Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Great location.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great family run hotel. Rooms are not soundproof. You can hear everything from next door. Otherwise; excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Only problem is you have to pay cash, no credit card.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great place

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Clean and everyone was helpul and polite loved it
Location: 2 blocks from rail and busses lots of great restaurants nearby grocery store around corner
Its only 2 blocks from rail bus station couldn't asked for a better location great staff great bar on site cappuccino fantastic family run all were polite and so helpful would recommend to anyone going to rome and all surrounding restaurants A1
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for the price

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast good value for 5 Euros. Beds too hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place for Italian Experience

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Great location with great restaurants close by and close to Termini station. It's run by a wonderful friendly Italian family who are very sweet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Was pleasantly surprised

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Great location near Termini station. Family run, warm, lovely people. Room was certainly adequate. Nice breakfast. Noisy, but to be expected anywhere with open windows.
1 out of 5
by Erna from South Africa

Birdcage

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing. Will not recommend to anyone
Cons: Makeover and fresh food for breakfast
Location: Location dirty and unsafe
Breakfast was terrible - rotten fillings on old, hard bread Coffee machine not working Old tea bags in room, probably from previous traveller Towels grey and thin - used to be white Blankets thin and old - was cold the whole night with both blankets Staff member in breakfast area clearly frustrated and moody Area and location dirty and unsafe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Ling from London, UK

Fine hotel, with a few downsides

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness, bathrooms seem to be newly-refurbished, convenient location
Cons: Room had no safe, no air-con; sometimes noisy with bells ringing
Location: Area is a little away from tourist hotspots; decent restaurants in the vicinity are scarce; can be seedy at night
We were two female travellers sharing a double room. We found Hotel Maryelen to be a well-kept hotel with very friendly staff, whose helpfulness was perhaps limited by not-quite-fluent English. The location near Termini station was good for connections to all areas of the city via bus, metro and train to the airport. At night, the area can be a little seedy so I would probably not recommend any hotel around Termini for a lone female traveller. (The street that the hotel itself is on is nicer than the surrounding area). Next time, we might choose a hotel closer to the Centro Storico, just to make sightseeing that much easier, and to put us within nearer reach to restaurants and cafes recommended in our guide books. The room itself was on the small side, which I understand is the norm in Rome. The bathroom was not much bigger than a cupboard, to be honest. However, the installments looked to be almost new, and everything functioned more than adequately. The room was clean and basic. The only complaints we had were that there was no safe, and light sleepers might be disturbed by the chiming of bells from a nearby church. Also, I did not notice that the room had air conditioning, and while this was of no consequence during our stay, it may prove uncomfortable during the warmest months. Overall, our experience was fine for the price we paid. The breakfast buffet which was included was a disappointment but there is not a whole lot of choice in the nearby vicinity anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from Vancouver, WA, USA

Great place and location!

Posted Mar 3, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: No heat before 4pm.
Location: Great location. Within walking distance to everything. Many places to eat in the area.
The hotel was very nice for a small family run hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They made you feel like family. We arrived fairly early in the day, however they were able to provide us a room right away. The breakfast was fine. There was sandwiches, bread, ham, cheese and a large variety of pastries. The only downside to staying in Rome during the winter is that many of the smaller hotels do not have heat. This hotel turned on the heat at 4pm, which was fine when we were out all day. It was cold during our stay in Rome and the first day in the hotel, was chilly. We came in early and it was too cold and rainy to venture outside, so we stayed in. That's when we found out about the heat situation. Otherwise, we will definately stay there again if we return to Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane R from London

Great value hotel close to train station

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Very convenient location for Rome Termini Station, good value for money
Cons: Breakfast was very sweet for British tastes
Location: A few minutes walk from Rome Termini Station, station area is a bit dodgy at night
After booking, we had a couple of very welcoming emails from the hotel which was nice and included a map. The hotel was very close to Termini Station which was the main reason we booked it, plus my sister had stayed at the hotel a year previously and recommended it. We were only staying for one night and just wanted a clean, good value hotel close to the station. Location - good, as near to the station, but bear in mind that the station itself has its share of dodgy characters outside which might be a worry for lone females at night, 87B address was a bit confusing but reception for it is under the Hotel Maryelen and Giovy awning on the street, do not go through the arch! Room - clean, comfortable bed, roomy, very high ceiling, small TV perched on top of a high wardrobe which was a bit uncomfortable to watch, ample storage for a short stay, large dressing table and chair, good bathroom with large shower Value for money - good, see hotel's website as well Breakfast - was very sweet for most British tastes, lots of cakes, some cheese, meat, sandwiches, would be improved easily with a basket of plain rolls or toast Overall - good clean hotel ideally located near train station, ideal for a short stay, efficient friendly staff, breakfast could be improved