Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

I woke up to a view of the Trevi Fountain.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel was old, quirky and interesting.
Cons: The shower/bath in our room was very small and showering was interesting.
Location: Take comfortable shoes Book what you can in advance The volume of people in and around attractions is vast Metro/trains easy to use
The staff couldn't do more to help. They arranged the taxi from the airport, they had our room ready at 9am when we arrived and then found us a different room when we required twin beds and not a double bed, they phoned a tour guide when we had a query ..... excellent service, you felt valued. The view from our room was of the Trevi Fountain which was amazing. Obviously this meant we also had the babble of noise and the sound of the water then the window was open; but for me this just added to the joy of the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Trevi Fountain right outside the door.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Nice hotel. Cute room. But no shower curtain made it hard to shower without getting water all over. Very touristy, crowded area. But great for visiting city center sites and tons of restaurants. Front desk staff was not very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, traditionally charming decor

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Location is amazing - busy but beautiful! hotel has old style charm, comfortable rooms and lovely breakfast. Staff are helpful without being intrusive and ALL major sights can be walked to with relative ease. We cannot wait to visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Gorgeous view of Trevi Fountain!!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Beautiful view of Trevi Fountain. Exceptional staff--friendly and very helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was Awesome!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location to all top attractions

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Farthest walk to top attractions was 1.4 miles. Perfect central location for food, shopping, and sight seeing. Literally 20 feet in front of the Trevi Fountain. Went to sleep at night hearing the water fall with soft lights glimmering off the surface. Staff was wonderful and always helpful. Breakfast buffet with coffee daily was a great way to start every morning. Let us check in 3 hours early with no charge. Highly recommend Hotel Fontana, book it and relax so you can enjoy planning all the sights you want to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pefect! Overlooking Trevi Fountain

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Fontana and it was all that we hoped it would be. Lovely clean bright room overlooking the Trevi Fountain. Breakfast terrace room at the top of the building overlooked the square and the buffet breakfast was great. Choice of cerials and fruit, pastries, cold meat, cheese and a variety of bread to choose from. The breakfast room also doubled as a terrace bar in the evening. We were welcomed by the staff, particulary Issac, who was so helpful and told us interesting stories about the history of the hotel. Walking distance to the Colessum, the Vatican and lots of other great sights. With Lovely restaurants and bars at your finger tips - we would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone choosing a stay in Rome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Great location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Walk out the door to see the Trevi fountain. Great location close to all important attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Close to colleseum, Spanish steps etc. Some rooms with view of the trevi fountain. Good service, clean room.
4 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel with a View

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is small, the rooms are out dated and the hall and stairs need better lighting. The only reason you want to use this hotel is because is right in front of the Trevi Fountain. The view from the room was spectacular. Is a couple of blocks away from the train station located behind the Spanish steps. The elevator would work sometimes. I'm not sure if it was because the front office people would lock it or not. This hotel has a lot of potential and its ok to stay at.