Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa,Canada

Good hotel in Rome

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Not much,the rooms are not big,but typical size for Rome.
Location: As mentioned,a fair amount of restaurants lose by,walking distance to many attractions and shopping.
The hotel is not fancy,but clean and is well-located,about a 20 minute walk to via Veneto,the Trevi Fountain is a bit further and lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa,Canada

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The hotel is well situated,walking distance to many restaurants and main attractions(Trevi fountain,museums,etc). The room was typical sized for Italy,very clean and we had everything we needed. VG got breakfast,huge selection of food,the staff is especially helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Cost hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Nice hotel, friendly staff. Wasn't massively impressed with breakfast spread especially 1. No labels and 2. Things finished by 9am when I went down. No regrets!
5 out of 5
by Valerio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by JOHN

Trip to Italy Wedding

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good Experience. Would have like to had opportunity for Soad Vending Machine. Was not happy that I had to Pay Premium Charges to watch movies on TV, even 15 to 20 year old movies. While rates were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Dear John Thank you for spending time to review you stay , we are happy that you had a nice stay , hope to see you again in Rome to give you a free movie regards Joseph
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 7, 2017
They gave us room very close to the noisy lift . The worst room in the hotel. I have to keep begging them to change the room after 5 days they finally change it. The cleaner admit it's was very unfair and have not seen anything like that. Someone who's staying for 8night could get such bad terrible room. I developed serious chest pain because of the bed .I had to buy another ticket to fly back to London for medical attention. Just came out of A&E now. ..Was at the hospital for 10hrs today.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Reseption, Hotel Management
thank you for your review , hope to see you again in Rome at our Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Great value; great location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Clean room, helpful staff in a non-tourist area within 10 minute walk to both metro lines. Unbeatable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by joseph clemente, Hotel Management
Dear Robert Thank you very much fo your review , I'm glad we made our best to make you feel comfortable , hope ti see you again in Rome kind regards Joseph Clemente
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

In heart of Rome.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: very clean.
Cons: Breakfast; opportunity for a continental breakfast as opposed to the full buffet.
We were desperate for a decent place to stay in Rome as we hadn't booked a place in advance. This hotel was moderately priced and provided the amenities we expected. The rooms are small but very comfortable. Breakfast could be better in that it was either their buffet or nothing. Within walking distance off several tourist attractions. Great suggestions for dinner, by the hotel staff, for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Hello Guest Thank you very much for choosing Gambrinus Hotel i for your stay in Rome. As soon as you have time, could you take a moment to share your on-line experience with friends and other webmasters on your favorite travel reviews site? Thank you… It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we really hope to see you soon. Joseph Clemente manager Hotel gambrinus
2 out of 5
by Marie

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Dear Guest thank you for your review , hope to see you in Rome again kind regards Joseph Clemente
3 out of 5
by Peter

Being Central in Rome

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
I love walking in cities, and it's easy to make good walks from the Gambrinus: you can walk to the Borghese Gardens in 15 minutes, and continue to make something of a grand circuit through several notable neighborhoods. Breakfast was very good. The staff was helpful, even helping me order email concert tickets they printed for me. The single room was the problem. Much too small for real comfort. I found myself having to push furniture around to be able to move myself. If you choose this hotel and suffer any claustrophobia, be sure to ask for a larger room. This problem led me to question the four star rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Hello Guest Thank you very much for choosing Gambrinus Hotel i for your stay in Rome. As soon as you have time, could you take a moment to share your on-line experience with friends and other webmasters on your favorite travel reviews site? Thank you… It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we really hope to see you soon. Joseph Clemente manager Hotel gambrinus