Ratings based on 1,089 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Convenient to Rome Termini and Metro

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Good location; good security; quiet neighbourhood; close to transit; decent nearby cafes, pizza shops and restaurants.
Cons: Would be nice to have tea-making facilities in the room.
Location: With easy access to Termini (with Leonardo Express to and from FCO airport), the Metro and many bus lines, this hotel is conveniently located.
This comfortable hotel is far enough from the busyness of Termini to be relatively quiet but close enough to walk there in a few minutes. Although our first night was in the annex, the hotel staff made it easy to move into the main building for the remainder of our stay. There is a Metro stop about 2 blocks away and Termini is about 5 blocks. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with baked goods, juices, coffee, tea, meats, cheeses, eggs, sausages and bacon, and a bit of fresh fruit. There is also a good grocery store about a block away for purchasing snacks, wine, drinks, etc. to put in the in-room fridge. Was very pleased with the hotel and responsiveness of staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to terminal

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Clean, beautiful!!!! Comfortable, very kind staff. Easy to find
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portishead. Bridtol

Good hotel and location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
My wife and myself enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was as you see on the Web. Plenty big enough for somewhere to stay for a few days whilst visiting a busy city. Close to metro and trains buses ect. The only downside was the bed was a bit hard but the hotel is clean and the breakfast is nice and has plenty to choose from for a continental. Overall a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bicester, Oxford

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff, The breakfast, The location, The Room, The maid Service, Everything.
Cons: Maybe offer a Dinner option for the evenings but even so there was plenty of places to eat
Location: A bar opposite which closed at 4-5pm but was nice for lunch, lots of restaurants, Termini station, Everything was walkable apart from the Vatican City
We arrived at the hotel slightly early before check in time but that was no problem, greeted by a lovely member of staff who explained everything to us and made sure we had no other questions. We went to our room and was shocked by how nice and clean and airy the room was as apprehensive from reading a few other reviews. throughout the stay the bed was made everyday and sheets changed and fresh new towels every day which was really good. the breakfast we had was rather nice with a selection of fruit, meat, cakes, bread, cereal, yoghurt, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit juices. the dining area was rather small but we never had to wait for a table. the hotel location was better than we expected as it was off a main road down a quiet road. you always heard the ambulance and police sirens but you would hear that anywhere in Rome as anywhere you was in Rome, even the top of palatine Hill you could still hear them. There was really nice restaurants very close to the hotel, particularly the bramble restaurant which was 2 minutes away and served cocktails and lots of fresh lovely food. checking out of the hotel was a very easy process and a check out time of 10:30am which is pretty reasonable and standard for hotels. overall a very lovely experience and would definitely stay there again when visiting Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scozia, Regno Unito

Un albergo molto simpatico

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Its location; its quietness; the courtesy of its staff.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Castro Pretorio is itself of historic interest (as the name indicates). There are impressive remains of the Aurelian Walls.
My second stay at the Hotel des Artistes was fully as enjoyable as the first. One encounters great courtesy and efficiency from every member of the staff. The hotel is located in the delightful district of Castro Pretorio (il diciottesimo Rione di Roma): very convenient for getting to the EUR stations (Magliana, Palasport, Fermi) or for tranferring to the "A" Metro Line in order to reach the Via Appia Antica from Colli Albani.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel perfect location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
hotel was on a quiet street approx. ten minutes from main train and bus station, bar , supermarket and restaurants nearby helpful staff full of knowledge for the city, nothing to much trouble for them, clean hotel, breakfast buffet not to bad, clean room and bathroom, clean linen daily
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fouled by the photos!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Got to the hotel and it was nothing like what we saw in the pictures. Building work was happening that we weren't even made aware of on arrival. Room was dingy and small, it's more of a hostel than a hotel. Staff were friendly and helped us call a taxi to a new hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, England

3 nights with the Artists

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Clean. The water pressure was good in the shower.
Cons: Cleaner needs to put a safety-sign out saying - 'caution slippery floor'. The kettle problem mentioned in our experience.
Location: Being a few minutes walk from Roma Termini meant you were connected to everywhere but we didn't find anything exactly on our doorstep.
We stayed 3 nights. It was really all very good with only one or two issues. Everything was clean and service was considerate. The room had some interesting portraits on the wall done by the Artists I guess. The stairs are mostly marble - so they look good but are slippery when wet. This can be dangerous - especially if you walk out at 7am just after they have been washed. There was no kettle in the room so we had to go to a common area to fetch coffee or tea - this was in a separate building - so that was quite inconvenient. The location was fine. We found the 492 bus got us to where we wanted to go. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Termini. I would definitely use it again (but bring a small kettle or book a room in the main building). Breakfast was more than good enough for the price after we figured out how it worked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't believe the pictures

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Dreadful would not recommend to anyone
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels