Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Location, Location, Location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: The location was the deal maker, but everything was great!
Cons: Slightly more comfortable beds but as seasoned travellers it didn't bother us too much (have you ever slept on beds in india!?)
Location: Shops, taverna's, ruins, forum, colosseum, via della republica, everything major in Rome is about a 10 min walk at most.
My wife and I arrived in on Xmas eve for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more pleased with what we found when we arrived, I cannot speak highly enough of this place. 1500 Characters isn't really enough; this hotel was amazing. It's is amazingly located for wonderful restaurants, transport connections, shopping, and 5 minutes walk to most of the major attractions. The rooms were clean, the staff are wonderful, friendly, welcoming and extremely knowledgable not just about where to go and what to do but also where to eat and more importantly where NOT to eat! The free breakfast is simple, filling and tasty, and the coffee plentiful. The main thing about this hotel is it's location, it is in the middle of everything; walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. We will very happily book and stay here again, in fact we cannot wait to do so! A must stay location for seasoned travellers to Rome and newbies alike!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service and location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Think this was about half way between the Spanish Steps and the Colosseum. We walked all over the place except the Vatican.
We arrived early and the room was ready for us. Huge. They really tried to accommodate us in every way. Took some time to convince them the room was not too small. It was much larger than a ship stateroom. It was clean. The only issue we had was with the shower which needs a few adjustments with shower head and no soap dish. The building is very old, and in October the room had a bit of a chill to it late at night. Wear socks! They were nice enough to allow us to have some coffee before a very early am departure for airport. The location is good for getting to the major sites and that big yellow sign helps to locate it when returning late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Excellence location and service

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The room is clean and tidy. Very tradition European style hotel. Excellence location, you can access to attraction areas within 10-15 mins. I especially like their buffet breakfast and free hot breakfast order too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazingly nice staff, great location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Staff was super helpful. A close 5-10 minute walk to the main sites, including the Coliseum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Basic traditional hotel but has everything you need and is clean, 15 minutes to colosseum, and santa maggiore, spanish steps, trevi fountain and parthenon all within a 20 to 30 minutes walk, loads to see round every corner, we had taxi to vatican at a cost of 12 euros which we thought reasonable, overall a good stay at grifo hotel,lovely setting eating places close by,but quiet inside so we had good sleep,staff were exceptional,really knowledgeable ,helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver,bc,ca

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Good customer services. Provide a lot of useful travel information. Good location to a lot of major attractions such as Colosseum.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location and nice staff

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Add BBC channel to the TV.
Location: The hotel is close to the Coliseum.
The staff behind the desk were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately that was the only positive about my experience with this hotel. Our room smelt like a toilet, the decor was awful, was very small and the lights could not be turned on individually. The TV had about 100 channels however none were in English. On the last night I caught a guest smoking in the hall way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Very good for getting to see all the site's around , 10 to 15 min walk , nice food in the restaurants around the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

The Best from Rome

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Fantastic, walking distance to all the main buildings to visit. You do not need red tourist bus in Rome, in fact, it was worst form the whole trip.
We stayed past June for 4 days at this magical place, conveniently located 2 blocks from the coliseum and nearby to the other ruins and Rome attractions, very close to Nazionale Ave, surrounded by good local restaurants and the best of all was our wonderful concierge Julia, she is adorable, gives a plus to your stay. Do not hesitate to book your room at Grifo, you won't regret. Room was amazingly clean and even though was in the building across from main desk, you never felt abandoned or missing anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The locaton is good , very close to the coloseo

Posted Nov 25, 2015
I love the location its near the coloseo and fountain de trivi , room is good , the restaurant was very smalll but the service was good.