Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotell

Posted Mar 17, 2017
A lovely quiet place. Calm and off the beaten track this small hotel is something of an oasis. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Excellent hotel and excellent staff

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at Santa Maria hotel Rome! The staff were very friendly and hotel was very safe and secure! Great location to see all the sights 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Small, quaint hotel with the "flavor" of old Italy

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything. Size. Old school flavor. Location. Quiet. Delicious free breakfast every day. And absolutely the nicest staff in all of Rome!
Cons: Not a thing. I wouldn't hesitate to go back and stay there again.
Location: The Trastevere neighborhood of Rome is on the west side of the river, so nicely tucked away. Explore all the little streets, restaurants and shops.
The Hotel Santa Maria was the perfect hotel for our trip to Rome. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and wanted the best possible experience. It's a small hotel, only about 18 rooms or so... I think it was a former cloister. The rooms' design is simple but elegant. There are 2 internal courtyards full of orange trees. Very picturesque. The location is perfect as well. Tucked into the Trastevere neighborhood in Rome (on the other side of the river), everything is little shops, mom and pop restaurants, cobblestone streets. A short 2 minute walk from the gate and you are right in the middle of Santa Maria Square. Truly lovely. But by far my favorite part of our trip was dealing with the lovely staff at the hotel. They patiently gave us directions, booked museum tickets, recommended restaurants. Some of the nicest people we have ever met. I will recommend this little gem to everyone I know -- it was PERFECT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I booked this hotel for my husband's 38th birthday surprise and we both had a great experience. Everyone was so friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast for a three star hotel was excellent and filling. The room was vet comfortable and clean. Trastevere is a lively neighbourhood with lots of bars and restaurants where local Romans and American students hang around. Though hotel is not affected by noise at all. If I go to Rome again I would definitely stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, Florida

Great hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The hotel was really nice, we were there as a family but it would also be romantic for couples. The staff were kind and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The hotel felt secure and there was a safe for valuables in the room. There was a good selection of tasty food for breakfast. The area around the hotel is great, it's more like a small Italian town with narrow streets, great bars and restaurants and a friendly feel, something you don't often get in other parts of Rome. Only thing that I think could have been better was the wifi signal, it kept dropping out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow Scotland

A lovely hotel in a great location.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: website
Friendly and very helpful staff, a special thanks to Hannah for all her help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place, good location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Highly recommended! Beautiful place, good location, friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Outstanding Boutique Hotel in Rome

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The service was absolutely top notch. Very attentive and friendly.
This place was a real find. We chose it based on positive reviews and were still pleasantly surprised by the experience. The hotel is located in a nest of winding streets just W/SW of the river Tiber. There are few shops or relics in the vicinity but good restaurants are plentiful. We spent our days in the traditional tourist traps and were happy to escape every evening to our little oasis on the other side of the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful place

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Lots and lots and looots of restaurants. We ate in the nearby streets every single night and loves it.
It's really nice, it used to be a convent, so it has an interior patio full of oranges and lemons. Our room was very comftable, big bathroom, everything clean. Breakfast, great. delicious coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Comfortable Hotel in Trastevere

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly and warm staff, free breakfast, wonderful happy hour in the courtyard, clean and comfortable rooms.
Cons: I could not have been happier with my choice to stay at this hotel.
Location: In quaint Trastevere, steps away from countless restaurants, shops, and the beautiful Basilica Santa Maria Church.
This hotel has the friendliest staff. From the warm owners, to the smiling front desk clerks, to the doting waiters, everyone treats you as if they are so happy you are staying with them. The room was cute, clean, and comfortable. The free breakfast and happy hour service is excellent. Eating and drinking in their cozy courtyard is a nice start and end to your day exploring Rome. Don't miss the beautiful Basilica Santa Maria that is one block away from the hotel. Anyone who stays at this hotel will be delighted!