Ratings based on 876 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Highly recommended

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Brilliant location, convenient for main archaeological sites.
Location: About 10 minutes walk from the Colloseum; Metro station 3 mins.
Hotel very clean and comfortable; staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good, central position and lovely staff.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Cons: Shower was a bit small, not a criticism, but still ok.
Very enjoyable stay. Staff were lovely. Very helpful. Very clean and good facilities. Good breakfast, excellent coffee😊. Good central location with everything in easy walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fab location! Basic! Cheap and cheerful

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pleasant friendly staff. Ideal location. Metro 2 mins walk. Walking distance to colesseum. Forum. Trevi fountain. Pantheon. Ect. Basic clean rooms. Very small showers. Cleaned everyday. CleAn towels every morning. Breakfast nice. If you want somewhere just to sleep than perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Fantastic location!
Location: On a street with lots of restaurants, and in walking distance to the Colosseum and many attractions.
Hotel has cozy little rooms, incredibly small shower, and nicely working air conditioning. Staff were friendly, even though I spoke very little Italian. The location is perfect, nearby many attractions and a short bus ride to the Vatican.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice place to stay

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast and Alexio kept our espresso cups filled. Thanks.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In the old Monti area of Rome which is a working class neighborhood and people gather almost every night in the piazza,
The staff is really helpful and friendly. Stored our bags for free when we left this hotel for a week and then returned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Pete Beach, Florida

Great value. Excellent location. Helpful staff.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Ivanhoe is a small hotel located in the Forum neighborhood. It is a European hotel, with small rooms and baths. It offers an experience of feeling close to the Roman people, since it sits in a busy neighborhood with lots of local restaurants and businesses. The Cafe Monti is right on the doorstep where one can start the day with a cappuccino or espresso. Easy transportation nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Room was basic & small but adequate -spotlessly cleaned every day. TV had only Italian channels!!Buffet breakfast was lovely each morning -relaxed atmosphere &plenty of choice -very helpful staff.
Cons: Hotel bar only had wine & beer-could have been more choice.
Location: Excellent location with lovely restaurants & bars.Hotel easy to find from Termini Station 10-15mins walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK.

Great central position but very quiet.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Location great for all the top sights. Most walkable(Colosseum/Forum 5 mins) but a Metro at the end of the road if you want to go further afield.
Room was very clean but quite basic. The bed was very comfortable. The worst thing was the size of the bathroom and shower. You would struggle if you were a very large person. Staff very helpful and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K

Avoid if you can ....

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Only 10 minute walk from the Colosseum
Cons: Pretty much everything excluding cleanliness and location !
Stayed in Rome a few times before and never stayed in such an poor hotel as this. Some of the wonderful highlights that we had to put up with for 7 days included : ** The smallest room I have ever had when staying in Rome ... The bathroom was so horrendously small the toilet was positioned slightly underneath the basin ! You had to practically slide onto it. No good for my fit but 73 yr old mother , The main light did not work and the basin was broken , so another room was requested immediately. It did not get much better .... ** No drawer storage in room . All we had was a single shelf by our bed which held the bedside lamp. ** Breakfast ... hit and miss whether you got any hot food ( only hot food was eggs and sometimes cut up sausage ). Sometimes it was available ... sometimes not. Only one person serving every morning so although he done his best , constant waiting for coffee , cups , food to be replaced etc. ** Reception staff ... Poor attitude at times , not genuinely interested and some had no local knowledge of the area, so getting accurate directions were a challenge ! I could list more but I am guessing this gives you a general idea of how disappointed we were with the Hotel. Safe to say , we wont be returning to Hotel Ivanhoe next time we visit Rome ...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Mixed Reviews

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Location is fantastic, easy to walk to the Big Bus stops with some awesome restaurants nearby (which reception staff gave us a 10% off voucher for)
We first checked in, reception staff were lovely. Took the tiny lift to the first floor to room 18. We walked in and were shocked! The room was tiny with less than 1m around the small double bed. There was a chipped hole in the wall with plaster flaking off and the tv did not work. The bathroom was also tiny and you could have your feet in the shower whilst using the toilet. We could hear noise all night from the street, and had headlights shining into the room also. We completed a first impressions form with Expedia, which went to the reception and they offered to upgrade us. Our new room on the 4th floor was quite nice, much more room, although the bathroom was still small. The tv worked but only had one channel. Close to the rooftop terrace which was nice but seemed overrated. Hotel was quite dated and with a little work could be very homely and cosy. Definitely ask for a room on the top floors! We organised a car through the hotel to take us to the airport at 6.30am which never showed up! Staff then called us a taxi which arrived quickly and cost the same (€50) as the hotel service, so that would be the better option.