Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fulton, NY

Cozy Hotel with easy walk to train station.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The roof top terrace!
Location: This hotel was about a 3 1/2 minute walk to the train station and a very easy walk to the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain and other historical sites.
The room was fine and loved the roof-top terrace for breakfast. Weather was cool when we visited, so didn't sit up there in the evening, but would have loved to star-gaze up there. Verena, the front desk clerk who had a great command of English, was wonderful! She was pleasant, helpful and extremely patient with us and all of our questions about how to get places, where to visit, eat, etc... We really appreciated being able to store our luggage there after we checked out, so that we were able to wander during the day as we had a late train out of the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxford

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great location, very friendly & helpful staff esp Anka & Verona! Kickass shower. BUT room extremely basic - uncomfortable beds, thin pillows, no heating & it was very cold but only a thin extra blanket. No tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was the big disappointment- in a city famed for its excellent food, what was served was watered down cheap OJ, processed cheese, ham & salami, watery thin yogurts, bread that tasted hard & stale, canned fruit salad. Only saving grace was that the coffee was good. This place has gone down hill badly & we won't be going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Ugly outside, nice inside

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The first bad impression changed some minutes later: my room was big ánd clean, bed was confortable, shower was delicious. Cons: no fress fruit on breakfast, some noise in street during the night, not só close to Rome highlights (but close toTerrmine Station and Republica Metro)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great staff made us very comfortable!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: The hotel is within a short walk from Roma Termini the main train station in Rome and also a cross point for Metro lines.
From our arrival to our departure, the staff made us feel at home. They made it clear that they were there to assist us in any way possible and we really enjoyed our stay. If we go back to Rome, this will be our hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

excellent value, central location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steppes, Coliseum, etc
room was comfortable, and quiet. Appreciated the upgrade. Breakfast was excellent every day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not as good as in the reviews

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The very good: the persons in the lobby very very kind we appreciated this. The bad: very old rooms, bed uncomfortable, the cleaniness of the bathroom and the room was not good. Our room was 208 do not accept it!!! Air conditioning not functioning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Wonderful and helpful staff! They went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable and loved our stay. We will definitely come back next time we are in Rome!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb Staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
All the staff at hotel columbia were helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Convenient Hotel Near Train Station

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: We only stayed one night at this very nice hotel, en route to other destinations. It is very conveniently located to the railway station and to buses, yet the street itself was quiet during the night. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the room very clean. We enjoyed a good breakfast on the terrace - ample food and good service.
Cons: Really no complaints or suggestions for improvement.
Location: As noted above, the location is excellent for anyone traveling to or from the airport or by rail. We found several good restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok but overpriced

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
it was ok but room was way too small. clean, ok place, nice stuff but not worth $150 per night