Ratings based on 1,187 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Weekend Break in Rome

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Not a chain and unique to Rome. Fascinating historical building. Very straightforward with pleasant and helpful staff with a sense of humour.
Cons: If you are looking for luxury and glamour this isn't for you.
Location: A stones throw from the Vatican and short walk from Castel St Angelo
The hotel was recommended to us by a friend. The location is great for the Vatican and well placed for buses to most of the attractions not within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location but Poor Room Quality

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location almost next door to Vatican and historic building with very grand dining room. However bedroom was very tired, inadequate heating and toilets that wouldn't flush properly. Furniture in rooms very tired (and I don't mean antique!) Disappointing other than location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Location is excellent. Facilities need updating,

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Location is excellent--especially for those who attend Vatican events. Facilities are worn out and need significant updating, Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

super convenient hotel and very safe

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
very friendly staff, very kind, great stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Rundown and overpriced

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location, size of room
Cons: Almost everything else
Location: Vatican and tourist shops
While this hotel was in an excellent location near the Vatican, it's very rundown and needs updating. Our room was at the end of two long hallways at the end by the stairs. I was glad of that since it meant close emergency access. There was no way to lock the room from the inside. There was a pretty courtyard outside our window however. Bathroom was large and adequate. Bed was very hard and coverlet had seen better days. The worst thing was that, at 9 am while we were getting dressed to check out, a loud insistent pounding came at our door. I do mean loud. We were 2 single women staying alone and there was no way I was opening the door. I politely said "buongiorno?" All I got was a loud muttering in Italian and a distinct "dirty Americanos" and stomping away. What the heck? The manager at the front desk said it was probably the mini-bar guy. What? Wouldn't he say mini-bar or buongiorno or something? We also heard speaking going on almost all night. I assume it was coming from the Vatican or the courtyard, we couldn't tell. Creepy. Walls like paper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 5, 2016
This hotel is within easy walking distance of the Vatican. There are many excellent restaurants and cafes nearby. On the downside, you are constantly accosted by hawkers touting "Skip the Line" and "Hop-on-hop-off Bus Tour" tickets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton

Never book this hotel,they are so unprofessional

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: If they would ve honored our booking made 6 months ago,and totally paid
Location: Its not worth
The worse. N/a because they cancelled our booking made and paid 6 months ago I will not recomend this hotel to anybody.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almost touching the Vatican

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Space-there's no feeling of being cramped either in the room or in the hotel itself.The staff are brilliant,that is all the staff- a refreshing change
Cons: Showers could be updated- a little temperamental but the staff soon got it sorted
Location: It's Rome! Too much to fit into this space. Ancient Rome, Vatican, Museums, Trips,Mad driving (really mad)get a good guide book and enjoy
The hotel was within very easy distance of the Vatican and it's museums. We were within walking distance of public transport. The staff at the hotel were pleasant friendly and informative, never making you feel like a nuisance, they were all brilliant. The room was spacious and well appointed with a lovely view of a nearby church. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels changed each day. There is a small bar/room next to the hotel and the noise levels from this were a little intrusive but not overly and it finished at a reasonable time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a central base within Rome, we will certainly use it again (next year).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Nice hotel steps away from St. Peter's Bascilla

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Wonderful old century charm, steps from the Vatican and parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middlesex

Staff very polite in very historic hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Very convenient to all historical sites very serene atmosphere.