Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

Central and comfortable hotel.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Cons: Rooms could do with a little updating
The hotel was in good location, you can walk to all the main sightseeing areas. Great for families we had 5 in a room, which was very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Perfect hotel for walking and sightseeing.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Everything really. Breakfast, staff, cleanliness, location. You'll like it.
Cons: Update rooms.
Location: Great! At one end of the main street next to the hotel was Diocletian Baths & Rome's train station; at the other end was the Colosseum and Forum.
Great location. Staff was incredibly helpful with tours and general information about Rome and they spoke good English. The hotel itself; although the rooms were somewhat dated; was pretty and quite. Very good breakfast spreads. Do take the day tour to Pompeii you can book through the front desk. You can walk to the train station; ancient roman forum and Colosseum areas; and the Spanish Steps are nearby. High end shopping at the Spanish steps area. The Vatican is a further walk but if you are in good shape it's no problem; otherwise, take a cab. Also, no on ever tried to pick pocket me. lol You'll love Rome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by DanielaB, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. We hope we can welcome You again at our hotel and by then wish you all the best. Daniela B. / Front office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Good size room for family of 5. Good location for sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Very Happy with our stay at Hotel Domus Romana.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Nice location, nice hotel, nice breakfast
Cons: Upon check out, at 6:30AM, had trouble with the internet, and couldn't use credit card. They couldn't except US dollars, fortunately they had GPS,
Location: Subway, taxi, shopping, Museum, Roman Baths, train station, Trevi fountain
Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. We arrived in the morning, so they took care of our luggage and gave us a map and directions, to get us to our destination. Hotel room was for 5 and was very spacious, it had a living area with daybed/couches, dining area, kitchen, master bedroom with large double bed, and a clean bright bathroom. The hotel was near National Blvd, which had nice shopping. The hotel was relatively- centrally located, there was a taxi stand very close and handy grocery across the street. The breakfast, was very hardy and handy, eggs, bacon, croissants/breads, cakes, fruit salad, and watermelon, everyday. It held us over until late afternoon, time for gelato!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
We were very pleased with Hotel Domus Romana. I was not sure what to expect from the room that I booked. We are a family of 5 which is difficult to accommodate in Europe. We were really pleased with the size of our room at the hotel. It was very spacious and clean. It is also in an excellent location. We were within walking distance of the Spanish steps, the Colosseum, and Trevi fountain. The hotel staff was very friendly, spoke excellent English and were very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great for central rome

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Nice friendly hotel. We didn't spend lots of time around the hotel but when we did it was fine. Good location for a sightseeing trip.
4 out of 5
by Catherine from Cardiff

A week at Hotel Domus Romana

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great week in Rome staying at the Hotel Domus Romana. The hotel is brilliantly situated for seeing all the main historic sights. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a lovely courtyard area in the middle. The only negative thing was the air conditioning was too noisy to keep on during the night and so the room got very hot.
2 out of 5
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great Location! But...

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The location because it was so convenient for all major landmarks and attractions that we wanted to see.
Cons: The air conditioners in the rooms need improved greatly. We had the AC on nonstop and the room barely cooled down.
Location: Great location. Super close to the train station and in walking distance of all major attractions.
Our room was nothing like the pictures that were posted. The ac barely worked; and when it is over 90 everyday (considering we went in July) it would have been nice to cool down in the room instead of sweat in your sleep. The breakfast buffet was from 7-10:30 am and was exactly the same every single day. Plus, do not bother going to the breakfast buffet towards the end or if you sleep in because there will be nothing left. The one day we went with 30 minutes left and the staff told us that was all they had left and they were not putting anything else out, so we went elsewhere. However, we did not spend much time in our room besides to get ready, shower, and sleep. This hotel is in perfect walking distance to all major landmarks and attractions. The furthest we walked was 45 minutes to Vatican City, but we went early and stopped half way for breakfast. On the way back we shopped and stopped for something for lunch. It is only a ten minute walk to the train station, which we used to go to Venice. If you are looking for location convenience this hotel is key.