Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Wonderful spot in the center of interesting areas, amazing customer service and tasty breakfast. Rooms are small. Beds are not as comfortable as I would expect in this class of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta, GA

Beautiful hotel with a great location!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location and beautiful hotel.
Location: Right around the corner from the Piazza Navona.
This hotel was beautiful and centrally located! We had a great room. The Terrace Bar was great for a drink in the afternoon. Wonderful views! They also recommended some restaurants for dinner that were perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Wow, what a gem!

Posted Mar 6, 2016
This is a gem of a hotel in the centre of Rome. For those who go, you will enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, England

Perfect Location and Staff

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Location: The location is ideal as it's 30 secs from Piazza Navona square, 5 mins from Patheon and about 20 mins from the Vatican
Excellent hotel and staff, nothing is to much trouble which is what you want from a hotel :) A glass of Prosecco when we arrived was a nice touch and very welcome, Receptionists spent plenty of time with us to answer questions and for guidance as we hadn't been to Rome before and the usual recommendations where very helpful. Didn't have time to use the Gym or need to use the computer as only there for the weekend but it's there if you want it plus to go somewhere where the WiFi does actually work is a bonus eventhough you do have to keep signing in every time you lose the signal. Can imagine the roof top terrace to be beautiful in the warmer weather with a great view. Room was a little small but perfectly formed and had everything we required including a big fabulous shower. Breakfast was very nice with great coffee and a fresh juice machine squeezed when you want it, just nice little touched here and there that you expect from a 5* hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Holiday trip to Rome

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Above comments
Cons: No comment
Location: Again, the location and logistics of the hotel met our needs well.
The staff was exceptionally personal and professional! The buffet breakfast was superb. Hotel accomodation met our personal needs temendously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A proper Relais & Chateaux in the heart of Rome

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Location coupled with Relais & Chateaux experience (i.e. boutique hotel, perhaps rather homey than perfect, but very professional)
Cons: Internet connection was unpredictable
Location: Within 20' walk from anything most visitors may want to see/do in Rome. And with a great deal to do and see within 5' walk
The Raphael has a long history but was recently renovated to a very high standard and is now a stylish, modern boutique hotel providing a proper Relais & Chateaux experience. While it is possible to knit-pick on certain details (e.g. uninspiring breakfast room, roof terrace not as great as it could be), the quality of fittings throughout is excellent and staff are attentive and well trained. Given the absolutely superb location and the relatively reasonable price, I would strongly recommend it, particularly but not only for a private stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great Hotel Great Location

Posted Dec 3, 2015
The hotel was very good. First, the location is excellent. You are right next to Piazza Navona. Almost all of the famous sights in Rome, The Vatican, Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, and the shopping areas are between 5 to 25 min walk. Second, the staff and service was excellent. The two hotel concierges that I dealt with, Gaspare and Giacomo, were extremely knowledgeable of the restuarants in the area, directions to the famous sites, and travel trips for traveling outside of Rome. We had an incident where we got the wrong type of room, and Gaspare was gracious enough to upgrade us to a suite. Third, the building itself was nice, with great paintings and a scenic terrace where you could sit and enjoy a drink. My only negative was the room that we stayed in during our first night. The hotel advertises itself as a 5 star hotel. From other experiences at a 5 star hotel, the quality of the room from the most basic room to a suite was uniform. All of the details in a standard room should be excellent. Unfortunately, the standard room we had on the first day was not very good. The bathtub had cracks.The phone was dirty and illegible.The wood on the furnishings were decaying. The decor was old and outdated. The suite that we stayed in during the duration of the trip was excellent and the quality that I would expect in a 5 star hotel. The furnishings and decor were modern and kept in pristine condition. If the quality of all of the rooms are the same, then it can be a 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arroyo seco, Argentine

Wonderful location Near all important attractions,

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The location, the decoration, the staff
Cons: although we had a suite there wasn't enough room to put our clothes
Location: You are at a short walk from Campo dei Fiori, the Pantheon and some very important churches
We could walk to all our destinations . At night we had plenty of good places to dine or have a drink. Besides the hotel has a roof restaurant ideal for a romantic dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Fabulous hotel in great location.

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Ideal location for sightseeing. Near Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. All walkable. All the piazzas very close too.
Hotel really was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very good and recommended cafes and restaurants in the area to eat and drink. Hotel ideally located in the heart of Rome, near Piazza Navona, so everything was walkable and safe. Breakfasts were delicious. Lovely hotel terrace to sit and enjoy drinks during the day and early evening. All in all, a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Can definitely recommend

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Great service - very friendly staff that go above and beyond to assist you. Very clean room, delicious breakfast with fresh OJ. There even is a rooftop terrace you can have lunch or dinner at. My favorite part about this hotel is the location: Great neighborhood with lots of little shops and restaurants. 30 min to the Colosseum and 30 min to the Vatican are the farthest points, but easily walkable. My least favorite, but not that it would keep me from recommending the hotel: The bed was a bit hard (but thatmay be personal preference).