Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect Location

Posted Feb 3, 2016
The hotel is in a perfect location. We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Budapest, Hungary

Nice hotel on good location

Posted Nov 23, 2015
You get what you pay for. Good for anyone who plan to spend time in the city and not in the hotel. Pro: - Breakfast is good. - Location is great, you can catch everything in a 2km radius except Vatican city. Republicca metro station is like 300 meters away. - AC can both cool and heat, it came handy in our case. - Rooms are small but enough for 2, nothing fancy. Con: If you are located in their 2nd building the street can be noisy. Hotel can do nothing about it, a city is a city everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie, Pa

The Best Hotel for the Money

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: I especially love the location and the charm of the hotel. It is located on Via Venezia and everything is right there in walking distances.
Cons: Nothing at all!!
Location: Well, I already mentioned perviously about the great shopping, near the train station, a post office, nice restaurants and bars and Piazza Venezia.
I have come to Hotel Italia three times. For me and my style, I love and adore it. There are no frills, but the owner and the staff are delightful. My room is all that I need. It has a nice little desk and brand new bathroom with a walk in shower and a nice big bed. It is very modest, but charming. In the morning, they have the most charming breakfast room and they serve so much food, not the continental breakfast anymore in Italia. It is so nice almost too much, cold cuts, little frittatas, fruit, dolce, yogurt, cereal, pickles, Haha, veggies, etc., it is all included. For one person, I paid 79 euros a night. It might be more now, not sure. I love the location, that is another reason why I go back. It is on the second floor of an apartment building, go up three flights of stairs, but there is an elevator. Ring the buzzer and they will let you in and a porter will meet you there to help with your luggage. It is so close to the train station, which is fantastic and there is great shopping on Via Nazionale. At the very bottom of Via Nazionale, you will find Piazza Venezia, the dedication to Victor Emanuel is there, a magnificent sight, even though the Italians do not like it. There is the post office, very, very, near also, the train station is right by it, so if you have too much stuff in your baggage, you can mail something back to the US, very easily. I highly recommend this hotel, if you are on a budget or not such a fluffy, fluffy person. I will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Great hotel in a brilliant, central location

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful
Cons: The bed was ok, but could have been better. But for the amount we paid, given the location and how good everything else was, it was absolutely fine.
Location: You can do most of the major tourist attractions from this hotel, all within walking distance (as long as you're ok to walk a lot).
Given that we were only there for a weekend, we didn't need the most comfortable bed in the world - which was a good thing, because that was basic! But other than that the hotel was great. It was well maintained, very clean, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and a decent breakfast. Given that we were out and about most of the time, it was everything we could have asked for and more! It was great value for money and if we go back, it will definitely be first on the list. The breakfast was reasonable standard continental style buffet; decent and kept us going for a good while. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Rome - we thought we were a bit far from the Vatican, but we ended up stumbling down onto it and having a look at the outside anyway; even though we planned not to bother about it (with limited time we have to choose). The Colosseum and forum (south of Via Nationale) were a good combination for one day, and the other we spent North of Via Nationale, at the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and a whole host of other things!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emma from Northern Ireland

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was clean & tidy. The staff were helpful & friendly.the hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of all the main attractions. My only negative comment is that the area was very loud at night time. The panel below the window isn't sound proof & you can hear everything that's going on outside. If you are a light sleeper, I would bring ear plugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Central location

Posted Oct 22, 2015
A lovely hotel, centrally located. Close to all of the attractions. Hotel was very nice & room very clean & comfortable. Staff very helpful & happy to advise of routes to take to see all of the sights & provide directions. Would stay there again & recommend to friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosemarie from Miami

Great Hotel in Rome

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location. We enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ulla

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Denver, CO

Perfect for the Price. Close to Termini and Monti.

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
We came on 2 separate occasions. Once before a cruise and once on the way home. The first time we stayed across the street at the annex and the second time we stayed inside the actual hotel. Both were similar experiences. The pro to the hotel is that the internet is faster and the con is that it was louder. The pro to the annex is that you don't need to return your keys (all 3 of them) to the front desk and the con is that the internet is slower. Staff was great and the breakfast felt homemade because it is made upstairs in a kitchen. Because of overflow, we sat in the kitchen as the woman cooked breakfast. Nothing special (eggs, pastries, meats, cheese, yogurt, and juice) for breakfast, but it was nice. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Termini, but across cobblestones, so don't pack to heavy if you want to walk. It really does feel uphill both ways. Overall, it is a nice, cheap hotel in Rome. If you want a Hilton, you'll shell out $400-$500 for a similar hotel. If you do stay here, check out The Drunken Cow nearby in Monti. A great little artsy neighborhood a couple blocks away. A good Italian beer shop named Domus Birrae is also in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

clean and cozy

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was really clean and cozy. The front desk staff answered all of our questions and helped us find our way to all of the places we wanted to see. The hotel is just a few blocks from Termini, so close we were able to walk with our carry on luggage to catch our train back to the airport. I highly recommend this hotel- a great find.