Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas, USA

Hotel far from anything.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Staff is excellent. Hotel is old and things break down. Was almost trapped in the elevator. Can not recommend this hotel. Expecially if you are in Rome to take in the sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from London, UK

Value for Money

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff Clean Value for Money
Cons: Breakfast selection could have been larger, i.e.. include fruit
Location: Bus 135 takes you into Termini (15 mins) and runs every 20 mins, from there you can get to all areas of the city by Bus, Train or Metro as you want.
The location is around 15 mins away from Termini by bus, the bus runs every 20 mins and is always on time. Try to avoid rush hour in the morning and afternoon as it adds another 10-15 mins to the journey. Buses run from 5am to midnight. There is also a taxi rank next to the hotel, didn't use this so unsure of prices. The location itself isn't exactly scenic being off a main road (dual carriageway) near a college and commercial estate, there also appeared to be a few prostitutes in the area, probably not ideal for families. The hotel itself is clean, the hotel staff are very friendly and always happy to help. If, like us, your Italian isn't so great this won't be a problem as the reception staff all speak English very well. The room is pretty basic but clean, the wifi service is available on all floors and in reception. Breakfast was a standard assortment of pastries, breads, cereals and hot and cold drinks, some fruit may have been nice. We also used the Pizzeria which is attached to the hotel, again the staff were friendly, the food was nice but the service was a little slow so be patient! If you're looking to be in the thick of the action then this probably isn't the location for you, if you want something quieter, out of the way then this is ideal. Very much worth the money.
2 out of 5
by Pedie from Southampton, UK

Hotel slip up....

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: The attitude of everyone, they are not welcoming. They make you feel like your just passing by.
Location: Location is ok, I guess.
Most hotels offer free kettle and complimentary tea and coffee, this one does not have that. The room smells old and sweaty. Lucky for us, the breakfast was good. If you don't ask, they will not offer you free Wi-Fi.
1 out of 5
by hoon from korea

no no no!!!!!!!11

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: no
Cons: all
Location: very difficult finding door
in my life, this hotel is first. i firmly think that never seen like this hotel during all my life. nobody can speak English and cannot cancel booking. of hotel. never, never, i expect that no longer someone dont suffer like me.
3 out of 5
by Yem from London, UK

Surprised

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Pros: All staff member spoke fluent English The map provided by the hotel gave a good idea of bus time-table and tourist attraction site close to the hotel.
Location: Situated in a red light district Situated in a industrial park
To get to the hotel from the FCO Airport, It is advisable to take a train to Termini, from Termini, take metro to Tuburtina airport and ask for bus 135 to get a bus to via Salaria. The hotel was good with the averagely helpful staff. The best service we received was from a team member called Carrado. He is epitome of excellent customer service. The advantage of booking the hotel was that all the hotel member of staff spoke fluent English, hence we were able to get all the necessary information regarding transportation and tourist attraction sites. The only downside to the location was that it was very close to a red light district, which did not make it an exciting part of town. Also, it is situated within the industrial area. As a result, once you reach the hotel, you were only restricted to your hotel room or the communal area.
1 out of 5
by Marilyn from Ambergate WA 6280, Australia

A big disappointment

Posted May 5, 2012
Pros: Leaving it
Cons: The tackiness and location
Location: Too far away from everything. You need a car or taxi to go anywhere, FOOD IN THE HOTEL WAS PRETTY POOR.
Miles out of town and a big disappointment. We could not wait to leave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Apr 15, 2012
The hotel has a couple of issues that need to be noted: 1. Not close to the station so makes it difficult for tourists to get in 2. Staff in the evening was not helpful at all - couldn't get us water when requested (despite willing to pay for it) 3. Internet not available 4. Room was too small However, if you don't care about the above, then worth the amount paid for it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay

Posted Apr 7, 2012
Cons: I just wish they would put kettles in the room...We British like our cups of tea....lol
The hotel was very nice, reasonably priced with maid service. I woud recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janzeebee from Hampshire, England

great city break February 2012

Posted Mar 4, 2012
Pros: comfy bed, nice painted furniture
Cons: No safe in the room
Location: about 20 minutes from the centre. The hotel provides a shuttle bus to the bus terminal
Hotel Romlus is very nice, a bit far out of all the main attractions but transport is good and easy to follow and on time. We had no trouble finding our way around using both the buses and the underground. The restaurant was under going refurbishment while we were there in February so that was disappointing. If you want a safe or coffee facilities in your room you have to ask for them at the time of booking as not all rooms have these. Note it does not tell you this in the hotel information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by LaraC from Bolton, UK

Basic Hotel but clean, cheap and Friendly

Posted Mar 1, 2012
Pros: Friendliness and helpfullness of staff
Cons: Bed could have been a little comfier
Location: About 30 mins from Rome Centre but Bus stops to and from Main station just outside and free shuttle bus to local train station every morning if needed
The Hotel was basic but exactly what we wanted for a relatively cheap hotel room to use as a base for our trip to Rome. (After all, how long do you spend in the Room when you visit a City like this?! It is right on the Bus link to the main station that has the metro link to Rome and all tourist sites and we paid only 11 EURO per person for unlimited travel within Rome on the Buses and Trams for the duration of our stay which was 4 Days. The Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel also provided a full map at the main desk including all Bus times to and from the main stations. There was even a free shuttle bus to take you to the local railway station if you so wished to get the connecting train to Rome. Travel time to Rome Centre (ie/Coliseum) was around 30 mins. But the tram stops were all at the main attraction sites so navigating around the City if you didn't fancy a walk was very easy. Travel from the Hotel was incredibly easy and reliable, but would suggest that those that may have difficulty climbing steps to possibly stay closer to the centre as the train system is similar to that of London in that there are a number of stairs and few lifts to accomodate those with bad knees or lower limb difficulties. Have a great time in a Wonderful City!!