Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Like having a private villa in the center of Rome

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: A friend.
Cons: It does not have a lot of the traditional features chain hotels have like a gym. But that is more than made up by the great location and privacy.
Location: Walk to Trastevere and great restaurants.
Great location, lovely place. The staff is very nice and helpful. It is a charming location with tremendous food and service. Also a happy hour at 5:30.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully villa in the best neighborhood

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We loved staying in this neighborhood. The villa contains beautiful tangerine tree garden. The breakfast was delicious and the staff extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotell

Posted Mar 17, 2017
A lovely quiet place. Calm and off the beaten track this small hotel is something of an oasis. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Excellent hotel and excellent staff

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at Santa Maria hotel Rome! The staff were very friendly and hotel was very safe and secure! Great location to see all the sights 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Small, quaint hotel with the "flavor" of old Italy

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything. Size. Old school flavor. Location. Quiet. Delicious free breakfast every day. And absolutely the nicest staff in all of Rome!
Cons: Not a thing. I wouldn't hesitate to go back and stay there again.
Location: The Trastevere neighborhood of Rome is on the west side of the river, so nicely tucked away. Explore all the little streets, restaurants and shops.
The Hotel Santa Maria was the perfect hotel for our trip to Rome. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and wanted the best possible experience. It's a small hotel, only about 18 rooms or so... I think it was a former cloister. The rooms' design is simple but elegant. There are 2 internal courtyards full of orange trees. Very picturesque. The location is perfect as well. Tucked into the Trastevere neighborhood in Rome (on the other side of the river), everything is little shops, mom and pop restaurants, cobblestone streets. A short 2 minute walk from the gate and you are right in the middle of Santa Maria Square. Truly lovely. But by far my favorite part of our trip was dealing with the lovely staff at the hotel. They patiently gave us directions, booked museum tickets, recommended restaurants. Some of the nicest people we have ever met. I will recommend this little gem to everyone I know -- it was PERFECT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I booked this hotel for my husband's 38th birthday surprise and we both had a great experience. Everyone was so friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast for a three star hotel was excellent and filling. The room was vet comfortable and clean. Trastevere is a lively neighbourhood with lots of bars and restaurants where local Romans and American students hang around. Though hotel is not affected by noise at all. If I go to Rome again I would definitely stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
by kathryn

Best location

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for walking, dining and relaxing. Location makes you feel like you are part of the community. My husband and adult son and I will definitely stay here next time we visit Rome. This is a great hotel in all categories!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, Florida

Great hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The hotel was really nice, we were there as a family but it would also be romantic for couples. The staff were kind and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The hotel felt secure and there was a safe for valuables in the room. There was a good selection of tasty food for breakfast. The area around the hotel is great, it's more like a small Italian town with narrow streets, great bars and restaurants and a friendly feel, something you don't often get in other parts of Rome. Only thing that I think could have been better was the wifi signal, it kept dropping out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow Scotland

A lovely hotel in a great location.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: website
Friendly and very helpful staff, a special thanks to Hannah for all her help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place, good location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Highly recommended! Beautiful place, good location, friendly staff