Ratings based on 2,396 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Great value for money. Good location and friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Good hotel for a three star. Disappointed there was no iron available. A nice plus would be if a kettle was provided. Breakfast staff were lovely, however more hot food for breakfast would have been nice. Overall I thought it was nice .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Felixstowe

Authentic Italian Hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
My partner and I have been staying in Hotel Colosseum for the last three years. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. All of the staff are friendly and welcoming. They are always there to help whenever you need them. The rooms are perfect size with a comfy bed, wonderful warm shower, toilet and lots of storage space. Some rooms come with a balcony, which we have been lucky enough to have the last two years. There is a beautiful rooftop terrace, where you can get access to a panoramic view of Rome, including the Colosseum. During the Spring and Summer months the hotel offers a delightful cocktail bar, pineapple daiquiri is always our favourite. The hotel serves a delicious breakfast buffet every morning from 7:30am - 9:30am. There is something to suit all tastes, from cereal to meats, cheeses, eggs and toast. There are also a section of pastries, fruits and yogurts. Lastly, the hotel is situated right on the outskirts of town, where you can have access to lots of supermarkets and souvenir shops, as well as lots of restaurants and cafes. And of course, the hotel is just a five minute walk from the incredible Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palantino. In my opinion this is one of the best hotels in Rome and we will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great location, nice rooms

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Colosseum, Santa Maria Maggiore
We loved staying at the Hotel Colosseum! From the minute we walked in, the staff were friendly and helpful! The room was excellent and had a great view! The location was perfect, an easy walk to the Colosseum and other sites. The rooftop had amazing views too. And breakfast in the morning was a great perk, it saved us a lot of time. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to Colosseum

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Very good basic hotel, good location for ancient sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, very close to everything

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel was close enough to the colosseum which allowed us to walk to other great places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: To be honest I found it to be more than adequate - If I had to pick one small fault - the bed wasn't the most comfortable (and that's really a push)
Location: It is a 5 min walk to the Colosseum itself, Palantine Hill is nearby - and you can essentially walk the entire way to Vatican City (approx 30 mins)
From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome (thank you Diego!). The hotel has some real charm, friendly service - and clean! Breakfast was more than adequate (and free), with a typical continental spread laid out. The hotel also comes with an 8th floor roof terrace which has an amazing 360 degree view of Rome itself (well worth the money in itself).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off the beaten path but very quiet and nice

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Staff was great and helpful
Very nice hotel with a pleasant stay and nice facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and location.
Cons: The wifi signal is not particularly strong and the safe in the room is very small.
Location: The location is great, within walking distance of all the major sights and attractions, as well as Via Urbana which has many great restaurants.
We recently booked two rooms for a three night stay at the Hotel Coliseum on the strength of their positive reviews and competitive prices. We were all pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel and the facilities considering the price and three star classification. The rooms are simple but comfy, if you’re happy to forgo some of the usual amenities such as mini bar, kettle, iron, etc then you will be perfectly satisfied. The bathroom was also clean and modern. The complimentary breakfast is modest but completely satisfactory, including; toast, boiled eggs, yogurts, pastries and cereal. The staff were attentive and helpful at all times, especially when it came to booking taxis to the airport and Stadio Olimpico. I would recommend going up to the top floor roof terrace to check out the view and get a few photos. Overall we were all very happy to stay at Hotel Coliseum and would recommend it for other tourists looking for a well situated mid-rage hotel in central Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Within walking distance of the Termini and very reasonably priced, this hotel was a very good choice in Rome. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast good. My room was clean and comfortable. In nice weather the rooftop terrace would be a wonderful place to relax after a busy day, the weather was quite cold on my one night's stay so my time up there was limited.