Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Disappointing experience

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Décor
Cons: Facilities Customer service
Location: Not a lot in the vicinity except a couple of restaurants and the Metro (within walking distance)
We went to Rome over the bank holiday weekend and had chosen Hotel Principe Torlonia due to its modern décor, star rating and location. The first morning we went down for breakfast there were no tables available and the one waitress who was working told us to go and eat our food at the bar (amongst the dishes she had previously collected). On hearing this another table of guests moved their plates for us so that we could have a table. This happened again on the second day. The TV did not work; although I didn't go on holiday to watch TV, if the facilities are there they should be in working condition. Upon flagging this to the member of staff at reception I was told she was the only one working that shift and couldn't do anything. The bathroom stank of smoke leading me to believe people were smoking indoors, where were the smoke detectors?! The justifications given were "it's the holiday season so we are short staffed" and to the breakfast incident "it's because we are fully booked and don't know what time people will come down for breakfast." Being fully booked yet short staffed makes no sense; either take on more staff or take on less bookings. Overall an awful experience; I paid a four star price for a two star service. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff work super hard to help but so many issues

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This hotel could be amazing and the staff work really hard to help, however, they clearly weren't prepared to be open for Easter week (mid April) Picked this hotel due to the roof garden and lovely outside space to relax in after the busy days of walking around Rome. However, we arrived to find a builder's construction yard outside as they built a new decking area. This also meant you could not eat breakfast outside and were confined to a small shack, with plastic sheaths that made 23 degrees in Rome feel a lot worse. The noise also woke us up. Breakfast was not ideal with the drilling and banging on the other side of the plastic. Food was also lacking in options and eggs were often in demand and unavailable. Had to set my own table and ask separately for a cup, plate, hot water for coffee and cutlery. In terms of our room, it was lovely but there was no air-con to start with the first day. This seemed a complaint of a few guests and it was resolved by the second day. The hotel offered to move our room on day 2 ( there was nothing available the 1st night) but the room was above the builders, so decided to stay out as although hot, it was quieter. The roof terrace was not available for use though all it needed was the cushions on the sofas and a quick jet wash. We were told the outside area would be available on the last night of our 3 night stay but it wasn't. We asked for an iron and had to wait 40 mins, arrived home on day 2 to find our room hadn't been serviced.
5 out of 5
by Shelton

Great

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great place
5 out of 5
by David

Nice first stay in Italy

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very nice. Loved the daily breakfast. The place was clean and quiet.My only issues were the wifi was very spotty and were charged 15 euros a day for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, Virginia

Good location and view.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The continental breakfast was awesome. The staff was friendly and welcoming, especially the maintenance men. The view and the overall look of the hote
Cons: A complimentary gift would have been nice for our celebration, especially since we stayed a while. The drain in the shower was slow and smelled funny.
Location: Cafes/shopping/restaurants/supermarket/trevi fountain/spanish steps/vatican city/colosseum/pantheon
Stayed a week for vacation and to celebrate our engagement. A complimentary gift would have been nice for our celebration, especially since we stayed a while. The drain in the shower was slow and smelled funny. We found it frustrating that we had to have our key in the door to use some of the appliances/lights. Our teas/coffees/bathroom amenities were not replaced each time the room was made. There was some construction going on and drilling occurred frequently. The continental breakfast was awesome. The staff was friendly and welcoming, especially the maintenance men. The view and the overall look of the hotel was beautiful. We liked that it was away from all of the tourist noise. We liked that check-in and out was fast and easy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Felt Up scale with good price

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Amenities and service concierge was wonderful helped plan day trips and gave us really good tips for shopping restaurants and transportation
Cons: Smelled a little dinghy and beds were hard other then that all staff was happy to help in any area
Location: Area was a little sketchy but close to metro restaurants and grocery store
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great costumer service

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
We booked 3 rooms for a family trip. Two of the rooms were fine, but the third had mold in the bathroom bad enough that we had to book a room on another hotel since this was fully booked. Great costumer service. They helped us find a hotel just around the corner for the same price, and we received a refund for that room. Besides that, the hotel was just fine. Close to metro, and away enough from the city so it wasn't crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA USA

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: relaxed quiet location and beautiful setting
Cons: nothing
Loved the Hotel, great courtyard entrance, helpful staff, great gardens in back, very modern & comfortable rooms, good breakfast over looking gardens....and at a very good price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent hotel 5 mins walk from metro station

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: In quiet area. Well appointed room. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast buffet. Good garden area with outdoor seating.
Cons: honestly can't think of anything that would have added to the enjoyment of our stay.
Location: Close to metro station. Good restaurant, Momart, just around the corner, lively atmosphere with excellent service and food.
Very pleasant, helpful staff. We were upgraded to a superior room without asking to be, which made our stay even more special as it was my wife's birthday while we were there.