Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

I would not reccomend

Posted Oct 6, 2017
- terrible room (dirty walls, mold in the shower) - not nice staff (rude and nobody speaks English) I wouldn't recommend the hotel for anyone. The water pressure in the shower was that low that was impossible to take a shower. We had only hot hot water or cold freezing water. When I went to reception to ask what is wrong with it the guy did't speak a word in English. Somehow we managed to get him to the room and show him what is wrong with he shower. He said (show) that everything is fine (!). We managed to get somebody on he phone who was speaking English. Guy on the phone said they can send an engineer in the MORNING!! Luckily we spend there only one night. I asked for the discount cause that was unacceptable. In the Morning they gave me discount of £18 Euros!! And the end we managed to pay less, but I would not recommend this hotel if you want a nice holiday in Rome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is friendly but it seems as if they clean around 3 or 4 in the morning. We could hear the elevator from our room and anyone else in the vicinity. For Rome, this is probably common but we were woken up every morning due to sounds throughout the hotel. All in all, good place close to termini and villa borghese. Very light breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great deal!

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Ercoli. The neighborhood felt very safe and very easy to access bus to go everywhere in rome! We were given keys to the the whole building so we could come and go whatever time we wanted. The room was clean, AC and a good breakfast. Overall i enjoyed my stay, very quiet and staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
by Monika from Ripon UK

Happy customers (2polaki)

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at Ercoli Hotel. We were welcomed by very nice men Thomas.the hotel is on the 3th floor. Room was medium size with small private bathroom (shower + sink + toilet). Very clean. Rooms are cleaned every day and towels are changed daily (if needed). Was also surprised with WiFi Internet connection - very good -much better than in other hotels we have stayed. Breakfast ok - tosts, cheese, ham, jams, honey, Nutella, croissants, fruits, biscuits, juices, cereals jogurts and coffee (only disappointed and surprising cappuccino was offered to Italian guests but never to us. Not sure why?). Hotel in walking distance to metro -Repubblica. Easy access to all Rome attractions. Overall we really enjoyed stay in this hotel and would recommend it to everybody.
5 out of 5
by Joanna from Wolverhampton

Spot on

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in Ercoli Hotel for two nights. The hotel is located in a quiet street, very close to the bus stop and not too far from the Termini train station. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing seemed to be a problem for them. Tomas is a lovely guy with a great sense of humour. Both rooms and hotel are clean and well kept. The buffet breakfast was the best we had during the whole trip in Italy (cheese, eggs, ham, cereals, fruits and lots more). It was the only hotel, out of the other four we stayed in, which provides tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Warwick

A little gem

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
Gem of a hotel and excellent staff. The owner even came to wake us up one morning to make sure we didn't miss it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fantastic Budget Hotel

Posted May 24, 2015
A really good budget hotel in a quiet location, perfect for families. In a lovely old building with marblw floors and an old-style cage-lift. Outside the main tourist areas (hence the peace) but easily walkable to the ancient ruins, Vatican, Spanish Steps etc. All rooms have a very comfortable bed, hair-dryer, shower, TV and kettle. A decent breakfast (something not provided at many budget places) too. Manager was extremely helpful too and happy to let us leave our luggage on our last day after check out so we could make the most of our time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Rude old man at the front desk who doesn't speak E

Posted May 13, 2015
I was ready to give Hotel Ercoli an "avarage" score - the location/price is ok, but rooms are tiny and there isn't a lot of staff around most of the time. But today as I was checking out I was treated horribly by the old man in the front desk. I was already annoyed by the fact that he doesn't speak any English and he seemed to think WE were the ones who should speak italian (aren't hotel staff supposed to be able to speak English?) but at least he had been trying to be nice up until this point. I talked to him the day before about paying the taxes before I checked out the next morning and he said he had no change, so if I went out for food and got change I could just pay in the morning. But it turns out I never went out, as I was tired and not hungry. So the next morning told him I just wanted to pay with my card and he flipped out, saying I should have gotten change and muttering things in italian about me. He tried to give me less change than I was supposed to get until he finally took my card and swiped it. He was seriously angry and went on and on saying things like "it's not a million euro!" Excuse me, but is it really my job to have change? Is it really my job to speak your language? This hotel urgently needs to hire someone more professional to deal with their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel, USA

Pleasant surprise behind barely visible hotel sign

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness, the friendly and safe neighborhood.
Cons: the internet connection is free but the connection strength was poor.
Location: 30 minutes walking distance to the Colosseum, Piazza Navona, The Ghetto. 29 minutes walking to the Central Station, Spanish Steps. Safe area.
Very, Very Good!!! The hotel is a small hotel on third floor of a residential building. We stayed for 8 nights. There are no bold signs with the hotel's name or the hotel's presence at all. Don't expect to find a fancy lobby or any other public area, except for a very clean and nice dining room for the breakfast. But we did find the most helpful and warm staff who were happy to provide answers to any questions we had, as well as good advice. The room was small, very clean, and had everything we needed, (electric kettle with cups, some tea bags and sweeteners, safe, hair dryer and e x c e l l e n t bed). It is very close to Piazza Fiume with many buses to any part of Rome, and some more buses on the streets nearby. Following the owners advice, we used the one time tickets and not the multiple day tickets. Most of the the time we walked (e.g. to the Colosseum, The Ghetto, Piazza Navona or the Spanish Steps). My opinion is that this is the best way to see and feel these friendly people and the city itself. We definitely will stay here again if we ever visit Rome again.
4 out of 5
by patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels