Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Sergio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just what I needed

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed at Hotel Garda for several days. The staff were always kind and courteous. My room was always cleaned by the time I returned. Breakfast is sparse with bread, spreads, cereal, and cake but I liked that someone was always running the espresso machine. My room was updated and had A/C. I'd go here again.
3 out of 5
by Frank from Charlotte, NC

good location, no frills hotel

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Garda is in a convenient location in Rome, close to the Spanish Steps and the Barberini Metro stops. Although there were some questionable 'adult' establishments nearby, we never felt unsafe. The hotel is in a typical European pension style, having to get buzzed in, taking an old-fashioned elevator up to the rooms, etc. The beds were comfortable but the room was in need of some maintenance. The hot water in the shower was very difficult to manage, resulting in either scalding hot water or freezing cold water. The two gentlemen on the staff were very helpful, and gave us some great suggestions for walking tours, bus routes, restaurants, etc. They even checked our flight status and arranged for a car to take us to the airport. The breakfast options were few, offering just bread items and coffee/tea/juice. Keep in mind there is an additional city tax charge per person per night above what you pay for the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Posted Apr 23, 2015
A bit hard to find but the location was good and the rooms were newly renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Overall a good experience. We are a young couple on a budget so this place was ideal for us. Pros: The location was nice and in a safe area. It is a ten minute walk to the Spanish Steps. The hotel was clean and comfortable enough. The receptionist was very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here a lot. Cons: Breakfast is pretty minimal. The doorbell at the entrance wasn't working well while we were there so there were a few times when we had to wait outside and try to figure out how to get in. There is a phone number that is on the sign so you could probably call that to get in but we didn't have phones that worked in italy so it was a bit complicated for us.
5 out of 5
by yael from Tel Aviv

Very nice stay ♥

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
me and my friends arrived on Friday morning. we arrived few hours before the Check-in time , the guy at the Reception was very kind. he told us about all the city sites, and help us plan all over our stay. he also make sure will get our room ASAP so we wouldn't wait too much. the hotel was clean. the neighborhood was quiet, not in the center but only 10 min walk.
4 out of 5
by Riley from Charlotte, NC

Weekend Stay

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay for a group of study abroad students. Great location and great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Hotel Garda

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location. Federico at Front Desk.
Cons: Breakfast.
The hotel is nice and very well located in the heart of Rome. Federico at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with me and my husband who came to the same hotel two months ago but I can say that all employers were kind, polite and prepared to assist any guest.. Breakfast can be little better. I will recommend to other people this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great location.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Clean and quiet
Cons: More variety for breakfast
Location: All major sights are nearby or accessible by nearby Metro
Great staff, great location, very good value for the money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels
I highly recommend staying here. Excellent location, clean and comfortable, and very friendly staff.