Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

noisy environment

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
not good, noisy, some street performor is playing music and not able to relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Unmatched position for exploring the sights

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Unmatched central location. Perfect for walking expeditions to explore all the sighs of ancient Rome. Good breakfast.
Cons: Some maintenance required. Wakeup calls should not fail.
The room itself was nice, (although very NYC small), and the bathroom was very cramped and poorly laid out. The room needed a little maintenance- retouching of numerous scratches on timber and repair of a drawer. An early wakeup call booked was never received (luckily I set my cellphone as a backup) and the hotel elevator was in need of some maintenance. Hallways were also quite warm and under airconditioned. As such, someone used to staying at Relais and Chateau may feel a little shortchanged. Having said that, overall my experience of the hotel is reasonably positive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel in an excellent location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Excellent location and superb staff
Cons: Sound proofing the rooms. The roof terrace bar.
Location: Just off the Piazza Navona, not far from the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and, in the opposite direction St Peter's Square.
The hotel is in an excellent location, good for sight seeing, restaurants and wandering. It was disappointing however and it didn't live up to its billing. The room was very small with no room for even a chair. The refuse collectors arrive very early on alternate mornings, meaning that the wake up call is the sound of 100s of glass bottles being tipped and a reversing refuse lorry. On the plus side, the staff were excellent and the breakfast is also very good, with a wide choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellant location

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Location is great.
Cons: Needs a little refreshin and two sitting chairs in the room would be nice.
Location: Wlking distance to most of the sights.
The first day I couldn't stand the hotel, by the second day it had really grown on me . The room was tiny, as you would expect in an ancient city like Rome and there was only room for one chair , but there was a cute little balcony off our room. Breakfast is hosted by the most adorable little man who reminds me of the buttler in the movie The Wrong Box. Don't stay on the fifth floor as the restaurant will be above you and they are moving chairs and tables all night long, so it is noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable, not beautiful

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Low intrigue and luxury for the price and location. Comfortable but not interesting for the price. Mediocre design and not beautiful, which I expected for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cool oasis close to major sites

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Roof-top bar and restaurant. Great breakfasts included in price.
Location: See above
The hotel is on a small piazza just off the Piazza Navona at the end of a narrow street full of small restaurants. We were very pleased on arrival to get friendly welcome and room upgrade to a suite which gave us plenty of air-conditioned, relaxing space during our stay. It is quite a small hotel so doesn't have lots of facilities (e.g. no pool) but what is has are excellent. In particular, the roof-top bar and vegetarian restaurant are excellent providing a wonderfull close-up view of the Rome skyline and a great place to relax in the evening. Having a central location, it's about 1 minute from the Piazza Navona with its fountain and about 5 minutes to the Pantheon. The Colluseum and Vatican are about 30 minutes walk and they are about the furthest of the major sites, so you don't need to use public transport provided you don't mind a little exercise! Over all a very pleasant stay which we would be happy to repeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Wonderful spot in the center of interesting areas, amazing customer service and tasty breakfast. Rooms are small. Beds are not as comfortable as I would expect in this class of hotel.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Toronto

Best stay in Rome

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
This was my daughter's first trip to Rome and we were fortunate enough to stay at the Raphael.
5 out of 5
by Andrea

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was totally wonderful! Staff so helpful,location great and rooms spacious and nicely appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta, GA

Beautiful hotel with a great location!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location and beautiful hotel.
Location: Right around the corner from the Piazza Navona.
This hotel was beautiful and centrally located! We had a great room. The Terrace Bar was great for a drink in the afternoon. Wonderful views! They also recommended some restaurants for dinner that were perfect!