Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUSTRALIA

AT ORBIS HOTEL YOU PAY EXTRA FOR SOME THINGS

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: THE PRICE (THOUGH STRANGE THAT THE PRICE VARIED FROM THE FIRST WEEK AND THE SECOND WEEK IN JULY). VERY HANDY TO THE STATION AND BARS, ETC.
Cons: FREE BREAKFAST, AIR CON AND WIFI WOULD BE GOOD
Location: VERY HANDY TO THE STATION. LOTS OF BARS AND RESTAURANTS NEARBY
OK FOR THE PRICE. BUT BEWARE, IMPOSSIBLE TO CANCEL DIRECTLY, ONLY POSSIBLE THROUGH EXPEDIA. AND WATCH OUT FOR THE ADDED EXTRAS
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2015
hotel staff were nice, no wifi, and the cleanliness of the room was very disappointing the floor was filthy
2 out of 5
by Brett from Calgary

A True 'Cheap Hotel'

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Orbis is a ok hotel in Rome. My room was very clean, but the shared bathroom was disgusting. My bedroom also didn't have any AC or a fan, which made sleeping challenging in the 40C heat. What really irritated me though was that they refused to hold my luggage (one 30L backpack) for 3hrs after checkout, because my room was "...too cheap". I booked this hotel knowing I wasn't going to get the Ritz, but it is truly the small things that count. Alas, I had to carry my bay to Termini, and pay 9 Euros to have it held for 3 hours. Oh well. Overall an ok hotel, just don't expect any customer service or a bathroom that is in good repair.
2 out of 5
by Shifra from Miami

Should have stated at a hostel...

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel, while very, very basic, did not pretend to be otherwise and the two receptionists with whom i spole were very nice. This hotel is only a notch above a hostel because you get your own room. Very noisy untile the restaurant downstairs closed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, BC

Close to train station and lots of restaurants

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Bit of a pain entering through side of other hotel but staff were good and hotel fair value. 24 hr reception at Hotel Deni buzzed you in. Would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dingy hotel only plus convenient to Termini

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the Rome train station.
Cons: New wallpaper, painting the ceiling, toilet repair, no fee for air conditioning.
Location: Rome.. Old Rome is down the hill on Carfour... close to station can walk to Old Rome easily in 10 minutes or less.
The toilet dripped all night. The ceiling had gross black splotches, the wall paper was ripped, the bedspread had burn holes in it. We did NOT take showers as it was iffy whether that would work. Linen bath sheet also not so good. Enter at the address given and talk to a speaker to go to another address to get to another hotel's desk. Had to push the intercom to enter the elevator area... thankfully they answered promptly. Air conditioning cost us $10 extra, it worked well, but an additional fee! Filthy rug in the entry way to the rooms. We did not stay for the scant looking breakfast. We would NOT recommend this hotel! Location is good cleaning it up would be possible.
1 out of 5
by E from Australia

Very bad experience

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
We booked the room at the hotel for 4 nights. On our arrival my mother and I discovered that there are a few different hotel names on the same building (Orbis, Dina, HDC...) and they all share a reception. We were put in a room in hotel Dina, despite the booking in Orbis. The receptionist advised that the room is quite. The room was tiny, a noisy restaurant and a tram were right under the window, the shower head was above toilet. We had to convince the receptionist to transfer us immediately to an alternative room. He presented different excuses, but agreed to prepare the room. After transferring our suitcases, using an entrance with 4 steps, I also had to carry a fan by myself to the room as the worker could not leave the reception. It took us approximately 2hrs from the arrival to the hotel to be placed in the room which looked like the booked room in Orbis hotel. Everything was old and falling apart in the room. On the departure the hotel asked for 40€to keep our 4 bags on the stairs near the reception. I paid 35€ for the late checkout although nobody was checking into that room on the day. A man from the reception refused to assist with our suitcases and we were not allowed to use the existing eccessible entrance as they claimed it belonged to another hotel. The location was great and the price reasonable, however I would not recommend this hotel due to very poor services and bad hotel condition.
1 out of 5
by Amanda from Sweden

Too expensive!

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
I only stayed one night and for me it was definately overpriced, I stayed at a single room with shared bathroom, the room was alright. But no breakfast included and no free wifi.. NOT WORTH THE MONEY IN MY OPINION, WAY OVERPRICED!!!
2 out of 5
by Hassan G from Chicago

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
The only positive thing i can say about this hotel was that it was close to Termini Train Station.