Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel's Annex is a low 2 star quality

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location was near the Spanish Steps and also it was close to the metro.
Cons: Shower was not big enough to fit a small adult. The breakfast was low quality food with limited selections. The room was similar to a lowe end 2 star hotel.
Location: The location was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: the staff were great and willing to accommodate requests for extra pillows, delivering ice to the room, and getting us cappuccino coffees each morning on the terrace.
Cons: Room configuration - we had triple, with one single bed in one room and double in the other but no shared space.
Location: Hotel is in the middle of the "shopping triangle" and very close to the Spanish Steps. No cars on street in front of hotel, pedestrian only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

A nice hotel but not perfect

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Good location for Spanish Steps, etc
Cons: Management of the birds at the breakfast tables needs to be addressed
Location: Many nearby attractions, including Babbington's Tea room, Keats & Shelley Museum, Spanish Steps and walking distance to Trevi Fountain.
We stayed here recently and were disappointed following the reviews we had read. The good points: The room was clean, well appointed and had effective air conditioning. Good sized bathroom and was serviced to a high standard (bedding, daily towel change, etc). The bad points: Sharing breakfast with the sparrows and pigeons, on the roof terrace with the tables and chairs having 'bird mess' on, was unnerving and unhygienic. The breakfast was basic but adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Front desk personnel: Roseann and Franco were so helpful.
Cons: shower stall needs to be bigger. I am a petit person and i just fit in the shower.
Location: good location, close to spanish steps, Trevi fountain, shopping and restaurants.
A small, clean, centrally located hotel near the spanish steps, Trevi fountain, shopping, restaurants and cafes. Hotel personnel exceptionally helpful. Delicious breakfast buffet on the roof top garden. Would stay at the San Carlo again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Fantastic Hotel in Great Location

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Can't say enough about this hotel. 1) Great location (next to Spanish Steps) 2) Well appointed rooms 3) Helpful, kind and efficient staff. 4) Gorgeous terrace breakfast area and excellent breakfast 5) Exceptionally reasonable rates. What else can one ask for in a hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Al-sofyan

Posted Apr 30, 2016
It was great the hotel was clean and very close to the landmarks in rome !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington IL

Great hotel very close to the Spanish steps.

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: The staff was incredibly helpful in every way.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The hotel was centrally located and we were able to walk to most sites. There is also a metro station at the Spanish steps that is close by.
I have stayed in a number of European hotels. My experience at this hotel puts it at the top of the list. They were great. The room was clean and large. (I upgraded one level for about 10 Euro per day.) Due to an early flight, we arrived around 9:00am, very tired, but ready to kill time until the early afternoon check in. We decided to drop off our bags, but the hotel told us they had an available room and let us check in right away. They even suggested we go upstairs for their free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington IL

One of the nicest hotels in which I have stayed.

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: The rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable.
Cons: No
Location: Most places of interest are within walking distance.
The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of most major sites. The staff is fantastic. They really seem to go out of their way to help their guests. We travel a lot and this hotel compares very favorably to any other hotel in which we have stayed. The room is great. We arrived around 8:30am the day of our check in. We intended to drop off our bags and kill some time before check in. The staff realized this and allowed us to check into an available room, then suggested the free breakfast upstairs. It was great to take a shower after our long trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone of my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent location and pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Location, helpful staff, clean room, good shower
Cons: We found the beds to be a little hard but it was more personal preference than uncomfortable
Location: Location is amazing, with all the main sights conveniently located. A large range of shops, cafes, restaurants are all nearby.
Perfectly located for all the main sights in Rome. The Pantheon, Colosseum, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are all within easy walking distance, and the Vatican is a pleasant 30 min walk along the river. There are lots of restaurants, cafes, gelato and coffee shops around, and plenty of designer and high street clothing and cosmetic shops. You really feel in the heart of Rome here. The hotel is nicely presented. Our room was smaller than we expected, but not uncomfortably so. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was particularly good with very consistent temperature and very good water pressure. The room and bathroom were both very clean. We did find the beds to be on the hard side, but it didn’t stop us sleeping – it was more of a personal preference thing. The air conditioning in the room is very good and the shutters can be opened to let in natural light. We were on the 4th floor (top floor) which could be reached by stairs or lift. The lift is extremely small, just to warn anyone who has claustrophobia – you would probably need to take the stairs! The breakfast is served on the roof terrace which is really nice, and it has a very relaxed atmosphere. The food is typical Italian with cakes and pastries, but also a couple of cereal options, toast, bread rolls, cheese and hams, boiled eggs and fresh fruit. Our room was right near the roof terrace so we did get woken up by people walking past to get to breakfast but that’s not a criticism on th
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Location

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Handrail in shower
Location: See above
Excellent location to metro,shopping and spanish steps, trevia fountain, nevarone plaza. Lots of restruants, to many to mention. service excellent great breakfast. Excellent service from the moment arrived to assisting with airport checkin to arranging taxi service. Everything prompt