Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Great service, clean beautiful big rooms! Wonderful location in the heart of Rome with killer gelato not too far! Bell men and front desk clerks were very accomodating with tour and restaurant recommendations as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napoli

Christmas in Roma

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: A very clean and neat establishment, and the staff certainly took pride in their hotel.
Cons: WiFi was sketchy at times. This was further compounded in that cellular data was extremely weak to non-existent throughout most of the hotel.
Location: If you are not afraid to walk (and that is really the only way to see Roma), there is plenty to experience.
My wife and I spent our Christmas vacation in Roma near Vatican City. The hotel was about a 15-20 minute walk away from the Vatican, but there was plenty to see along the way. We were presented with complimentary prosecco and fruit basket, and on Christmas day a small present of Christmas cake and chocolate. This may have been because we were Expedia Gold members and this is a VIP hotel, but the touches were extremely nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location was great, nothing too much trouble.
Cons: Drinks from the bar are pricey!
Location: Near to the Vatican, Castel Sant Angelo, Trevi fountain and Pantheon
A really nice hotel with a perfect central location, meaning that we could walk virtually everywhere. Very clean and all the staff were really helpful, they all spoke good English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

What more to say. Excellent hotel and staff.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Breakfast was fine. Most accommodating. Staff could not do enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Room upgrade on arrival without having to ask for it.
Cons: Smokers making noise in the courtyard late at night can keep you awake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Near to the hotel was roman history iitself the Vatican City was a short pleasant walk along the Tibor river. cross the bridges to back and forth.
The Dei Mellini hotel was excellent the staff were superb very welcoming , polite, efficient, informative nothing was too much trouble all staff were of a high standard and we think them for making our stay very special .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
The Hotel Dei Mellini is perfectly located for reaching all parts of Rome. We had a fantastic room that was an upgrade from the one we had booked, free of charge, and one of only two front rooms with a balcony. The staff were amazing from the second we walked in to the moment we left. There were no faults. I would stay here again in a heartbeat when back in Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southeastern Pennsylvania

Good hotel, good location, good staff!!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The Vatican is within walking distance. Numerous restaurants and a shopping district nearby.
The staff was exemplary, providing information and services that made you feel at home. The room was fine, clean and had enough space for our stay there, not sure an Expedia + VIP upgrade was available. They have a great bar that serves the Terrace up on top and it's great to hangout at the end of the day there. The location is pretty close to a lot of good restaurants and a huge shopping district that starts about a block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Small hotel in quiet location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Hotel is about 20 minute walk from Vatican city and is about 15 minutes to Spanish Steps/Trevi Fountain. Best to get Metro for the Coliseum.
The Dei Mellini Hotel is located near the River Tiber on the Vatican city side. The hotel is small and has a breakfast room rather than a restaurant. The breakfast was adequate although I didn't particularly like the cooked breakfast - scrambled egg (not really cooked enough for me) , some sort of sausage and very undercooked bacon. But there was enough choice for a continental breakfast each day. Our room overlooked the street but was very quiet, due to the fact we were not in the main tourist area. There are a number of restaurants of differing quality and price around the hotel so there is no problem finding somewhere to eat in the evening. There is a roof terrace which we went sat in the sun for a couple of hours on our last day - again very quiet and considering it was October - very warm. Staff in the breakfast room were very polite and efficient. And one of the ladies on reception was very helpful in checking our taxi booking was reserved for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfectly centrally positioned for all the sights

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: the cooked breakfast the bacon was very pale looking so I did avoid it
Location: everything is in walking distance if your fit enough
the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful they upgraded us to a suite without us having to ask and they had tea and coffee facilities in the room which was great. The reception team were lovely especially Pamela - she helped us by marking out the map the routes to take on the free map that they provide us with and everything was in walking distance - Anna who is on the bar was lovely - would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and if your fit enough to get around on foot you can get anywhere in the city.