Ratings based on 1,248 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west palm beach, florida

The terrible / honorable room at RIPA

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Outstanding breakfast buffet.
Cons: New management in general, New housekeeping management for sure
Location: Location is great, close to everything.
Air conditioner didn't work, dirty hand prints on walls above bed; bathroom, and hall. Room looked like a cheap college dormitory, third bed was on the floor in a box, shelfs were made of exposed plywood (like shelfs you might build in your garage), two old folding chairs were "the old furniture" in the entire room other than beds. Dirty glasses above mini bar - one had bright red lipstick on rim - I took this glass to management who said sorry. SORRY, sorry, no AC, sorry dirty room, sorry for a dorm room that cksts $150+ a night. This whole place is sorry and it is an expensive DUMP on the inside, outside is nice, outside modern look, breakfast fantastic, but rooms SUCK. You can find a better value elsewhere, don't waste your money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Interesting location and friendly staff.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We had a lovely trip to Rome and I'm glad we picked a hotel in this area - such a lovely area to walk around and eat in the evening. Staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. Hotel is clean and modern downstairs and a fun design and the room we stayed in is one of the largest we've had on a city break at this budget. The only negative is the room we stayed in really could have done with a lick of paint- would have been amazing about 10 years ago but was a little dated and scuffed paintwork etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Nice hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights at the Ripa Roma and found it more than adequate. Room was spacious and clean (mostly)! Breakfast was nice - the usual continental breakfast. The only downside was that the hotel was a bit far from the centre of Rome and we had to get the tram or bus each morning and evening, however the tram stop is just across the road!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from californua

moderate hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
This hotel was not in a good neighborhood, the free breakfast had what looked to be like eggs were cold the sausages were dried out potatoes tasted old, over all food experience was not very welcoming. The room itself had no blackout curtains And the bed was a cheap single mattress that was very uncomfortable with Mis-matched pillows and cheap linen. The towels in the bathroom we're also mis-matched and cheap. Definitely not a hotel that I would return to
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ok

Room was clean and roomy especially for party of 3

Posted May 6, 2017
Excellent restaurants. Complimentary Breakfast buffet was incredible with tons of selections!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

budget hotel close to public transportation

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and location. The breakfast buffet was much better than expected. The location was close to supermarkets and public transportation.
Cons: Rooms are horribly inefficient. The room size was sufficient but could be improved by more shelving, racks, or hooks especially in the bathroom.
Location: 30 min taxi from FCO. Supermarket, pharmacy, coffee shop, atm/bank, public transportation, and restaurant all within 2 blocks from the hotel.
Good budget hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the hot breakfast buffet which included scrambled eggs, sausages, cold cuts, breads, fruits, cereals, yogurt, deserts, and several espresso/coffee machines. The hotel is close to the airport and walking distance to parks, restaurants, and attractions. Within 2 blocks you will find public transportation, atm/bank, pharmacy, supermarket, and food. Also has free wifi and computers available. My only complaint was my room did not have sufficient storage space in the living room and especially the bathroom. I had to place toothbrush and toiletries in the living room because there was no place in the bathroom. Overall pleased with hotel for and would recommend it for those travelling with children.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel but needs upkeep

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: breakfast, proximity to transportation
Cons: cleanliness of rooms
The hotel was fine for me because the price was right. Good location and an excellent breakfast in the morning. However, the hotel staff was rude towards the beginning of my stay and would not let my local friends come up to my room. Also, my room had stains on the carpet and scratches/chipped paint on the wall. All the hotel needs is a little upkeep and it would look just like the photos on their website!
3 out of 5
by Sarah

Good Location Almost Makes up for Worn-Out Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel seemed think it was something it was not. The lobby and breakfast rooms decorated very new-age funky and swanky, but the rooms and bones of the building were old and worn. Scuff marks on the walls, old electrical switches, sofa bed not having been put back together tidily (it looked like someone had been laying on it that day), a weird wood-panelled room-within-a-room situation, the room was very spacious, but the whole thing seemed like they had tried to slap some makeup to cover up really worn decorations, and then be able to charge €4 for a can of Pringles in the mini bar. That being said, the staff was super polite and helpful and the bed was comfortable. Great location for the Trastevere area.
5 out of 5
by Enrique

Great hotel at a great price

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
The most convenient hotel in all of Rome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good location

Posted Nov 23, 2016
staff very helpful. Breakfast is delicious. Pizza In around the block is addictive.