. My biggest complaint would be the bathroom. The bathroom was horrible. Faucets leaked. Shower was in the tub but no shower curtain, only a half panel across the tub. Every time we showered the entire floor was wet. Very slippery. We didn't complain because we were only staying three nights. On the plus side, we did have good wi-fI and the breakfast was good. This is NOT a four star hotel but if you can get a good deal it's acceptable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location but functional experience

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Ebookers
Hotel is in a great central location for exploring Rome. Service is functional but not friendly. Rooms and overall hotel looks tired and out dated- needs a refurb. Would stay there again due to location if suited my budget and cost rated well against other 3 star level hotels. This is not a 4 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

Great hotel in the center

Posted Aug 24, 2016
This is a great hotel near the Vitican and the Spanish steps. The hotel staff was excellent, breakfast was great and the bar in the early evening was just as good. The bartender makes an excellent Sangria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to all amenities.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Hotel was clean and well kept and ideally located for all attractions all within walking distance or a short hop on the Metro. Reception staff. Older female staff not so friendly (one in particular) appeared to bewildered, confused and forgetful. Guys (Male's) on reception super friendly professional and polite with impeccable English spoken. Breakfast. Average euro trash cold eggs and bacon most days but bearable. On average I would give this place 7 out of 10 for effort 10 out of 10 for location.
4 out of 5
by Sandy from MICHIGAN

Clean, centrally located,simple check in/out

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
The free breakfast was pretty much the same food everyday. It was better than most American type of continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
by susan

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Overall an excellent place to stay. Bit of mold in bathroom shower, would be good if they had a fan installed in bathroom.