Ratings based on 1,201 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

camper sized bathroom

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bathroom barely functional in size, can't bend down in shower, can brush teeth while using toilet, roaches in hall off lift on 0 floor
Location: can walk to many attractions including Colosseum
Barely fit on toilet, roaches in hallway at 4:45 AM checkout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, Il USA

walking distance to points of interest.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly helpful staff.
Cons: The size of the shower, as it was difficult for my husband, but I'm not sure that could be improved...very clean bathroom, which is so important!
Location: Walking distance to points of interest....we only had an afternoon and evening and felt very satisfied.
Great location for us...lovely restaurants along a narrow cobbled street...quiet. Rooftop terrace, but staircase narrow.....we loved sitting on top with a glass of wine.... Walking distance to points of interest such as the Roman Forum and The only problem encountered was a very tiny shower. I would definitely return to this hotel...very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Really close to everything. The staff was really great and always willing to help. The only real complaint I have would be the lack of hot water. I stayed 6 night and was only on 2 of those nights there was hot water for showering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but great location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The room was small but the location perfect beautiful at night and for walking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada-Ontario

Great Location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Location, location
Cons: Change the bed covers.
Location: If you like walking , this is the great place to stay, you have access to everything by 10 to 30 minutes walk. A lot of restaurants bakeries nearby.
The first day , the room assigned was small and the smell was horrible with stains on the wall. I complained about it but the hotel was full. The day after for the last 2 days, Kristin provided another room ,bigger, quit and pleasant . The location is great, close to the monuments , the train station and subway, various restaurants all around. The breakfast was good and the YOUNG BOY handling the coffee and the breakfast always approached you with smile and happy to help. All the staff was nice and helpful. I will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to Coloseum

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Coloseum and this is a positive thing. Room is small but bathroom is even worse. Bathroom shower is so small that we had problem with taking a shower.. The drain was blocked so the water stand. When we checked in and first time came into the room we saw dirty towels. And that smell... No idea what kind of it was but makes me sick... so we keep window opened
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

Nice hotel close to coliseum

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Lovely helpful staff. Close to metro station. Very clean.
2 out of 5
by Tallitha

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel needs some renovation. The room was small, and the shower extremely tiny. The staff and breakfast are good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Ivanhoe

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness and pleasant staff.
Cons: We had a large room,on top floor. The mattresses were rock hard. Maybe as room was big enough,a comfy chair would help!
Location: Near station,buses etc. Walk to Forum,Colosseum, all sights easily.
The hotel is in an excellent location,easy walk to main station,local metro and the magnificent Colosseum,Forum etc! The staff were very helpful, even making us a cup of tea after a long day exploring the sights. The rooms were kept very clean,as were all areas. Our only problem was that we had a really hard mattress,which made it difficult to relax after a lot of walking! Breakfast was nice, there wasn`t a huge choice,but it was enough.I would recommend it as a base to explore Rome.Do not expect a luxury suite, but a small,friendly basic hotel.Nice bar/cafe next door, lots of lovely restaurants and snack bars in little alleys around. Value for money!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Rome Enchanting interlude

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Everything - see experience section
Cons: None
Location: Charming bar just outside the front of hotel that has live jazz on Friday & Saturday nights. Hotel is centrally located. A stones throw from metro
Perfection! I found the Hotel Ivanhoe exceeded my expectations. I was somewhat familiar with the area as one of my requirements was location. Upon arrival the staff were all extremely helpful and kind - intuitively offering just the right amount of assistance needed. The front desk were most accommodating making museum reservations and providing additional incidentals for my room. Breakfast (included in my reservation) was fresh and cheery with an individually requested cappuccino each morning. Room was clean. Property overall is well maintained and a hidden bonus is the charming roof terrace - just the spot for a small respite from a day of siteseeing.