Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel close to Trastevere restaurants

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Nice enough hotel well located for Trastevere restaurants/bars, within walking distance of everywhere (if you like walking) or get the tram. Rooms small but everything clean and everything worked. Very friendly and helpful staff. Didn't have breakfast so can't advise on that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

This is an excellent small hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: There is a great rooftop terrace and a very delicious continental breakfast. The staff speak English and are very helpful
Cons: The TV cable service is just for the Italian language shows. There is no BBC or France 24 Hours, or CNN.
Location: There are lots of cute shops and simple café restaurants. I like the one called No Name. In summer the Tiber river has music and food tents. fun!
This is well located in Trastevere and an easy walk from the tram or shops. Don't expect a gym or other amenities, but it is clean and the service is friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful decor!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The location was an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants.
The hotel was beautiful, with a wonderful & accommodating staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent Customer Service & Comfortable

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Staff good customer service Location Good & varied breakfast conveniently available every morning
Location: Santa Maria de Trastevere Plaza Nice restaurants and delis nearby Beautiful St Francis (San Francesco) Church right next door
Very well located in Trastevere area. The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful with any of our requests whether it was for directions, suggested places to go or to get a cup of hot water late at night - they were always ready to assist with a bog smile (especially Mario!). Room was clean and bathroom spacious - compare to other cities/hotels we stayed in our trip. We'd definitely go back to San Francesco Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

August 2016

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Lovely hotel hidden away from the main streets but perfectly situated for main sites either walking or public transport and a 5 minute walk for the nightlife of travestere. Hotel was extremely clean and breakfast plentiful although repetitive. Reception staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We used the taxi service to and from the airport and again this was all hassle free. Would definitely stay here again if I was to return to Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Coldwater, Ontario

Quiet hotel close to major attractions.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Within walking distance of most attractions. Quiet location.
Cons: Breakfast could have been improved by having some hot dishes.
Location: In Trastevere just west of Tiber River. Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Forum all within walking distance. Small grocery store nearby.
Stayed 5 nights in March. Very pleased with hotel. Staff were friendly and helpfull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlewich, Cheshire

Good value hotel 30 minutes walk from attractions

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, proximity to restaurants in Trastevere
Cons: Everything was OK
Location: It's 30 minutes walk to most of the attractions, and has lots of really good restaurants nearby.
This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the Colosseum, etc., but far enough away not to be overcharged in local restaurants. Staff were pleasant and helpful; I'd certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, UK

Great location and very helpful staff

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Small and personal. Ideal for couples, probably less so for families.
Cons: Room size is a bit small, but great bathrooms. Not too much of a problem for a short stay as you are in and out.
Location: Trastevere is a very lively area of Rome in the evening with many bars and restaurants to choose from. Also on the tram network to get in Rome central
Located just on the edge of the Trastevere district the hotel is ideally located to take advantage of many restaurant and bars of this lively area. The staff were all very friendly and efficient when asked asked for help i.e. booking taxi's etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in calm neighbourhood

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Really lovely hotel in a great neighbourhood. Room was small but comfortable and clean. Hotel staff are really friendly and really helpful. We had an issue with hot water and it was dealt with immediately which was great! Easily walkable to most sites within 30mins, and really close to transport if preferred. Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state

great little hotel in trastevere neighborhood.

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: the location, the building, the staff, the breakfast, the roof top bar. the bed. the neighborhood.
Cons: not much. perhaps an english language television channel or two. sometimes it's nice to watch a movie in bed after a long day walking around rome.
Location: it's rome. walk! every turn of the corner reveals something special. hotel is right across the river from the heart of historic rome.
we stayed at hotel san francesco 10 years ago. we loved it then so we decided to try it again. it was even better this time. small boutique hotel in the great trastevere neighborhood. we had a quiet room on the 4th floor. the staff couldn't have been better. alessia, massimo, vincenzo, giuseppie, gina, emanuelle, simone, etc... great small hotel in a historic building. family owned. fantastic neighborhood. great breakfast buffet! we loved walking back across the tiber after a day of sightseeing in rome to this fun but less touristy part of town. trastevere is not as undiscovered as it was when we first stayed here 10 years ago but it is still a great place to relax after an intense day of sightseeing on the other side of the tiber.