Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Location is excellent. Facilities need updating,

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Location is excellent--especially for those who attend Vatican events. Facilities are worn out and need significant updating, Staff was friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Rundown and overpriced

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location, size of room
Cons: Almost everything else
Location: Vatican and tourist shops
While this hotel was in an excellent location near the Vatican, it's very rundown and needs updating. Our room was at the end of two long hallways at the end by the stairs. I was glad of that since it meant close emergency access. There was no way to lock the room from the inside. There was a pretty courtyard outside our window however. Bathroom was large and adequate. Bed was very hard and coverlet had seen better days. The worst thing was that, at 9 am while we were getting dressed to check out, a loud insistent pounding came at our door. I do mean loud. We were 2 single women staying alone and there was no way I was opening the door. I politely said "buongiorno?" All I got was a loud muttering in Italian and a distinct "dirty Americanos" and stomping away. What the heck? The manager at the front desk said it was probably the mini-bar guy. What? Wouldn't he say mini-bar or buongiorno or something? We also heard speaking going on almost all night. I assume it was coming from the Vatican or the courtyard, we couldn't tell. Creepy. Walls like paper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 5, 2016
This hotel is within easy walking distance of the Vatican. There are many excellent restaurants and cafes nearby. On the downside, you are constantly accosted by hawkers touting "Skip the Line" and "Hop-on-hop-off Bus Tour" tickets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton

Never book this hotel,they are so unprofessional

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: If they would ve honored our booking made 6 months ago,and totally paid
Location: Its not worth
The worse. N/a because they cancelled our booking made and paid 6 months ago I will not recomend this hotel to anybody.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almost touching the Vatican

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Space-there's no feeling of being cramped either in the room or in the hotel itself.The staff are brilliant,that is all the staff- a refreshing change
Cons: Showers could be updated- a little temperamental but the staff soon got it sorted
Location: It's Rome! Too much to fit into this space. Ancient Rome, Vatican, Museums, Trips,Mad driving (really mad)get a good guide book and enjoy
The hotel was within very easy distance of the Vatican and it's museums. We were within walking distance of public transport. The staff at the hotel were pleasant friendly and informative, never making you feel like a nuisance, they were all brilliant. The room was spacious and well appointed with a lovely view of a nearby church. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels changed each day. There is a small bar/room next to the hotel and the noise levels from this were a little intrusive but not overly and it finished at a reasonable time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a central base within Rome, we will certainly use it again (next year).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Nice hotel steps away from St. Peter's Bascilla

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Wonderful old century charm, steps from the Vatican and parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middlesex

Staff very polite in very historic hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Very convenient to all historical sites very serene atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, CA

Look elsewhere

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The hotel has a friendly staff and is a very historic building at the footsteps of Vatican City, but that's where it's benefits end. The rooms and bathrooms are completely outdated, air conditioning works only when it wants to. We stayed there for 3 days, had no hot water for 2 of the day, and the toilet was broken in our room. Felt more like a 2 star note than a 4 star one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Close to Vatican

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, Location
Cons: Decor, it is out dated and needs repainting and tidying up.
Location: The placement of the hotel is great, if you are prepared to walk you can get to all the sights on the map which you are given at the hotel, we were on
The hotel is a little old and needs some doing up, but it was kept clean by the cleaners (daily). The room was very basic but comfortable, We did have the continental breakfast which I would recommend because there was not very many places on that side of the river you could eat unless you find your way around the back of the Vatican, where the maps don't go where there is a run of shops and some fast food restaurants. The pizza/Italian places we ate at were all over the bridge down the side streets. The placement of the hotel is great, if you are prepared to walk you can get to all the sights on the map which you are given at the hotel, we were only there for three days and did all the sights in two day walking, we went inside the Vatican, Collusseum, Castel sant Angelo and Pantheon and also spent a bit of time at the Trevi Fountain, as well as all the other sights. The rooms were very basic but comfortable and in need of re painting and tidying up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location just steps from the Vatican.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Vatican City.
This was a great hotel for our 1 night stay. Could have easily spent another few nights here. We were travelling with 2 adults and 2 children 14 & 12. We had an "apartment" suite, which was great, separate bedrooms! It was very hot outside, 40*C, and they did have portable air conditioners in each room. Definitely a help, although they were struggling to maintain a cooler temperature. Overall, happy with this hotel.