Ratings based on 1,190 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Really close to everything. The staff was really great and always willing to help. The only real complaint I have would be the lack of hot water. I stayed 6 night and was only on 2 of those nights there was hot water for showering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but great location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The room was small but the location perfect beautiful at night and for walking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada-Ontario

Great Location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Location, location
Cons: Change the bed covers.
Location: If you like walking , this is the great place to stay, you have access to everything by 10 to 30 minutes walk. A lot of restaurants bakeries nearby.
The first day , the room assigned was small and the smell was horrible with stains on the wall. I complained about it but the hotel was full. The day after for the last 2 days, Kristin provided another room ,bigger, quit and pleasant . The location is great, close to the monuments , the train station and subway, various restaurants all around. The breakfast was good and the YOUNG BOY handling the coffee and the breakfast always approached you with smile and happy to help. All the staff was nice and helpful. I will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to Coloseum

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Coloseum and this is a positive thing. Room is small but bathroom is even worse. Bathroom shower is so small that we had problem with taking a shower.. The drain was blocked so the water stand. When we checked in and first time came into the room we saw dirty towels. And that smell... No idea what kind of it was but makes me sick... so we keep window opened
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

Nice hotel close to coliseum

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Lovely helpful staff. Close to metro station. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Ivanhoe

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness and pleasant staff.
Cons: We had a large room,on top floor. The mattresses were rock hard. Maybe as room was big enough,a comfy chair would help!
Location: Near station,buses etc. Walk to Forum,Colosseum, all sights easily.
The hotel is in an excellent location,easy walk to main station,local metro and the magnificent Colosseum,Forum etc! The staff were very helpful, even making us a cup of tea after a long day exploring the sights. The rooms were kept very clean,as were all areas. Our only problem was that we had a really hard mattress,which made it difficult to relax after a lot of walking! Breakfast was nice, there wasn`t a huge choice,but it was enough.I would recommend it as a base to explore Rome.Do not expect a luxury suite, but a small,friendly basic hotel.Nice bar/cafe next door, lots of lovely restaurants and snack bars in little alleys around. Value for money!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Rome Enchanting interlude

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Everything - see experience section
Cons: None
Location: Charming bar just outside the front of hotel that has live jazz on Friday & Saturday nights. Hotel is centrally located. A stones throw from metro
Perfection! I found the Hotel Ivanhoe exceeded my expectations. I was somewhat familiar with the area as one of my requirements was location. Upon arrival the staff were all extremely helpful and kind - intuitively offering just the right amount of assistance needed. The front desk were most accommodating making museum reservations and providing additional incidentals for my room. Breakfast (included in my reservation) was fresh and cheery with an individually requested cappuccino each morning. Room was clean. Property overall is well maintained and a hidden bonus is the charming roof terrace - just the spot for a small respite from a day of siteseeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

7 minute walk to the Colosseum...Free breakfast!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Also, one minute walk to the Metro. My single room was small, but it was expected. And although there was an issue with hot water, the staff remedied it right away . The central location , the charming neighborhood and the excellent desk & wait staff , who were very helpful & let me practice my Italian, are some of the reasons I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Yes yes yes

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for few days and we loved every moment amazing staff and great location we walked everywhere didn't use any transportation (beside the Vatican) , so we're really recommend to who ever come to Rome to take a room at this friendly amazing hotel :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WRexham

Great little hotel.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Great little hotel, friendly staff, clean tidy rooms and great location for attractions to walk to.
Cons: Shower area way too small need to be 4stone soaking wet to fit in and
Location: All attractions are local, collesium 5mins walk, Pallintino hill same distance,Pantheon St Augusta castle well worth a walk to.
Arrived at hotel Ivanhoe and initial thoughts were perfect for visiting the city as it is 10mins to the terminus, restauarants alround. The hotel staff are great and friendly and will answer any questions you ask. The rooms are adequate very clean but the shower rooms are very small and awkward to wash in.(no tea and coffee in room but picture say there is). Staff provide tea, coffee and cake free between 5-7 pm which was nice. Easy access to all tourist areas except the Vatican which is 1 hrs walk but a taxi only cost 12 Euros. Very expensive city but worth the visit, expect to pay around 5 to 10 euros for alcohol which comes in small, medium and large. All in all great visit .