Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO SERVICE!

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
No staff most of time. No sraff at all on ck out day. We had to go to another hotel to call a cab. Several gates and buzzers to get in at night, they didnt r ell us how to get back in then were not there at night. We later found out someone else ??? Answers buzzer some times. Nice local neighborhood. Good local rest!urants near by behind hotel.
4 out of 5
by Magdalena from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok, we enjoyed our stay except for the bathroom/shower. The shower head was not working well and it takes good five minutes before hot water comes out.
2 out of 5
by Axel V.

Short Rome trip

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Orbitz
I chose this hotel mainly for its closeness to the Vatican which was our main reason to visit Rome. Getting inside the hotel to check in was a little weird. The reception is on the thrid floor instead of the first floor, and you have to ring the bell for the receptionist to let you in. The receptionists were exceptionally nice as well as the room service lady. The one elevator is very small and old. You have to open the outer and inner doors manually and it becomes a bit of a shore when carrying bags. Some of the outer doors close by themselves yet others have to be manually closed. The room was somewhat clean but had a strong smell that we couldn't quite identify. There was not an AC unit int the room, it only had a fan that made a noise in any speed higher than 2. The shower did not have a curtain, a door, or anything to separate it from the rest of the bathroom so taking a shower got everything around it wet. Not sure if this is an Europe thing, we have seen houses in Croatia that have the same set up. There were issues with the paint on the ceiling as well as the caulking around corners. For the second night we requested and were given another room. This one smelled good but did not have an AC either and no ceiling fan. The shower sprayer holder was broken so we had to use one hand to hold it while rinsing with the other hand. Continental breakfast was ok. I think this hotel could be a good 3 with a little work. But I would not stay in it again.
3 out of 5
by Leon

Adequate for the budget, site-seeing, traveller.

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Joli provides an excellent basing point to visit the Vatican city. It is also not too far from all the other main attractions of Rome. It is far enough away (across the river)from the chaos that largely engulfs Rome to allow for a peaceful nights sleep. The hotel was in somewhat of a state of disrepair; however it is budget and as it is unlikely you'd be spending much time in your hotel while in Rome, it is a good choice for the budget, express, site-seeing, traveller.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good size room. Would repeat

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, close to Vatican, shopping and bus routes to other attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room decor wasn't great. The blue wallpaper was a little too much for my taste. The size of the room was good, but the bathroom was small (not biggie). The shower wasn't delimited, so everything would get wet. When flushing the toilet a nasty smell would come from the tank. The cleaning lady turned off the air conditioner every morning. The elevator was small (standard in Italy) and got broken one day. Considering the hotel is on a 6th floor, it was an issue. Only one power outlet close to the bed, two in the room. Overall, I would recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place close to Vatican

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Very friendly staff. Everything was great, but if you have mobility issues, I wouldn't recommend the hotel because the elevator is not reliable, and the hotel is on the 6th floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Good location close to Vatican (you could see St. Peter's Basilica Dome from the window), about 10 min walking to metro (which we did not use in our 5 days there), couple of supermarkets around the corner , gelato /cafes and lot of shops on the street. Front desk person was very pleasant and helpful. Decent breakfast for 5 euro per person. Basic room - beds/table/wardrobe. No refrigerator or deposit box. Now to negatives - No air conditioner (there was a noisy ceiling fan) - we were there in August and room was very hot. Bathroom/shower/sink is one common room without any walls/ panels inside - shower head is on the wall between toilet and bidet with a plastic curtain between shower and bidet. Don't know if that was hotel policy or initiative of the person who cleaned the room, but she was not replacing used shower gel pockets /toilet paper, needed to go to front desk and ask for them. Big bottle for liquid soap/ shower gel on the wall which was empty when we moved in stayed empty all 5 days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Besnik

Best hotel for the the price and position

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel position was perfect,lift and bathroom wasn't so good but for the stars that have the hotel i think was ok.
3 out of 5
by Michal from Trim

Good value

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
Cheap but good hotel, run by a really nice people.