Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Do not stay here! Staff is rude, rooms are dark and filthy. Mold growing on the ceiling. My wife and I were very very sick fot three days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent location!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
We really couldn't ask for a better location! About two blocks from Roma Termini (when leaving the train platform area, head to the left and exit out that side - much more direct than how we initially went). You can walk to so many landmarks including Colleseum, Forum and more. Room was clean. Staff were friendly. But it seems petty for the Wi-Fi to be restricted to ONE single device. They want you to pay if more people want to use Wi-Fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel with a great location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness of room, bathroom and public spaces.
Cons: If there is an outdoor terrace as advertised, it should be open to customers.
Location: Very close to public transportation, Diocletian Baths, the Palazzo Massimo national museum, the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and some great food
I have stayed at other hotels in this area and was especially pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas. The only thing that disappointed me was that, although the hotel's site and other sites claimed there was an outdoor terrace (their site still states: The Contilia hotel, recently renovated, has an elegant breakfast room with external terrace.), I was told at the desk that no such terrace exists. At previous hotels, I've particularly enjoyed sitting in an outdoor space and really missed being able to do so on this trip. The lack of an outdoor space would be the only reason I wouldn't revisit the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Clean room and near train station with English speaking courteous staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lone Rock, Wisconsin

Close to train station and walkable to coliseum

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast
Location: Coliseum and forum, museums
Small room but otherwise just fine and great location if you are using the train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Good location for sightseeing as close to all transport links. Comfortable bed small but adequate room and ensuite. Good continental breakfast could do better coffee. Overall a very fair price for the amenities and location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great little hotel close to main train station

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: See above
I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Contilia. It's really well located, just two blocks from Roma Termini (train station). There were plenty of places to eat and shop nearby. You can also pick up the Hop-on Hop-off buses about one block away. The breakfast was really lovely, the staff were very helpful, and my room was clean and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice and close to the termini

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Been to this hotel on a number of occasions and find it serves a purpose for me. A good price for what you get! I'm happy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Hotel close to the station. Served our purposes w

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: I liked the atmosphere and the courtyard outside. I also enjoy the amount of space in the living room as well as the free breakfast.
Cons: Fix the Wifi Fix the bed the was slowly leaning to the side
Location: We mostly used the location to rest for our next part of the trip
No issues with the staff. But having to get individual Wi-Fi for each guest was very annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Good quality hotel close to station

Posted Feb 26, 2017
This was a nice hotel overall. Large breakfast offerings, very close to the station and easy walk to the main sights in Rome.