Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coral Springs FL Usa

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Cons: Faster and more reliable Wi-fi
Location: 5 min to St Peters on the train or taxi
nice Hotel good staff good location...................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo ND

We enjoyed our stay here

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Price, location and accomodations.
Cons: The hotel does not have a 'business center / computer' so we had trouble printing our airline boarding passes, but a helpful staff member assisted us.
Location: Rome and Vatican City are busy, vibrant, interesting and historic places. There is much to see and do!
We made a two-night, three-person-room reservation at this hotel because of price and location considerations. The facility and staff are very nice and the location is near Vatican City and public transportation. Our room was comfortable and the breakfast-included was very good. We truly enjoyed our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich

Ideal for Vatican / Rome centre

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Hotel is ideal for sight seeing 30 mins walk to Vatican nice clean hotel staff were great . We were moved on arrival due to over booking but we were moved to nice hotel for 1 night , nice driver to transfer us and next day they transferred our luggage back so our day didn't get interrupted. We were promised an upgrade for the hassle but that didn't happen but not really a problem as we were to tired at night to care. Wouldn't recommend eating in restaurant expensive and not a lot of choice but there are great restaurants 5 mind walk around the corner. Overall very good and would go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

OK to slightly disappointing.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Cons: Service at breakfast time. Noise coming from the road.
Location: Many things to do but need to walk 15 or 20 minutes to get near edge of city. Fine if you don't mind the walk.
Average hotel, situated just outside city centre. Guests should be prepared for a walk into the city centre, though walking back at night should be done with care. Breakfast Ok, better get there early though as tables slow to be cleaned and limited tables leading to overflow. We came down at 9.30 and were jostling for a table, then settling down for one with uncleared plates and cutlery. Had to ask them to clear it away, but to be fair they looked overrun. There is a gym and sauna, but these can be hired out entirely. We called to enquire to use, receptionist said she would call back and let us know but this did not happen. We requested a quiet room, were told at reception that they put us in a room at the back, but this was not the case. Room looked onto main road, most at the hotel are anyway, so there was a lot of noise. Traffic was busy, the windows are double glazed but the noise seem to cut right through. Definitely not for light sleepers! The room was clean enough but definitely snug in size compared to the pictures available we saw prior to booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Reasonably central location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendliness of staff for a city centre hotel.
Cons: Wider menu choice might be welcome, but being a city hotel it is probably expected that guests will eat out.
Location: Close to Vatican, river and most city attractions. Metro station nearby.
Very nicely appointed room which was marred slightly by noisy plumbing from adjacent rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. I/we would be happy to recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

10 minutes flat walk to Piazza Populi

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Ambience, breakfast, staff, location
Cons: On a hot afternoon we did think it would be nice to have a hotel right in the centre of the city
Location: 10 minute flat walk to historic centre
The ground floor room was spacious; continental breakfast lovely; and the lounge/bar/waiting room very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. You need to feel comfortable/fit enough to walk 10 minutes to get to the start of 'old Rome' at Piazza Populi. The walk is pleasant and flat - cross onto the other side of the river on Ponti Mattias (bridge) when walking to the city - more pleasant and less traffic. Vatican city is only 20 minutes walk away - again cross the bridge, walk along the river and cross back - this route is much easier than going cross-country from the hotel to the Vatican. Once you leave the Piazza the streets are pretty empty - few people - keep that in mind if you are walking back in the dark. Otherwise a cheap taxi ride will get you home. The hotel itself was very quiet even though there was traffic on the street outside during the week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

clean hotel disappointing facilities

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Attitude of some Reception staff. Failure to open roof top restaurant on the 3 nights of stay with no prior warning - signs appeared after complaint
Hotel well located for St. Peter's Square, close to the river and short walk from the metro station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Dec 19, 2013
They placed me on the ground floor, the walls are rather thin and I could hear the conference going on in the basement as well as the sound of anyone checking in. The staff was friendly and sympathetic, but could only offer the room adjacent to the one I currently occupied, which did not help me. There was an overuse of perfume or some other odour reducing agent that was a bit overwhelming in the room. Overall, it was a good deal, but I would have booked elsewhere had I known about the noise issues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roger from Maryland, USA

Good combination of price, comfort and locale

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Location, price and service. And the little park/courtyard in front was a pleasant place to sit and discuss the day's activities.
Cons: a stronger A/C unit would be helpful
Location: as stated above, it is a short taxi ride from most of the sights of Old Rome and the Vatican, combined with a pleasant proximity to the river.
The staff was helpful from the start, storing our bags until check-in. Francesca was especially pleasant and helpful. The rooms, though small, were nicely appointed, and the small balconies were an especially nice touch. Taxis were readily available, and no destination in the city center was more than a 12 euro ride away...there is also an easy walk to the Metro. All in all, a very pleasant experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George & Joann from Virginia

Quiet location by the river...close walk to metro

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: small size...lovely old neighborhood...close to good/quick transport to the old city
Location: In a residential area so fairly quiet, pretty tree lined street across from the river and near a convenient metro stop.
We had a great 2 days in Rome. This is a lovely little hotel with an exceptional staff. Francesca was particularly helpful and always happy!