Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Myself and my partner spent the weekend in Rome and I cannot recommend Hotel Grifo highly enough. The staff were excellent and very helpful, the room was clean tidy and more than adequate for what we needed. The location of the hotel is also ideal (a short 7 minute walk to The Colosseum) and perfect for all of the other famous landmarks. We would definitely book up again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Location, Location, Location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: The location was the deal maker, but everything was great!
Cons: Slightly more comfortable beds but as seasoned travellers it didn't bother us too much (have you ever slept on beds in india!?)
Location: Shops, taverna's, ruins, forum, colosseum, via della republica, everything major in Rome is about a 10 min walk at most.
My wife and I arrived in on Xmas eve for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more pleased with what we found when we arrived, I cannot speak highly enough of this place. 1500 Characters isn't really enough; this hotel was amazing. It's is amazingly located for wonderful restaurants, transport connections, shopping, and 5 minutes walk to most of the major attractions. The rooms were clean, the staff are wonderful, friendly, welcoming and extremely knowledgable not just about where to go and what to do but also where to eat and more importantly where NOT to eat! The free breakfast is simple, filling and tasty, and the coffee plentiful. The main thing about this hotel is it's location, it is in the middle of everything; walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. We will very happily book and stay here again, in fact we cannot wait to do so! A must stay location for seasoned travellers to Rome and newbies alike!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4-Night stay in Rome in December

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
4-night stay. Economic rate, continental breakfast was good, a very good location to use for sight-seeing. Room was a bit smaller than expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service and location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Think this was about half way between the Spanish Steps and the Colosseum. We walked all over the place except the Vatican.
We arrived early and the room was ready for us. Huge. They really tried to accommodate us in every way. Took some time to convince them the room was not too small. It was much larger than a ship stateroom. It was clean. The only issue we had was with the shower which needs a few adjustments with shower head and no soap dish. The building is very old, and in October the room had a bit of a chill to it late at night. Wear socks! They were nice enough to allow us to have some coffee before a very early am departure for airport. The location is good for getting to the major sites and that big yellow sign helps to locate it when returning late.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was in a great location it is a little dated inside but clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are small and the shower tiny but the hotel does say it is in the old part of Rome. I would happily stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Excellence location and service

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The room is clean and tidy. Very tradition European style hotel. Excellence location, you can access to attraction areas within 10-15 mins. I especially like their buffet breakfast and free hot breakfast order too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, centrally located, clean hotel.

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazingly nice staff, great location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Staff was super helpful. A close 5-10 minute walk to the main sites, including the Coliseum.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money, excellent location

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was basic, but for the price was very good. Room was a little small but adequate. Could do with a safe in the room. Shower was tiny, which meant a lot of banged elbows! Breakfast was fine, good selection. Air con worked well, free wifi was ok, but not secured, you just had to log in with Facebook. Location was excellent. 5 mins walk from colloseum, everything was within walking distance and there were plenty of restaurants nearby. Overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Basic traditional hotel but has everything you need and is clean, 15 minutes to colosseum, and santa maggiore, spanish steps, trevi fountain and parthenon all within a 20 to 30 minutes walk, loads to see round every corner, we had taxi to vatican at a cost of 12 euros which we thought reasonable, overall a good stay at grifo hotel,lovely setting eating places close by,but quiet inside so we had good sleep,staff were exceptional,really knowledgeable ,helpful and friendly