Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Excellent!

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic owners! Great location! Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Cozy stay at family-run b&b

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: The Manzoni metro is a 7 minute walk from the hotel and takes you to most touristy locations you might be interested in, including the Vatican.
The married couple who run the accommodation may not speak English but are quite friendly and chatty; it was like staying at the house of elderly relatives, which is good because it doesn't feel unfamiliar, and the stay, overall, was quite pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derrbyshire, England

Spotlessly clean but very basic

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Hotel clean and owners friendly but language barrier was tricky.
Cons: We missed having the facility to make tea and coffee when we came in from a day sight seeing.
Location: Short walk to trams & large terminal for trains,also lots of buses. Within walking distance of the Colosseum and easy to get around.
The room was spotless but very basic. The bathrooms were minute and showering in the tiny cubicle was a real challenge. No tea and coffee making facilities or hairdryer. No English spoken. Continental breakfast was plentiful and varied. This hotel was value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Family-run hotel near Colosseum/public transport

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, helpful staff, cleanliness, size of the rooms.
Cons: It was a bit uncomfortable to take a shower since the space for that was too small on my room. Not too sure that can be fixed though.
Location: Great location- you can walk to Colosseum and places nearby or take public transportation, either metro or several bus lines.
It's a small hotel with only 9 rooms. Extremely nice and actually helpful family/staff. As soon as I arrived, I got a map which oriented me to where I was and how far I was from top tourist attractions. The owner also explained to me how best to get places which was really helpful for me since it was my first time in Rome. Room was always clean and it provided all the essentials. There is no lift or elevator but our room was just up one flight of stairs and although our bags were huge, it wasn't bad to get them to our room (one person holding one end of the luggage bag and another person the other). I only wish they spoke more English but somehow we managed to communicate the essentials. Room was a very nice size and was very clean every day. Bathroom size was good but the shower area was very small- regardless, got the job done. They do have someone who speaks English but she was only there one of the days of our stay- maybe you can request that before you arrive? OR learn basic Italian before your arrival. Also, notice that they offer a continental breakfast so don't expect a buffet or something too elaborate. Lastly, who packs lunch for you because you have to check out before breakfast is served? THEY DID! It was so nice of them, we really appreciated it. In summary, I had a great stay in this hotel- since they don't have more rooms, they get to know you, spend time with you, and are able to be more friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay in the middle of it all!

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
I had an excellent stay! The owners were very friendly. One thing that should be mentioned is the lack of an elevator. While this was no problem for me, I could see how climbing to the 3rd floor each day would be tiring for others. If stairs don't scare you, then this is the perfect place to stay in the middle of Rome! A quick walk to the Colosseum, Metro or anywhere else. Within walking distance of Termini.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Hotel close to all major sights

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Family atmosphere and even though the language barrier was there, both parties were able to communicate what they wanted. Wonderful Hospitality!
Cons: Freshen up of rooms but that's all.
Location: 20 minutes walk from the Colisseum and 30 from the main city centre where there are numerous famous sights to see and explore. Ideal location.
This hotel is run by the friendliest couple ever. They speak very little English but it added to the whole Italian experience. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel like part of the family. The hotel is in need of modernisation but is wonderfully situated to all the major sights and for transport links. Breakfast was held in the heart of the hotel and we were always greeted by a smiley Italian face. Please give this hotel a chance. There's no mod cons but it was comfortable and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire, UK

Family run small hotel.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Location. Cleanliness. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Price was good. Quiet side street so no traffic noise. Wifi included.
Location: Colosseum is 15 minutes walk away. Close to Menzoni Metro station (3 minutes). Close to a road with restaurants.
Nice family run hotel, staff were very welcoming and friendly although don't speak much English but then i don't speak much Italian either. But no issues really with communicating. I was a single traveller and my room was big enough for me, it had a balcony and the room was clean had storage and the bed was comfortable so all in all great as that's all you need for a sleeping area. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the Metro stop Manzoli. If arriving via the bus at the termini station i would suggest getting a ticket and getting off here rather than a Taxi which don't take the direct route and also charge 4 euro luggage fee on top of fee. They are a 15 minute walk from the Colosseum very easy route, they have maps in the hotel of Rome too. Breakfast was simple but nice, tea/coffee/orange juice. Food was bread or Croissant with ham salami and cheese. Or a choice of jams/honey etc. So enough for a good start to your day. My room (3) was first floor directly in front of the stairs so i could hear the bell buzzing and people coming and going due to tiled floor but it didn't wake me ever or really stop me falling asleep and family rooms are a floor higher so i don't think that would be an issue for the floor above. The room has Air-Con and can be adjusted for fan speed and temp. Wifi is also free. Rome charges hotels a tax per night per person and this hotel is 3 euro a night to be paid on check out. Lovely place, lovelier people and clean so i would recommend.
5 out of 5
by Anwar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading PA

Good, clean Budget Hotel near underground and bus

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Family atmosphere
Location: Several restaurants within walking distence.
Budget priced hotel family run with older style room but very clean. Breakfast was more than enough and staff was always willing to help with information.