Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North West UK

Great Staff - Very Dated hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: The staff were great & really very helpful
Cons: A complete refurbishment inside & out
Location: The location Manzoni is ok for subway intoTermini
The staff here are great & will do anything to help. After arriving we were booked in room 402 very very small so I asked for a room with a balcony which wasn't available until next day so stayed in room 101 which was a bit bigger with a view of parked motor bikes. Moved to room 306 which had a very small balcony with 1 tatty old chair & no table as did all the balconies, to open the door to it we had to push the bed back & squeeze past. For us both to sit outside we moved the dressing table chair not really ideal, with views of the back of the street. On the 5th floor was a terrace but it had no real views & you had to bring your own drinks.The breakfast was totally disappointing very old apples & oranges, cornflakes, bread & croissant butter & jams, with no nice cheeses or meats. The pictures of the hotel must have been taken 20 years ago as they bear no resemblance to how the hotel now looks which is a bit shabby to say the least. The 10 minute walk to the Colosseum turned out to be 40 mins not ideal in the heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rome

nice hotel close to train and buses

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: quiet location,clean and comfortable,staff pleasant and helpful
Cons: fridges in our rooms did not work
Location: close to Metro and buses,walking distance to Coliseum
location was fine close to train and bus links within walking distance of Coliseum.Rooms were clean,staff helpful,breakfast just right.perfect for a 3-4 day stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by simon from Chatham, England

Gateway to Rome

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The breakfast - certainly made most of it location - metro being near helped make most of stay
Location: Metro 5 minutes away which gives access to the whole of the historic part of the city.
Had a very nice stay at this hotel.The room was fairly basic although we only wanted a place to rest after a busy day sightseeing. Bathroom was clean and had a good but smallish shower. Breakfast was very good, wide selection on offer and certainly set us up for a days exploring. The staff we found friendly and helpful although we did have a slight mis-understanding on arrival which was soon sorted. The hotel itself is set just off the main road in a residential area, which we found fairly quiet. The metro is 5 minutes away and is all you need to explore the main sights, you can walk to the Colosseum in about 20-25 minutes. The main station (Termini) is 2 stops away and i would recommend using the metro to transfer to the hotel as taxis are expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Oh

Hotel Novecento not a great place to stay

Posted Jul 1, 2010
This hotel is in a kind of rough looking area. I traveled with my 20 year old daughter and would not venture out after dark. The hotel is very out dated, with an actual KEY attached to a block of wood with the room number. The morning buffet was bland and basic. The location is about a mile away from the coloseum and other attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel maybe yes, but the area NO!

Posted Jul 20, 2007
The hotel service and all was alright and nothing I extremely hated about. However, the area where the hotel was not really I wanted to be in. Graffiti everywhere (although in Rome in general there seems to be many of them around) and the atmosphere around the hotel was quite dangerous (to me), not much friendliness. So, if anyone is looking for a hotel to stay in Rome and the area is an important issue then do not stay here but, if this doesn't matter I think the hotel is ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great wee hotel in a quiet area

Posted Dec 22, 2006
We really enjoyed our stay in this reasonably priced hotel. It's in a quiet area (allowing you to have a good nights sleep uninterupted by Rome's constant traffic noise!) but within walking distance of most of the main sites. It's about 10/15 mins walk to the train station. We went in December and the room was warm and comfortable. And very clean. Staff very friendly and spoke English. The breakfast was fine - set us up for sightseeing. Lots of great restaurants roundabout; reasonably priced and mostly frequented by locals. One of the bonuses of being a bit out from the main tourist areas. Would highly recommend a stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Quiet & clean

Posted Aug 23, 2006
This hotel is a little off the beaten path. The nearest subway stop is closed (Aug, 2006). This turned out to be a good thing, as we were forced to learn to take buses. In Rome, the subway system isn't extensive, but the bus system is. Get a bus map at a newsstand, or just look at the signs. Back to the hotel ... our room was very clean and spacious, the front desk people spoke English and were helpful, the breakfast ok. The street the hotel is on is quiet, the roof garden was relaxing. I will stay here on my next trip to Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Olney, MD

Spotlessly, Clean, Friendly, two Metro stops from Termini

Posted Jul 27, 2006
The Hotel Novecento (the awning says '900 because the name means "nine hundred") is on a small side street near a Rome Metro Station. Nothing famous is nearby but it is clean, very inexpensive during parts of the year. If there is one disadvange, it may be that the room I had was small, the size of the double bed plus about 3 feet around it. But if you are a single traveller, it is good, especially since it is a quiet neighborhood, southeast of the more famous parts of town. A tram line is 2 blocks away, the Metro is 2 blocks awway, and the "Airport train" end of the main Railroad station (i.e., the back part of the station) is pretty close to this hotel. There are nearby restaurants, and a tram (#3) goes directly to the Coliseum. If you like being 10 minutes from the crowds rather than in the thick of things and want very clean and reasonable, near a pleasant park, this is a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zentrumsnahes Hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
nicht zu grosses ruhiges und gut geführtes Hotel.Mann kann alles zu Fuss erledigen.Bahnhof und Metro um die Ecke.Wer allerdings ein "Hilton" will,hat da nichts zu suchen.Mein Fazit gutes Preis-Leistungs Verhältnis
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Winziges Zimmer in guter Lage

Posted Nov 13, 2016
-Das Zimmer war sehr klein. Rund um das Bett hatte man ca. 50cm Abstand zur Wand. Kleidung konnte in einem Wandschrank verstaut werden. -Das Zimmer war alt und einfach eingerichtet, ebenso das Bad. -Die Dusche hatte leider kaum Druck -Das Frühstück war für römische Verhältnisse gut. Es gab ein Buffet mit Brötchen, Toast und Cornflakes. Dazu je eine Sorte Wurst und Käse (Schmelzkäsescheiben); leider immer die gleichen Sorten. Außerdem gab es ein paar Früchte, O-Saft, Kaffee, Tee und Kakao. -Die Lage ist sehr gut. Eine Metro-Station befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe. Man kann aber auch gut vom Termini direkt zum Hotel laufen. -Wenn man vom Termini direkt an den Bahnschienen entlang Richtung Hotel geht, macht die Gegend einen üblen Eindruck. In den Parallelstraßen ist es sehr viel besser. -Man kann auch gut zu Fuß zum Kolosseum laufen (ca. 25 Minuten). Ein Supermarkt ist in der Nähe.