Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Very central. Good location.

Posted May 7, 2017
This hotel is in a very good location, a couple blocks from Termini station and a block from Hop on, hop off buses. There are also lots of restaurant in the area. The hotel is a bit dated but this is Rome after all! Our room was quiet and the breakfast was very good, particularly the coffee. The staff at the reception was very helpful and friendly. It was a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First room offered was very poor

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and second night room.
Cons: First room was very poor indeed.
Location: Very good location.
When we arrived we were offered a very poor room and had to stay in that one for the first night, as the hotel was fully booked, or so we were told. Our second night was in a much better room. Breakfast was really good and served for a long period. Hotel was close to the sites and metro station. Taxi organised by the hotel was expensive, so book your own.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, England

Clean hotel and good value for money

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Good location for sightseeing, being only a 10-min walk to the Colosseum.
Location: Easy walking to many of the sights of Rome.
This is a small but functional hotel near Termini station and only a 10-min walk to the Colosseum and Forum. The room was cosy with a good-sized and very comfortable double bed and good bedding. It had a reasonable shower area which was rectangular and larger than the small square ones you find in some basic hotels. There was lots of hot water and a powerful spray (which was very welcome after a hard day's walking around the sites). The room was cleaned every day and had a small fridge but no kettle or tea / coffee making facilities. Breakfast was available but we did not take it, preferring to get something later in town. The staff were helpful but their English was limited (worth bearing in mind if you have a complicated request). As a budget hotel in a good location for sightseeing, it served us well and had everything we needed at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester UK

Nice hotel close to attractions

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Hotel was good - would benefit from tea/coffee facilities in room! Excellent location with good access to main train/bus terminals and many local eateries - people very friendly and mostly just as happy to converse in English as Italian. Hotel conciege very knowlegeabe regarding locality and most helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Very convenient and good cost/benefit ratio.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Cons: We noticed some mold high up on the wall of the bathroom...
Location: Great location. Two blocks from Termini (14eu train to Fiumicino) and 1/2 block from Metro station to many attractions or within 20 min walk.
Simple breakfast of croissants and EXCELLENT cappuccino Very nice/professional staff. Room very basic but clean and comfortable. 24 hour reception w/double security access to rooms. Cottini, just a block away is a great place for a buffet lunch. We shared a big plate of fish and vegetables for 6eu !! But don't go there for cappuccino and dessert.... that was a 16eu mistake :(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very dated. Room was in serious need of some fresh paint,mildew in the bathroom Breakfast was very scarce, some bread with cream cheese, granola and pastries. The only thing that it has going for it is nice staff and good location if you need to be close to Termini
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
The only thing to recommend this place is the closeness to the main railroad terminal. Good for just staying overnite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Okay hotel. Good breakfast, tiny room.

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The fact they had CNN international was a nice amenity, as I'm something of a political junckie. The breakfast was also pretty solid.
Cons: Size, decor, apparent cleanliness.
Location: Decent central location close to "hop on hop off" tourist bus (which you should avoid as seeing one or two main sites will take the majority of a day)
Ok for price, I guess. Can't expect much for 90 bucks in Rome apparently. The hotel and the room was tiny. Tiny steps leading to tiny lobby next to tiny (2 person max) elevator. Room was very antiquated in decor and cramped. But it was okay. I moved to the place immediately next door after the first night for $30 more. Just a larger and more clean and modern looking room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value convenient to Termini

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Montreal is a relatively inexpensive, 3 star hotel close to Termini. The hotel is located 4 blocks from the station on a quieter side street. Our room was closer to the street. The room windows had been recently upgraded to help deaden the street sound. The room had a quiet and effective air conditioning. Staff was friendly and available to assist. Breakfast was pretty Spartan. Could have done with a wider selection of offerings. No meat. Just apples were available as the fruit (better than nothing). Overall we felt that the Hotel Montreal was a great value. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again.